1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I am not sure....

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by farlex85, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Perhaps better architecture?.....
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No. The E6750 is better. Intel just used aggresive pricing when they released the 1333Mhz Chips, but never reduced the price of the older 1066Mhz chips to the same extent.
     
    farlex85 says thanks.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    I can't believe those things are 65w :twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    AMD aren't the only one trying to reduce power usage you know ;)
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,652
    E6750 is a newer chip that OC's higher, IF your mobo can do high FSB (400+)
    E6600 has a lower FSB and a higher multi, so its easier to OC on the less awesome mobos.
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    farlex85 says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,652
    unless you're OCing on a non overclocking board.
    (1066 FSB stock, raise to 1333 - cheap and easy OC for the average user)
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2008
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If you're talking about the 800 MHz Allendales and the E22xx chips, I totally agree. I'm talking about the whole E6600 vs E6750 thing.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,652
    E6600 is a 1066FSB, E6750 is 1333.

    I got the numbers messed up before, typo. will edit now.

    Most mobos only OC to around 350-400 FSB, and the E6750 being 333x8 at stock means 400FSB is a 'mere' 3.2GHz, while the E6600 (266x9) gives you 3.6Ghz at the same FSB.
    It boils down to mobo really, if you have a great mobo the 6750 will go further, if you dont, the 6600 is easier to get the same MHz from.
     
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    hehe. :D yup. The FSB 1066 parts have 1 unit higher multipliers and if you've got good cooling, voltage and BIOS, you can take it farther than a Conroe 1333.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Bu then wouldn't the fact of having the "enthusiast" motherboard paired with an e6600 make it clock even further?
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes it would, applying the FSB x multiplier = clock speed rule. I guess Muzz means that on high overclocks the 333 MHz bus OC's cooler and higher despite lower multiplier. It's thresholds are higher.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,652
    Yes, i'll simplify.

    E6600 - needs a lower FSB, therefore less awesome of a motherboard. (333x9 = 3.0GHz, 400x9 = 3.6Ghz)
    E6750 - 333x8 is stock, 400x8 means a 'mere' 3.2Ghz.

    However - the E6750 runs cooler and would need less extensive CPU cooling, with a possibility of going higher IF you mobo and ram can keep up.

    (3.6Ghz off a 6600 is about the limit on air, while some 6750's/6850's can do 3.8-4.2GHz on the same cooling) you need around 500 FSB for that and 1GHz+ ram.

    E6850 with the 9x multi is the same as an E6600, but with the cooler temps - it would be the obvious choice, except that its price matches up with the Q6600 (which is two E6850's paired together at 1066 FSB, and gets pretty similar OC's)


    Edit:This information is purely for overclocking. If you intend to run stock, the E6750 is faster and cooler (therefore quieter), so choose it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2008
    farlex85 says thanks.
  15. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the E6750 is a nice chip runs cool and overclcocks well.. the price is bargain basement.. but if u really want to overclock to the hghest levels. its 8 x multiplier is a problem..

    the E6850 with its 9 x multiplier isnt so bargain basement.. but it will hit 4 gigs fairly easy on air.. my E6750 wont quite manage it.. he he he

    mind u for the money it costs the 6750 does pretty well..

    trog
     
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Thanks for the advice guys. I have decided to go with the 6750 on account of its cheaper price, cooler temps, and the fact that I am only beginning to do this oc stuff so I won't oc much.

    A question about the multi though, I guess u can't unlock it then? I thought you could change the multiplier on the core 2s. Thanks for all the advice guys.
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,786 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,166
    You can set the multi lower than stock, not higher.
     
    farlex85 says thanks.
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    ah, thanks
     
  19. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    leave it at 8 x it will make life easier.. just take it up to three gig.. it will go there on its default voltage.. the 6850 runs at 3 gig.. they are the same except for the multiplier.. so its not really "overclcocked"..

    trog
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,652
    to extend on this, they lower to 6x for Intels SpeedStep tool.

    Basically, it drops the multi down to save power when you arent using the full speed of the CPU, and enthusiast boards have teh ability to trick the system into using those multis steadily instead of changing all the time.

    (If you overclock, this must be disabled btw)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page