1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HTPC advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by crazy pyro, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    What sort of parts would you need performance wise for an HTPC?
    I'm guessing a decent Dual Core like the E7300
    4GB of RAM@800
    An HD 4670
    mATX mobo
    Blu-ray drive
    500GB or 1TB drive
    Guessing it needs an HTPC case, no idea on what's good with these.
    This is for a friend who wants to put mythbuntu on it so no OS needs to be included.
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  3. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    It was along the lines of as cheap as possible, much the same as his PSU philosophy which I'm attempting to fix ie if he buys a cheap PSU it all goes bang and he has to buy an entirely new rig.
    That should be a decent rig, now half an hour finding same or similar parts in the UK. I'm going to hit him if he decides it was just a theoretical thing.
     
  4. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    for a htpc on a budget i would suggest the silverstone sugo series
     
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  5. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ok, I'm an AMD newb despite having always owned AMD until now. Does a socket AM2 processor work in a socket AM2+ mobo?
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yes it does. O btw, if you switch otu the board and go with 790GX, you are upgradeable to PhenToo. But then again you will need an ATX compatible case then.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page