1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP 36.4Gb 15000RPM 320 SCSI drives help

Discussion in 'Storage' started by rizla1, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    i just bought 5 of these now can someone help with what else i will need ? will a pci scsi card be ok in win 7 ? do i need ultra wide cables for them?
  2. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    i remember being given a expensive tape drive that needed the pinch wheel repairing ,
    only problem was getting hold of a scsi card to plug it into, which i was told would be very hard to get drivers for, so i scrapped the whole thing (estimated value of drive £1100 )
    but that was before i got the net, so i might have had some better luck:eek:

    all i can say is good luck you might find one on fleabay that's win 7 compatible
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  4. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    5x 15k? When you get all setup, can you send me some HDTune (or similar) results?

    You planning on Raid0?

    And how much did they all cost you?
  5. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    thanks all
    dr.em - those are pretty much what ive been looking at on ebay. its the 5way cable that im nervous about .. when you get up to the faster ones its waaaaay in the thousands. but so much power.
    Kreij - ebay is probably the best place .£25-40 for the card i think.

    MoonPig - if i can afford to get it up and running sure. raid0 was the first thing that crossed my mind. sure il post hdtune result aswell .
    these exact drives are £70-90 new £20 used i think !http://www.google.co.uk/products?q=HP%2036.4Gb%2015000RPM%20320%20SCSI&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:eek:fficial&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wf crazy money
    mine came cheap at an auction.

    also are these 5 way scsi cables what i need for 5 drives + terminator = pci raid scsi card?
    should be fun as they look quite fast
    also the seek times 2-4ms and latency 2-4ms what is an average sata seek time/latency?
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
    MoonPig says thanks.
  6. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    815 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    Since it clearly has "320" in the name of the drive wouldn't you want an Ultra-320 SCSI card? Being limited to 40MB/s seems sucky with 5 drives.
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  7. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    lol fucker didnt mention that in ad . but they will do for something 320mbs seems faster . 320mbs are new 1's £200 for 36gb . even at them speeds 5x40mBs is gona be 4 times faster than my current hard drives . just checked up and these drives are limiting there power in the scsi interface troughput internal is 860mbs . will see what i get anyway the will be useful to someone.
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    860MB/s? Dude... that's faster then the fastest SSD.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,403 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    You're somewhat limited given the options on your board - PCI or PCIe x1.

    Adaptec makes a single channel U320 x1 card, the 29320LPE.

    ATTO makes a dual channel U320 x4 card, the UL5D. Would have to cut your x1 slot and run at x1 speeds until a board upgrade.

    Having said that, even if you end up with a PCI/PCI64/PCI-X controller running in your PCI slot, it'll still 'feel' great, you just won't have good looking benchies. I believe I have an Adaptec 29160 (single channel U160) around here somewhere. I'll see if it works, if you're interested. Wouldn't charge you more than shipping + a little handling.
  10. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    sorry 860 mbs still quite a bit more than 320mbs

    @jizzler i may pm u , first i wana see what all i need
  11. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    815 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    I'm pretty sure that if you went with just a Wide SCSI card that has a max 40MB/s, that is the total bandwidth that the card can handle. It's not 5x40 MB/s but 1x40 MB/s. It's been years since I've used SCSI devices though, so I'm not certain.

    Big B is Bytes and little B is Bits by the way. So Mb/s and MB/s are not the same thing. You have to multiply (or divide) by 8 since there are 8 bits to a byte.
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  12. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    Correct - Ultra Wide Scsi had a maximum of 40 Megabytes per second across the interface, which is shared between all drives on the controller.

    U320 Scsi was able to move 320 Megabytes per second of data across the interface. So when you'd have 7 drives in a array, the maximum throughput of all 7 drives combined would be 320 megabytes per second.
    timta2 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page