1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HOWTO: WRT54GL DIY Internal POE! *pics*

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  2. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Thats a useful tip. I don't have a linksys, but the approach is applicable to any other "POE" capable device. This is true for a lot of netgear prosafe equipment too. I think I might just make my network POE compliant and run the small breakout hub/switches (running printer stands) POE.

    Does anyone know how many devices (or mA, mW) is the recommended max on a POE circuit?
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,811 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,925
    Very nice. I love these routers!
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    buying one now too ...
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    works on my spare router, wrt54g!
  6. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    You can add PoE on nearly any network device, 100mbit operation requires only 4 wires, the other 4 can be used for PoE.
  7. Lookover

    Lookover New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page