1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i cant get windows 7 to install please help

Discussion in 'General Software' started by saverio, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. saverio New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a mdg computer d915gav motherboard 3.0 ghz dual core proc 1 gigz ram 256 gig hdd
    and an ati 512 mag video card and running xp pro sp2 and i cant get windows 7 to install i instaled windows 7 on my laptop and it works fine but wont even run on the mdg computer specs are


    Intel 915 G
    Compatible Processors Intel Pentium 4, Intel Celeron D
    Front Side Bus Speed 800 MHz
    Technical Features
    Integrated Input/Output Ports USB 2.0 x 8 • Serial Port x 1 • RJ45 Lan Port x 1 • PS/2 Mouse x 1 • PS/2 Keyboard x 1 • Parallel Port (ECP/EPP/SPP) x 1 • Floppy Port x 1
    Expansion Slots PCI Express x16 x 1 • PCI x 4 • PCI Express x1 x 2
    Storage Controller Type(s) DMA/ATA-100 (Ultra) x 1, Serial ATA x 4
    South Bridge Chip Intel ICH6
    Processor
    Socket Type Socket LGA775
    Max supported CPUs qty 1
    Memory
    Memory Type DDR SDRAM
    Number of Memory Slots 4 x 184 Pin DIMMs
    Supported RAM speeds 400 MHz • 333 MHz
    Max Supported RAM 4 GB
    Audio / Video
    Audio Output Line Out
    Integrated Audio Realtek ALC860
    Audio Input Microphone Jack • 1 x Line In
    Video Out Ports 15 Pin D-Sub VGA port x 1
    On Board Graphic Processor Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900
    Communication
    Networking Type Ethernet, Fast Ethernet
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2010
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,468 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,009
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    please fill out your system specs on the UserCP.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. saverio New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i could use any help i can get
  4. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    I had the same problem, what i had to do in the end was run the install from inside windows and point it at the drive i wanted the OS on and included updates, and it worked.

    Still unsure why it didnt work from disk at startup
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    You can't get any, start by telling why you can't install it, does it give some error? Does it hang at some point? Unless you give some useful information my theory is that killer bees are draining power from your CPU in order to resurrect their dinosaur god.

    What I was able to do, is move this thread to the right forum.
    Mussels says thanks.
  6. saverio New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i get an error when i try to install windows 7 from xp and if i try from boot up my computer just restarts over and over
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    be more specific if you can.

    we need hardware info as well as the error.

    i can tell you most of my OS install problems have been caused by bad dvd/cd drive, bad ide/sata cable, bad OC, or bad instal dvd/cd.
  8. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    I had an issue when i installed on our older laptop. I was trying to install 64bit and it kept erroring. I installed 32bit and it was fine. you might try that.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page