1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How would you setup the page file on this system?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by LifeOnMars, May 1, 2012.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Phenom II x4 B50 @3.2Ghz
    M4A785D-M PRO
    HD 7850 2GB
    4 GB DDR2
    Win 7 Home Premium x64

    3x HDD All 7,200rpm
    WD 640 GB Black 64MB - The Fastest
    WD 500 GB Caviar Blue 16MB - 2nd Fastest
    Seagate 400GB 16MB - (OLD and so so slow :laugh:)


    It's a crappy temporary system (my gfx card is so bottlenecked :laugh:) I am using it to tide me over until I can get the full funds for my 2011 socket build. With only 4GB of RAM and these drives available I'm looking for your knowledgable input on the best,optimal page file config I can use these drives in with regards gaming needs.

    Things to note

    I want some form of storage on one of them
    I am using a 2GB Vram GFX Card with only 4GB System Ram
    All of my games are either Steam (the majority) or Origin (BF3 and FIFA 12)

    Any help greatly appreciated as always :)
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,728 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    I'd just put a 4GB page file on the fastest Non-OS drive.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    So just a fixed 4096-4096 on the fastest non-os drive. Is it better to do that straight away after a fresh install of the OS?

    EDIT - Here's what I'm thinking

    640GB Black - Windows/Steam/Origin
    500GB Cav Blue - 4096-4096 Page File/Storage
    400GB Seagate - Pictures/Videos/Documents/Downloads
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    It doesn't really matter.
    I always leave a little page file on the C drive too, as I remember an app or two had problems with no page file on the C drive.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  5. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Good to know, so perhaps leave a 200mb one on the C drive then.
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,011 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I personally leave it turned off unless I need it on. I don't run a whole lot of applications that need a page file. Plus with 16gb of ram it's not really necessary either. Honestly, if you're going to start thrashing, it's time for an upgrading because swapping memory from the hard drive is just straight up slow.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Read the first post, I will be getting a new system (similar to yours actually) within the next couple of months. This is purely temporary and just wanted to make sure I had it as optimal as I can for that time without having to worry. I also didn't know whether having a 2GB vid card with a 4GB System would cause any issues. I look foorward to having 16GB Ram :D
  8. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    That's what I would do and what I did!:toast:
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,011 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's nice. Are you going with a 3820?
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,509 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    The more "standard" the page file the better. I'd do c drive and wouldn't go under 4096. I don't know why messing with this breaks so many programs that shouldn't need it or don't even seem to use it, but it does.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  11. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Oh no Lan, why did you have to chip in :) I'll try my luck with the setup I posted a few posts ago and will post back if I have any issues in the next couple of months :)

    @Aquinus - Yeh I think that's the chip I'll be going for. How are you finding the motherboard and what about temps as I have read it's quite a toasty platform when overclocked?
  12. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    General rule of thumb is 1.5 times the amount of RAM isn't it? So that would be 6gb?
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  13. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I set 256-256 or 512-512 on C: drive over the last 5 years and never had any issues.

    Any program that NEEDS a pagefile now tends to make its own swap/scratch/temp file. Unless you have a habit of running old programs it wont cause any issues whatsoever.

    Some games might go past the 4GB of RAM you have. A second PF as mentioned already on a nonOS HDD will help with that. It really depends on the game. (The only one I saw in recent memory was civilization 5)

    Windows will tell you if you need to make your PF bigger, and I have not had any programs crash because of too small a PF.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  14. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Yeah this :toast:
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,011 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's really not that bad, I really like the motherboard but it costs a pretty penny. I have a Zalman CNPS 9900MAX-B and I don't go over 72*C at 1.41v and 1.46v gets pretty close to 80*C. It doesn't idle higher than my Phenom II 940 which is a plus too. Keep in mind that the boys at Guru3D were able to do a 4.3ghz overclock without even touching the voltage, so it's really not that bad (stock at 1.35v iirc.) At stock I barely hit 55*C.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  16. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I meant to ask does the option -

    "Turn off windows write-cache buffer flushing on this device"

    show any tangible benefits to hard drives performance at all?
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,011 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It could decrease latency, but unless your rig is on a UPS, if you lose power during a write you could corrupt data on your drive.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page