1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. ColdFlo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    22 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows 8 RTM

    Tried HyperSLI on Win 8 RTM (EN-PRO_VL-MSDN) and after selecting Win 8 x64 Hyper SLI it reboots and then before I can select os again on graphical bootloader. I get an odd very spartan error that does not look to be an ms error of course this is a new bootloader and everything. It asks me to hold down the power button in order to power down the machine and seems to give some memory address fails? Not trying to push anyone along I'm fine with Windows 8 Release Preview cause I really loaded that install down and it still has Aero which RTM does not and to me looks disappointing. Regardless a little fine tuning may be needed for RTM but no rush just haven't seen any posts about it so I thought I'd give a heads up. The kernel does once again feel faster tho. I don't know if thats from the lack of aero but if the freezes of Release Preview were addressed and fixed that may have a hand in it as well. Sorry I don't have a digicam and I haven't used a cellphone since the monthly bills were expensive and modern cellphones scare me so I can't post pics. Once again Anatoly I have to say it again because this tweak just keeps impressing me. This IS the greatest tweak of all time.

    If this issue has already been addressed someone please straighten me out I read the thread months ago and don't have time to read it again now.

    Oh yeah I forgot maybe I should add some givens. I am using Nvidia Drivers 304.79 which works perfectly on my Windows 8 Release Preview x64. I think tho this error is a pre-os pre-driver issue.
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  2. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    817
    that's the reason i didnt want to make windows 8 supporting before release version. i'll take o look soon
  3. Mykee36 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Anyone tried the newly released 306.02 Nvidia beta driver yet with HyperSLI?

    update: When I used drivers Nvidia 304.79 beta driver (also the 304.48) HyperSLI would not work for me,
    I had the same problems a few others had, at bootup the screen goes black and then both my video cards crank up to 100% load.
    But with the new 306.02 beta driver, HyperSLI/ and Nvidia SLI are working perfect for me, no startup problems that I had with the previous 2 betas.
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  4. neklec New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello anatolymik,
    I have notebook Alienware m17xr2 and 2 680m in sli.
    I can't include sli in settings of the video driver, there
    in general there is no such function.
    I know that the same problem in m17xr2+580m sli was solved by installation of a patch of HyperSLI_0.7_beta and M17x-R2 Modified SLI Drivers.
    You can find also for me the solution of this problem?
    Thanks
  5. Sparkytc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts USA
    Thanks all it works perfectly...well as perfect as the display driver will allow...Diablo III, City of heroes, and Star Trek Online all crash eventually sometimes with a slight black delay (2 or 4 seconds) and something about Display Driver Kernel has stopped or timed out?? sounds like this may be an issue with the cards or a setting but the SLI does enable and I dont get black screens...Dont use the 304 drivers..the 301 drivers work fine..try to up to the 304 and nothing...so why change it if something works. Also anyone have an idea whats up with this Driver Kernel timing out isssue thingy?
  6. federicoz45

    federicoz45 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    121 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Italy - Versilia
    Hi, I confirm the new drivers 306.02 are working fine on my Crosshair IV formula and Hypersli 0.9
  7. Sparkytc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts USA
    Oooh Goody, guess I gotta try them now...Will keep yall updated on progress.
  8. ColdFlo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    22 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I apologize if you feel put out, but I'm glad I did because I may just continue to use release preview cause it still has aero and Win 8 RTM doesn't. :)
  9. theonerm2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can't get Hyper SLI working.

    I've tried installing multiple times... Even tried other versions and I just cannot get the sli options to show up in the nvidia control panel. I'm running X2 GTX 460's. They are both 256-bit and have 1GB of vRAM. One card is an OEM Dell version and the other is a PNY XLR8 version. They run at slightly different clock speeds and the OEM dell version requires only 1 PCI-E power connector while the PNY version requires 2. Other than the differences mentioned the cards are exactly the same. I understand that when running in SLI that a higher clocked card will downclock to match the speed of the slower card.

    I would appreciate any help to get sli working on my system. I'm running those graphics card on an ASROCK 880G PRO3 motherboard with an AMD FX 8120.
  10. theonerm2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got SLI working!

    All I needed to do was install "DifferentSLI 301.42 modded driver." Then it worked. I'm amazed.
  11. redlines New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    does any one got a download link for the hypersli 0.9 ive looked all over google and i cant seem to get it anywhere the links on main post doesn't work

    if any one has hyperSLI 0.9 could you please post me a link
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  12. federicoz45

    federicoz45 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    121 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Italy - Versilia
    Just click hypersli 0.9 under the Anatolymik post above, it works.
  13. redlines New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it wasnt working yesterday all links was dead
  14. nicknick New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i tried to use hypersli on the final version of windows 8 and after rebooting i got the same problem

    Attached Files:

  15. KERRMA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hyper sli 0.9 bsod

    after installing hyper sli 0.9 i found that i am unable to boot to windows (bsod). Disabling Vt x allowed me to boot into windows with sofware sli enabled my question is why cant i boot with hardware sli. The only thing i can think of is that my sli bridge is broken casue ive tested both cards and they work fine. Could there be any software related issue ive overlooked.
  16. Yimmeryams New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    Yes to the software issues. Disabling Vt x is a tip off to that. Vt x, or VTx, or however your BIOS labels it, enables some form of virtualization. Other people will be able to tell you exactly what it enables and how.

    HyperSLI doesn't play well with other programs trying to use virtualization. If HyperSLI is active, and you start something that uses certain forms of virtualization, your computer will BSOD.

    There are some different settings you can play around with in HyperSLI. I would set it to disable HyperSLI at start-up, which may help out with your problem, keep HyperSLI on software mode, and then try re-enabling VTx in your BIOS.

    Programs that use virtualization include, but are not limited to, Bluestacks and most, if not all, virtual desktops.
    KERRMA says thanks.
  17. KERRMA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hyper sli 0.9 bsod at boot hardware mode

    ok i tried disabling the hypervisor and controll panel without success. Now i would need to know the driver names that hyper sli 0.9 uses so i can check which ones doesnt load. So i could narrow down the problem. Thanks in advnace
  18. KERRMA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hyper sli 0.9 bsod at boot hardware mode Solved

    Found from the boot log that avira antivirus driver wouldn t load for some reason ( caused the Bsod) avira probably use Vtx too and thus causes an conflict oh well if someone knows a good antivirus that is compatible with hyper sli 0.9 let me know.
  19. Mordecai Walfish New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    58 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I use Avira and have never encountered this with HyperSLI.

    Perhaps it's a specific feature you have enabled in Avira that is causing this? Check to see what in Avira would use Vtx, and possibly disable it if it is not too important to you.
  20. Yimmeryams New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    Just because it failed to load doesn't mean it caused the BSOD. Plus, I as well have never had that problem with Avira.

    On the off-chance it is Avira, or are looking for alternatives anyway, you can use Microsoft Security Essentials.
  21. KERRMA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ....................... it did it again

    It appears the system has changed somehow bsod again....... . guess u guys were right any ideas? Bsod error message (0xdeaddead) same as before. Oh well atleast i ve confirmed my sli bridge isnt broken. Or it could be you never know.........
  22. KERRMA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    after countless reboots i finally got it running again :) by reinstalling driver and hyper sli hope this victory lasts longer :D

    ok after further reboots and frustrating install and uninstalls i think the problem lays in the gpu driver. It seems like something is corrupting it. Because i only manage too boot once per install to hardware mode. On system restart it starts blue screening on boot.
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  23. SpartanVXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Might be the driver set, nVidia jsut released 306.23 WHQL

    On another note anybody else tried 306.23?
  24. Yimmeryams New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    My vote is still some sort of virtualization software, in which case reinstalling the drivers, or installing a different driver version, will do nothing. Reinstalling HyperSLI probably won't do anything, either.

    I would leave VTx disabled in my motherboard BIOS until I could figure out what's causing the BSODs.
  25. Mykee36 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    New 306.23 drivers

    Just downloaded and installed the 306.23 drivers.
    Ran a couple of games and benchmarks, no problems at bootup or with gameplay.

    i7 2600k
    Windows 7
    Motherboard: ASROCK P67 Pro3 SE

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page