1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HyperX @ 1.65v on my Z68 ok?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by AlienIsGOD, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    I've googled the topic and not found a straight answer, so what better place to ask then here :D i have the HyperX on XMP settings on my mobo and its @1.65. My mobo supports XMP profiles but its the lowest Z68 mobo around >_< just wondering if setting it to XMP setttings will be fine for the IMC on the CPU and the ram slots.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,758 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    1.5v would be the "legal" voltage. I had the same dilemma with no straight answer so I've used the same sticks at 1.65 for some time then set the volts at 1.6 as a precaution. Probably they would work with even lower voltage but did not bother. I am now running them at 1333 because in what I do I cannot spot any difference. So, no problem running them at 1.65 but can't give an answer what's happening in the long run.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    to be noted, theres is no o/c on the CPU anymore, I just left everything at default when i reformatted. CPU seems locked at 3.1ghz unless turbo mode kicks in
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    XMP is fine. Just set the DRAM voltage to 1.5v; manually.

    I am using 4x2GB Mushkin Blackline, rated at CL8 1.65v.

    I've been running them at 1.5v for months now.
     
    Crap Daddy and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    set my ram to 1.575v and its working perfectly :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,758 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    You might try at 1.5v. I'm running mine at this voltage since some time and everything's fine.
     
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    it goes from 1.495 to 1.525. i may go down to that voltage later tonite, need to play some GW2 :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I thought 1.5v was recommended (JEDEC standard) and 1.65v was the max within Intel's spec range?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    1.575 V is the max, 1.65 V is supported with XMP only, and only certain modules are XMP-certified. A full lsiting can be found on the Intel site.


    1.65 V is perfectly safe, don't bother lowering it...you'll just end up with problems dow nteh road. I am shocked that was even suggested, to be honest.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  10. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,758 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,050
    Can you detail what problems that might be. I really want to know and proceed how you say.
     
  11. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I like this response ,so i will just quote

    P.S. most of MFG./mobo makers include 1.65v memory in "Memory Support List"
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012
  12. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    This issue is pretty old, right? (2 years?) but maybe on very low end boards it is a real issue.

    I have been running 1600 RAM at 1,65 on my last 2-3 mobos....

    And they do not get hot, so I am wondering why people like to lower it... Saving power bills? Then turn your monitor off! I have a UPS with a LED display that tells wattage, etc, and connected my tower and my monitor to it... Wait... Monitor (32"...) takes 100 W and the PC 100W... during idle.... Now instead of screen savers I set my monitor to turn off after 15 minutes...
     
  13. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    neah..ppl just paranoid and misinformed ,sandy was such a jump (45=>32nm) that most are not sure what's safe and what not and yes close to 2 years lol and still most are not sure...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page