1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP 002 Blackbird

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by newfielander, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
  2. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I was talking to them and they are wholesalers not retail. Now what do I do.:eek:
     
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
  5. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    They sure look the same
     
  6. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    I would go for it.
     
  7. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    Its fine. I have done it with a Asetek from Cyberpower. The rev stuff doesn't matter. I bought two of the exact same kits from Corsair.
     
    newfielander says thanks.
  8. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,586 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Mexico
    One year ago I would have jumped on it just for the case :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    Can anyone tell me where I can get this part, other than Corsair web site (http://www.corsair.com/us/cpu-cooli...t-for-hydro-series-h40-h50-and-h70-rev-2.html )I can't seem to complete a purchase at the Corsair site, I ALWAYS get an error.
    Thanks
     
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    I just spent to past 20 minutes searching the internet for that part. I can't find it for sale any where else but the Corsair website. I suggest to try contacting Corsair about this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Location:
    GMT +2
    or contact their rep here Grey_beard
     
  12. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ne6togadno, who is their rep? I NEED THIS PART AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!! Thanks
     
  13. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Location:
    GMT +2
  14. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    IMG_0080.JPG Guys I have all but one part left to receive for my new upgrade, I purchased the MSI Z87-G45 GAMING motherboard and I was a little careless in removing my old motherboard and didn't take notes in where the wires I disconnected go on my new board, I do know that my new board don't have a 1394 port which is a little disappointing. And I have taken a guess that the same wire that runs the 1394, supports the USB on my Blackbird case. I have a few wires left to plugin but not sure where, can anyone lend an helping hand. Some plugin are easy because I can see that there is only 1 place to plug them in but, I don't see where I can connect my dvd/cd players which is the big blue connection on the picture. The green and black connection hanging just below the big blue connection is from my liquid cooling fans I do believe, the black blue and red I'm not sure what they are and I see nowhere to connect it. The Red and Black cable is simple the speaker under my harddrives,again I can live without that one and I can hook that one up, I just have to add on more wire, its to short,(not a big deal) Any suggestions of help?
     
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,542
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    That motherboard, like most current boards does not support legacy PATA cables. You will have to upgrade to a Sata DVD/RW drive. Black/red/blue is a fan mounted in the front of the case. The green/black should be a WC pump feedback cable for the CPU fan connector so the Mobo does not think the CPU fan has failed and shuts down/ goes into protect mode.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2014
    Vario and newfielander say thanks.
  16. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    What would a yellow connection mean?
     
  17. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    That yellow plug looks like HD audio? It looks like you plugged it in?
     
  18. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi Vario, yes I did ,but since unplug it cause not sure what its for. 'I'll be back in an half hour, you you can give me an hand getting this thing setup. Thanks
     
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    HD audio should have 9 wires total. When you plug it in, it should match up with the 9 pins off the motherboard.


    USB headers also have 9 wires but the missing 10th hole is in a different location.

    These connectors are keyed for the specific pins.

    Here is an example of a USB header (only pay attention to the USB 2.0 on the right, your case shouldn't have USB 3.0).
    [​IMG]




    Plug the red black blue fan wire into a Chassis Fan Header, preferably the closest one to the wire.

    The green and black wire is used with the watercooler, if you decide not to use it you don't need to plug it in. If you use the watercooling system you should plug that into CPUFAN1 or CPUFAN0 so that the motherboard recognizes that the pump is a "Fan". This is basically a speed sensor / tachometer for the pump in the cooling system.

    The PC Speaker (red and black) wire can be skipped or you can install it either by cutting the wires and extending them or by buying a extension cable like this one http://www.moddiy.com/products/Motherboard-4%2dPin-Speaker-Internal-Header-Extension-Cable-(10cm).html

    You should buy a new DVD drive if you want to use optical disks. Fortunately they are usually only about $15-20. They use SATA cables and sata power wires like a modern harddrive. Here is a decent one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827106393


    Here is another option but I would recommend just buying a new drive unless the old one is integrated into the case and cannot be removed? http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003AG79GO/?tag=tec06d-20
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2014
    newfielander says thanks.
  20. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=c01555106

    Looks like the DVD drive is fairly integrated. You could buy an adapter like the one I linked. Or you could possibly mount a new one in the 5.25 bay.

    Another option is to buy a replacement slim line optical drive like this one:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827151271

    Which looks like it would probably work. I think you need this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812200470 to use that slim line but I am not sure.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
    newfielander says thanks.
  21. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ok thanks a million Vario, now I have only 1 wire connection left, its the flat white one. (it as a red, white, green, and black wires in it. Take a look at my picture its just to the right of yellow one. I really think it is in the wrong place,
    I now have my video card installed and it as a 6 pin connector and a 8 pin connector, do I need both plug in? If so I have a problem, my computer only as 6 pin power connections, they are color coded green and blue. What do I do?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    For the videocard, yes you must plug in both the 8 and the 6 pin. You can buy a 8 (6+2) pin to 6 pin adapter. The extra 2 pins are grounds. You could probably power on with just the two 6 pin powers but I wouldn't recommend doing it

    Here is are two examples: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001TK3TJY/?tag=tec06d-20 / http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812200420

    I don't think you need to plug in that white connector at all. From the picture it looks like it comes out of the yellow plug? If so you don't need it.


    Also, please make sure that you don't plug your CPU 8 pin EPS auxillary power into the PCI-E power port on the videocard. These power wires look almost identical so its a common mistake. There is a CPU power 8 pin EPS port at the top of the motherboard. Have you connected it to the power supply? Some older power supplies only have a 4 pin EPS. I am not sure what your Blackbird comes with. Another common mistake is forgetting to plug in the EPS altogether.


    Is the watercooler still hooked up? If you aren't using it with your CPU you shouldn't power the pump on it, it would just be a waste if its not cooling your CPU. That green and black wires with white plug tachometer wire is related to the pump, and therefore if you don't hook up the watercooler to the motherboard/cpu you also don't have to hook that up.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  23. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
  24. newfielander

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    101 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    Sorry Vario, just discovered I had a 8 to (2), 6 pin connector given me with the video card! Can I use it in this situation ? See attached picture, Ok now if so ,next problem is they power supply cables are all 6 pin but they are color coded blue and green. What color do I use?
    As for having my CPU 8 pin EPS auxillary power into the PCI-E power port on the videocard, no I don't.

    As for the white connector , you are looking at the wrong one, over to the right of the yellow plugin I have a flat white one pluged in, that's the one I'm talking about, it as a red, white, green , and black wire on it. (on the picture you can't see them colored wires)

    I also noticed I can turn my 6 pin into an 8 pin by the looks of it. See second picture, if so I don't even need the supplied converter connector do i?


    I will be using the water cooling system once my bracket arrives from Corsair.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,042 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    Yes that second picture shows that you can run 8 pins. If that is a PCI-E power cable, then it is the one to use. That converter would also work. You still need to have an 8 and a 6 pin, so if there are two cables that resemble the second picture, plug one cable in with all 8 and the second with just 6, the remaining +2 just sit outside and don't do anything

    I see the flat white one plugged in, it looks like you have it plugged into sysfan2 header? If so you shouldn't put it there. I am not sure what that plug is for to be honest. You should unplug it immediately from the fan header until someone chimes in on what it is for. Is it possible to trace back along the cable to the device it comes from? It might be the floppy drive power cable? I have no idea.

    to avoid any unpleasant surprises, please post a picture of the whole thing before you power on!
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page