1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HTPC questions.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ste2425, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Ive been thinking about HTPC's and their use. My understanding is they are just normal pc's where their primary function is to play music, videos and films weather that be of cd/dvd, from a wired or wireless network or from any other sort of media. My question is this though. If they are just like standard pc's they still need a mouse and keyboard to be operated fully But in a living room environment a mouse and keyboard, even wireless, isn't very practical so what do you guys use? Are there remote's where you can open up the start bar and select programs? I no that most remote's work with software like windows media centre but how would you start it up or software like that with a remote? Ive always wondered this thanks
    ste
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,914 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,490
    yes. mce remotes. mzoft ones(and others probably) are pre-configured to use windows media center - but all of them can be modified with software like eventghost or others to work with whatever software (VLC, winamp, etc) you favor.

    buttons can be programmed(open a program, run a script), macros, or even simulate buttons presses and mouse movement.
    also the play/pause, etc are normally just media keys - which means they work the same as play/pause on your keyboard(if you have it)

    it takes some setup time, but is sooo worth it.

    as assaulter says. I just keep one by the chair and use it for XBMC. if the pc falls asleep (while im not watching) just press a button and wake it up. choose a video, play pause volume, etc - without getting up. I have an old Mzoft MCE remote, the 2005 I think. they have some damn cool lcd remotes... expensive for me though...
    ste2425 says thanks.
  3. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    You have remotes for pc's since ages. Try and search for some, I use one myself, generic one. Whats cool is that you can even chat on msn, shut down your pc, put it on standby, even use it as a mouse (since it has some kind of analog thingy) Like I said, mine is generic (I see pc remote on it, nothing more alas) kinda cost me $10 if I remember well. I don't use it with an htpc but since its basically a pc, it would still be the same. So you really don't need a mouse and kb, but wireless one's would be recommended (you never know when generic stuff will kiss you bye)

    I've attached a pic of mine.

    Attached Files:

    ste2425 says thanks.
  4. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    I new theres been remotes ive used them for a while ive just never been able to find a way to eliminate the need for a mouse but i never new about being able to assign commands to certain buttons, and that last one looks great with the mouse toggle thing.
  5. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,898 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I use my Logitech Harmony Remote for my HTPC
    you can use the arrow keys for the mouse with the select button as the left Click button...

    I also have a wireless keyboard and mouse
    There are several Media Remotes for HTPC's that have a Touchpad to use as a mouse..

    You can even use an XBOX 360 remote as a mouse with separate software...
    http://pinnaclegameprofiler.com/downloads Thanks to D007 for this find
    It's free to try and lets you use a 360 remote for any game on your PC as well which makes it perfet for an HTPC/Game center
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
    ste2425 says thanks.
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,959 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Microsoft had a specialized keyboard that they made for Windows XP Media Center Edition. I would imagine it would work with Vista and Seven as well. I always liked the way it looked.

    Anyways, it appears to be called the "Microsoft Remote Keyboard for Windows XP Media Center Edition". I'd give it some consideration.
    ste2425 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page