1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HowToNot: Taking Corsair RAM heatspreaders off

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Thrackan, May 12, 2009.

  1. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Hello ladies and gentlemen,

    As I am now the proud owner of 8 RAM chips and a seperate PCB with another 8 RAM chips, I feel it as my duty to express to you the following:

    Corsair Dominators and XMS DHX modules have those nice looking heatspreaders.
    Say, you're the ignorant jerk I am.
    Say, you feel like popping those heatspreaders off.
    Say, you even think for a change and start at the top where it's metal on metal.

    Should be safe right?

    WRONG

    In the corner of my eye, I noticed the ball joints of the first chip were not connected anymore.
    Of course, at that moment I decided that the stick was killed anyway and pried the entire sink off just to show you guys :D

    [​IMG]

    What have we learned today?

    1. XMS heatspreaders are glued.
    2. Ball joints are weak.
    3. I still don't know which chips are (were) on these sticks.
    4. RAM without heatspreaders is safer simply because you can't kill it with stupid things like this.

    Attached Files:

    mudkip, ace80, DanishDevil and 3 others say thanks.
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    :roll:

    Corsair :nutkick: You

    At least it shows Corsair uses decent adhesive for the spreaders. I guess you should have warmed them up first.
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I was going to try the freezer method, but all I wanted is to see if I could separate the inner and outer HS... Guess not :D
    AsRock says thanks.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I wonder if the retailer would take em back?
  5. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I guess if I stick the spreaders back on and delete this thread... But I'm not one to screw retailers around.

    I know that people do otherwise, but I stand by the fact that this is my own fault.
    IMHO, even if a retailer screws you around, you will simply lower yourself to their level if you do.
    WarEagleAU and erocker say thanks.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just a thought not saying you should/shouldnt. I wouldnt :)
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Ahh:( A nice set gone...
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I actually feel more sorry for the RAM than Thrackan :eek:

    I wondered if it will run as single sided ram?
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    you must'a pulled them real hard to break them clean off

    RIP --- RAM ---

    lets all take 1 min silence in honour of the ram that gave it's/their live/s
  10. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Thanks for showing this.. you may save a few folks from repeating this (like me)
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    That was somewhat the goal of this thread;)

    Hmm, let's test!
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    im sorry, stupid question but do they still work like 512MB or something?

    EDIT- seen your post now
  13. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I wonder what kind of glue/epoxy that is and if its better/worse than the Arctic Silver I use on all my stuff..

    Though its on a smaller scale I feel ur pain:laugh:
    [​IMG]
  14. DreamSeller Guest

    they where so sexy :(
  15. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Did you sand it off mk?
  16. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Hmm, CPU-Z still reports the 4th stick as Corsair - 2048MB.
    BIOS and Windows now report 4 Gb instead of 6 (or 7) total.

    Let's try booting with only this stick now.
  17. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I laugh if it boots:D
  18. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    What have we learned #5:
    - SPD chips work to identify memory even if you tear off the memory chips
    - Memory sticks on the contrary, do not.
  19. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    so did it boot?
  20. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wonder why they use glue. Its not like glue transfers heat any better. I was thinking a thermal pad or thermal tape or at the very extreme, Thermal Epoxy.
  21. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,539 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    dude i cant stop pmsl, i know its bad but damm what was you thinking???

    cant you find out what they are by the version number or the serial and the ram list?

    lets hope this works as a warning for others hey :)


    ninja edit

    love you sig btw :D
  22. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Well it's hard but still a tiny bit flexible. I doubt it's epoxy cause as far as I know most epoxy compounds dry up rock hard.

    Nah, fun to see the SPD chip did work though...

    "Do, or do not, there is no why."
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Oh well :( I wish they made them screwed on or bolt on so they can be changed.
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    i did the same thing with my XMS2 they were promos so its not like i killed anything important
  25. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Ouch.
    I thought Corsair used soldering paste/cream and not glue what it looks like to attach the HS'...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page