1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I added some RAM and now I have no internet?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Kantastic, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I added in some RAM to my sister's old P4 and then BAM no internet at all when I turned it back on. The ethernet port light isn't lit or blinking. I might have did something when I loaded the fail-safe defaults in the BIOS. I can't find any connections in My Network Places -> connections either.

    Anybody know what I should do?
  2. Sir_Real

    Sir_Real New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Lincoln England
    If its a pci lan card pull it out clean connections & replace

    Might work !
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Maybe you disabled onboard LAN? I would look in the bios for any option regarding that.
    Kantastic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Unfortunately it's onboard, though there is a NIC card but I'm not using that right now.

    Will look into that now, thanks!
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Everything is working now, I just enabled the ethernet port in the BIOS. Thanks to everybody for the help!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page