1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I believe my sensors are a little damaged...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Velvet Wafer, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    I just used Hardware Monitor, to find a proof for the strange voltage spikes,OCCT showed (Spikes that kill)
    the desktop screen, is a few minutes old, the other values are from 2 tests within an hour, a few days ago.
    but i talk too much:
    pictures say more than thousand words;)

    i dont believe my PSU is shot, even the temperature sensors play mad. what do you say?

    thanks for help,guys and lads!:D

    Attached Files:

  2. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    maybe time for a RMA your sensors seems all defunked i doubt its your PSU
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    the board is brand new.... nooooo :D
    can i rma for such a bit?

    at least im now happy, it cant be the psu: i crunched at 3.937 ghz with 0.00 vcore;),stable!!

    the longer it stays on, the weirder the readings get

    everest works normal tho, never encountered a problem, besides that the socket sensor is flawed, and is always between 46-54 no matter how cold the cores are. in the biostar 790gx a2+, it was the socket sensor, that was always cooler than the cores....

    Attached Files:

  4. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    as long its only a glitch... i shouldt be too concerned,or should i?
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I've always gone to the fact that you can never trust the voltage sensors 100%. I'd recommend testing with a voltmeter.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    software voltage readings are completely useless
    Kenshai says thanks.
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i have a multi here... where to measure? how to do it safely?:)
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    black lead on the meter to a black wire on a molex plug, and move the red wire to what you want to measure.

    orange = 3.3V
    red = 5V
    yellow = 12V
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thanks, just measured 12v and 5v on my core duo and my x2 939
    there both 11.74-5
    5 volt is 5.0-5.1 on the 939 and 4.9-5.0 on the core duo
    just to measure the main rig, but i will try that after i showered. stay tuned!;)
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    11.75v is low.

    not "omg its gunna catch fire!" low, but "that PSU is either cheap, old, or feeling the strain" low


    test the 12V again, but run a CPU test program like linpack


    The OCZ gameX and stealthX lines actually have a little doodad inside them you can turn with a screwdriver to adjust the voltages, FYI
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    theyre both the same psu, 400 watt codegen,generic with 2 12v rails, one 14A and one !8!A

    my main psu is a ModXstream, didnt tested it yet... does it has this "doodad" also? and where to find it?
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    modXstream might, it looks like a little blue box with a white 'square' a screwdriver would fit in.

    [​IMG]

    this is an image from the rear of the old powerstream line, you can see the pots (potentiometers) up top. the colors are inverted to whats in my gameX/stealthX units however. the newer units only have one, which raises 5V and 12V at the same time (so measure both, before and after - a little high on one, is better than low on both)

    P.S - 11.75V aint so bad from a codegen, they're umm... cheap crap. lets see how it fares under load, i've seen 11.2V (and it was incredible, but that PC was stable)
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    they were both under crunching load;). the intel rig even has a 9500gt, that gets powered over the slot. the 939 has onboard. to the main PSU: the really new modxstream doesnt seem to have that. not even a single poti:shadedshu
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    they're on the inside, under the fan. sometimes covered in hotglue to lock them in place
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you mean, in the casing of the psu itself? then it has to be off for that,eh?;)
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    i turned mine off, opened it up, went into the BIOS and hooked the meter up. with the fan blowing on it from the side, i then tweaked it til i got good readings from the meter.
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    wont i lose my RMA-rights then? there is a protective sticker....
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    so dont do it til its out of warranty, or the voltages go bad :p
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    besides from these humoristic droppings to even 0.0
    the voltages on all rails are more than good. only 5 V is exactly 5V,sometimes 4.9, but there is also the biggest pull i believe (see my current VGA,it wont pull much from the 12v, that wont go below 12.233, normally its 12.354;))
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    12.35 is high actually.

    the best PSU's are within say, 11.98 to 12.03


    12.35V is just under 3% above 'stock', which some PSU's use as a trigger point to shut down (Over voltage protection)
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    under load, it is between 12.223 and 12.246, that should be ok,hum?:)
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    its ok, just that if you ever have issues with sudden shutdowns - look at the PSU voltages
  24. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i forgot to say: the modxstream has every kind of protection. it would have instantly shut down, when real issues were present. i once shorted the 12v line,a few weeks ago, and it protected itself, even if it sounded like its death. i had to hardreset, and to wait one minute, to deactivate the protection:)

    EDIT: i just had generics before. i know the "Bang of death", and the symptoms ;-)
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  25. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    hm .gif this has got me interested now why?
    because my hw monitor says this wtf
    [​IMG]
    mah i trust my multi meter :D it says the same as all of my other testin stuff
    oh and my multimeter is the n56fu monitor with a usb output sadly no optical isolation:wtf::shadedshu

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page