1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP Brings TouchSmart PC Within Reach for the Masses

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    HP said today that it is bringing the latest HP TouchSmart PCs to customers all around the world. Debuted at last month’s HP Connecting Your World event in Berlin, the new TouchSmart family of PCs have earned the privilege to be the only touch-enabled, all-in-one PCs in the market. The HP TouchSmart PCs combine a 22-inch diagonal, high-definition widescreen display and a variety of options when choosing the right hardware for your needs. You can select either the base IQ504 model for $1,299 with a 2GHz Core 2 Duo CPU, 4GB of memory, and 320GB hard drive or the deluxe IQ506 model for $1,499 and equip yourself with a 2.16GHz processor, a TV tuner, dedicated GeForce 9300M GS graphics, and a 500GB hard disk. To give the TouchSmart just the right finish, HP has also integrated a DVD burner, WLAN module, some stereo speakers, a webcam and a microphone. A low-profile wireless HP keyboard that lights in the dark, as well as a wireless mouse are also supplied just in case there's something you can't do using the touchscreen display.

    [​IMG]

    Source: BusinessWire
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,068 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    And when it starts up it uses 2.5gb of the 4gb it has.

    cdawall set it up at are bby and after he set it up, i checked ram usage on the machine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ElWapo973 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    New Jersey
    ^^ Hmm that sounds strange. According to this LINK both models come with a 64-bit OS. Maybe the mobo/bios that it's equipped with doesn't(yet) support 4GBs of RAM. :confused::ohwell:
  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    its all good, but why would you want to touch your screen?
    its it easier to use mouse or keyboard to do all the stuff instead of reaching to the monitor and moving your finger across the thing. your hand will get tired in less than a minute.

    I mean may be in store or for some other uses it will be a better way of doing things that using a mouse or key board. But i just don't see much use for it at home
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2008
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Very nice. Wonderful for the kids too! Finger painting without a mess :)

    I think touch screens will get us back toward having information ON THE DESK, like epaper, rather than cricking our necks up to read a vertical screen.

    Remember the days of ergonomic VRT? They were angles at about 60° not 90° to the horizontal.
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,068 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    oh, no it fully supports the 4gb it has, its just that hp loads there machines with soo much crap, after the login it uses 2.5 gbs.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    freaksavior, sounds to me like uve owned a hp b4 :twitch: :p
  8. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I have beautiful 20", 22", 24", & 30" LCDs. I have bloody nightmares of nasty smudges let alone fingerprints :eek: Oh, hell no..not this, they can keep it. I can deal with pen stylists but this, oh god I feel sick :shadedshu
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,068 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    nope, i work at best buy and when you set them up, they are the worst with preload crap. All there "utilities" and trial shit games.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I must say... i am very pleased with my girlfriends HP laptop that we recently got.
    2.4ghz core2duo 45nm with 3mb L2cache, 4mb ram, 320gb HDD & 8700M GT graphics....
    Works great with vista premium!

    Yes it does have a lot of preloaded stuff on it, but not enough to slow down the processor yet!!!
    I will enjoy doing a clean installation on it though in the near future to see how fast it really is as bootup is a little sluggish.
  11. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Im happy with mine as well.
    12.1" Touch Screen
    3 Gb Ram
    160Gb Hard Drive
    Nvidia 6150
    Turion-54 X2
    Vista 64 Home Premium

    It sure does not have a 8700 in it, but its good enough for 2d work.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page