1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HyperX @ 1.65v on my Z68 ok?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by AlienIsGOD, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    I've googled the topic and not found a straight answer, so what better place to ask then here :D i have the HyperX on XMP settings on my mobo and its @1.65. My mobo supports XMP profiles but its the lowest Z68 mobo around >_< just wondering if setting it to XMP setttings will be fine for the IMC on the CPU and the ram slots.
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    1.5v would be the "legal" voltage. I had the same dilemma with no straight answer so I've used the same sticks at 1.65 for some time then set the volts at 1.6 as a precaution. Probably they would work with even lower voltage but did not bother. I am now running them at 1333 because in what I do I cannot spot any difference. So, no problem running them at 1.65 but can't give an answer what's happening in the long run.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    to be noted, theres is no o/c on the CPU anymore, I just left everything at default when i reformatted. CPU seems locked at 3.1ghz unless turbo mode kicks in
  4. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    XMP is fine. Just set the DRAM voltage to 1.5v; manually.

    I am using 4x2GB Mushkin Blackline, rated at CL8 1.65v.

    I've been running them at 1.5v for months now.
    Crap Daddy and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    set my ram to 1.575v and its working perfectly :D
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    You might try at 1.5v. I'm running mine at this voltage since some time and everything's fine.
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    it goes from 1.495 to 1.525. i may go down to that voltage later tonite, need to play some GW2 :p
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I thought 1.5v was recommended (JEDEC standard) and 1.65v was the max within Intel's spec range?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,780
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    1.575 V is the max, 1.65 V is supported with XMP only, and only certain modules are XMP-certified. A full lsiting can be found on the Intel site.


    1.65 V is perfectly safe, don't bother lowering it...you'll just end up with problems dow nteh road. I am shocked that was even suggested, to be honest.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  10. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Can you detail what problems that might be. I really want to know and proceed how you say.
  11. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I like this response ,so i will just quote

    P.S. most of MFG./mobo makers include 1.65v memory in "Memory Support List"
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012
  12. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,192 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    This issue is pretty old, right? (2 years?) but maybe on very low end boards it is a real issue.

    I have been running 1600 RAM at 1,65 on my last 2-3 mobos....

    And they do not get hot, so I am wondering why people like to lower it... Saving power bills? Then turn your monitor off! I have a UPS with a LED display that tells wattage, etc, and connected my tower and my monitor to it... Wait... Monitor (32"...) takes 100 W and the PC 100W... during idle.... Now instead of screen savers I set my monitor to turn off after 15 minutes...
  13. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    neah..ppl just paranoid and misinformed ,sandy was such a jump (45=>32nm) that most are not sure what's safe and what not and yes close to 2 years lol and still most are not sure...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page