1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HWBot No Longer Accepts Record Submissions from Windows 8

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 19, 2013.

?

Does this affect your Windows 8 Upgrade Plans?

  1. Yes, no Windows 8 until this is fixed

    1 vote(s)
    1.9%
  2. No, I'll upgrade to Windows 8 anyway

    14 vote(s)
    26.4%
  3. I never planned to downgrade to Windows 8

    38 vote(s)
    71.7%
  1. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    Im sure Microsoft would love to pack Windows with apps,but everytime they do manage to sneak one in they get sued for forcing it upon users.:shadedshu
     
    Frick says thanks.
  2. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    357 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    IE cannot be classified as a free app - it's part of the os and the weakest link in system security.
     
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually, the user is the weakest link in security, just like it is in linux.

    Seriously though, this thread is about HWbot's problem with win8, not Linux vs Win8:)
     
    Prima.Vera, MxPhenom 216 and Fourstaff say thanks.
  4. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    357 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I meant software-wise.

    It's not hwbot's problem. hwbot just revealed the problem ;)
     
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Naah, not if you keep the software updated, and you can remove the executable, so that IE as a browser is not on your system (at least on Vista/7, don't know how it is in 8). The underlaying parts (like Trident) remains though.
     
  6. Massman

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Just a heads-up for those who are interested in this very specific 1st world problem. From the looks of it, AMD systems might not be affected by this. We'll probably keep the OS blacklisted until we know the full scope of the problem.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    209 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Western New York
    It's included as part of the OS. Whether you consider that free or "as included" is academic.

    Oh, and IE10/11 is one of the most secure browsers out there. The sandbox (or integrity levels as it's called in Windows) is more stringent and secure than the one Chrome uses. Chrome uses the Low_Level integrity level sandbox while IE10 and above uses the App_Locker integrity level sandbox which was what they introduced in Windows 8 to be one level even below Low_Level integrity.

    My personal preference for browsers is Firefox, but if I had to pick the most secure browser to use in Windows, it would be IE10 (or 11, when it's released) without a second thought. People like you really need to educate themselves on the massive security improvements in Windows as you're all stuck in the 90's with your assumptions and bias of Windows and especially IE security. Everyone fellates Chrome and its security model when in fact it was IE that beat Chrome in both sandboxing and multi-process security.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
    xvi, jihadjoe, Frick and 1 other person say thanks.
  8. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,292 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    fixed. :pimp:
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    I thought this issue was just an win8 dx11 problem with calculating 3d renders.
     
  10. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    More like Win8 doesn't actually shut down properly.

    The reason it boots faster is because it hibernates by default, instead of properly shutting down like you asked it to.

    My laptop already goes into hibernate by default (usually 10-15 minutes after going into sleep, which happens when I close the lid on it). My desktop is on 24/7. When I go into the shutdown menu on either one, it's usually because I want a proper shutdown and cold boot, not a suspend-to-disk event and a resume shortly afterward.
     
    Nabarun says thanks.
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,840 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,616
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Off topic is an understatement here, please keep on track and cut the insults otherwise my patience will dissolve as quickly as the OP topic did :D
     
    xvi, Mindweaver and d1nky say thanks.
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,628 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    For any(every)one not bothering to read the post:


    This issue is caused by changing BCLK within Windows

    So this is what happens:

    1- "X" boots his PC at stock BCLK
    2- W8 makes RTC calculations at boot time
    3- "X" changes BCLK while in Windows.
    4- W8 doesn't sync the RTC with the new BCLK value
    5- "X" benches and sends dodgy result to HWBOT

    AMD CPUs don't seem to be affected as Massman posted.
     
    Frick and xvi say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,509 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    770
    QFT.

    Who does this affect here? Like 10 people total that benchmark and post to Hwbot?? Though I suppose now that it was posted you may have some people benching it here in those scores... so, like Hwbot, just do not allow W8 to be used until it gets fixed. :toast:

    You would probably care if you were actually participating/competing there. Its cheating if used, plain and simple.
     
  14. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    I wrote a program a while ago called WinTimerTester that compares the high performance timer to the regular timer in Windows. When adjusting the BCLK in Windows, the two timers get out of sync and WinTimerTester should show the percentage difference between the two timers.

    This was originally a problem in Windows 7. Linking the high performance timer directly to the BCLK was introduced as a new feature for Windows 7 to conform to ACPI. If you adjust the BCLK in Windows 7 or Windows 8, try the WinTimerTester program and post your results.

    Here's some background info.

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/asu...-game-timing-problem-g60jx-2.html#post7364805
     
  15. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Theres a large difference between saving the kernel to disk and saving the memory in it's entirety to disk
     
  16. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,116 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,398
    Location:
    Washington, US
    So, is this something that should be handled with hardware and double-checked with software?

    Let it die. If you need encouragement, see Tatty's post above.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,509 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    770
    yes nd no as there are still easy ways around it. For example, lets say you lower bclk and run a bench. Clearly, the timer is off and so is the benchmark. So you raise the bclk back and possibly raise the mutli up a notch or two to compensate for the increase in score making it more believable.
     
  18. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I think he means that after spending thousands on high end hardware, some have no use for it except to squeeze the highest benchmarks out of it so they can brag to their friends. Not sure whether it's Haswell or Windows 8 that's making these machines into pieces of crap in his estimation...
     
  19. riffraffy

    riffraffy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Maybe it would not be a problem if it's accurately wrong , just add or subtract ...or not .
     
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    How is it affected from throttling and boost then?
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,666 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It wouldn't because neither touches the bclk. It drops or boosts the multiplier in most cases.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  22. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    304 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    blink blink! but wow why is everything else looks so dead flat and drab now...?
    You mean you haven't used Process Explorer available since XP time?
    Great!
    Great for average joe I guess (not)?
    And take even more spaces, also hide even more icons.
    That saves me about 5 seconds of my life every few weeks. Based MS.

    Fast boot also known to cause possible damage.
     
  23. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why are this many people so busy with trying to convince others windows 8 is bad :wtf:

    Seriously, this isnt even a thread about windows 8, but still it feels like people come at it to bash win8 like flies are attracted to shi.. Poo!

    I mean, its not a bad OS to use(seriously), it was actually really cheap(30 dollar/euro when it came out), and technically one of the most advanced OS-es ever made.

    Noone comes to linux or old windows related threads to bash those OS-es because of their worse support or worse user friendliness now do they.



    If you don't own windows 8, and didn't ever bother to properly test/use it for like a month of daily use, then imho you simply don't have a lot of right to say stuff about it.
    So quit posting stuff about windows 8 already!





    On topic: Has anyone heard anything about if this has been found on any platform besides Haswell yet? Looks to me atm that the problem is confined to users combining Haswell overclocking during the running of windows 8.
     
    xvi and remixedcat say thanks.
  24. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,628 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    throttling and boost don't change BKCL only the multiplier.
     
    Frick says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Yeah, obviously. D'oh! :eek:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page