1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. phoen

    phoen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    I have ESET Antivirus 5 and no incompatibility problem.
  2. aldon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  3. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
  4. aldon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not sure I understand. Stable is a ambiguous term to use at this point. There's no OC on at the time in the sistem. Drivers are from nvidia website and asus for MOBO.
    Care to be more specific about "usual" unstable elements at this time?


    ty
  5. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    what's your PSU? what's your system specs?
  6. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Anatolymik, and thanks for your work. I'm facing the same issue.
    Here are my specs: Asus P7P55 LX mobo, Win7 64, 280.26 drivers, MSI N460GTX OC + Gigabyte GTX 460 (both with 1gb of memory), Intel Core i5 760 @2.80ghz, 650W corsair power supply.
    I get the very same bsod each time I try to activate sli. Any idea what the problem could be?
  7. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    post a screen of HyperSLI CP
  8. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    here it is

    Attached Files:

  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    disable hypervisor in HyperSLI CP and try to enable SLI
  10. aldon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    PSU = Enermax ENM850EWT NAXN, 850W, ATX 12V v2.3
    Computer specs :
    Case : Thermaltake Soprano
    Motherboard : Asus Crosshair IV Formula
    CPU + cooling: AMD Phenom II X4 965 (3.4Mhz) + Thermaltake Frio
    Video : 2x Gainward GTS 450 1024Mb GDDR5
    Memory : 4Gb kingston
    HDD : SATA WDC
  11. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Back from another crash. It went into legacy mode then when I activated sli, the screen kept refreshing for a few secs before the bsod.
  12. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    so you could activate SLI? what BSOD it was?
  13. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes I activated it then I got the very same aldon posted
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    once again please.

    1) You disaled Hypervisor. (Legacy mode)
    2) Activated sli
    3) Run 3d app
    4) Few second and got BSOD

    right?
  15. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    3) bsod, a few seconds after the activation
  16. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
  17. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  18. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    the matter isn't in SLIPatch or HyperSLI. check your CPU, RAM, each CARD separately for stability
  19. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any software recommandation for these stability tests?
    Thanks for ur time
  20. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    prime95 for CPU and RAM testing
    FurMark for videocard testing (be careful, dont burn your cards)
    themyth says thanks.
  21. themyth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks a lot
  22. Matze/O² New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No success so far...

    I've even reinstalled Windows.

    I guess that the EFI partition is the Problem, so I'll have to reinstall my whole system. :(
  23. snipe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    73 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Download BLUE SCREEN VIEW and it will show you what driver crashed your system. Try older Nvidia drivers.

    I found this http://www.articlewritingclicks.com/Windows_Errors/Nvlddmkmsys_BSOD_Fix__How_to_Finally_Solve_this_Error.html Also re-install the driver, make sure to uninstall with control panel, and boot into safe mode and use driver sweeper to clean out old drivers, and boot and install CUSTOM and do not install Nvidia Update, HD audio or 3D drijust install display and Physx, also make sure to check the box for CLEAN INSTALL.
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  24. Matze/O² New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've finally managed to get rid of the problem by booting directly form the hd.
    Usually I boot the system using a USB Stick with a different bootloader on it. And that was the reason why bcdedit.exe was not able to see the boot information.

    But now I've a different problem.
    I'm able to activate SLI, but not NVIDIA Surround. Any clue why?

    Regards and many thanks for your help and awesome work!
  25. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    362 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    What do you have for monitors?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page