1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I got some new toys....

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ben Clarke, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    ... and I like them :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Installing later... hopefully they work :D
     
  2. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,984 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Florida, US
    w00t nice, can't w8 to see some benchies
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    Need to get a handle on those specs and get rid of the I want an ASUS mobo...lol

    Congratz on the new goodies
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    For some reason I really like the board layout of the P35A.....neat.

    Here's wishing Ben good luck installing it!
     
  5. Duxx Guest

    I was sitting here.. looking at this thread not knowing what you got and people commenting on how nice they were. I thought it was all a joke "oh look, i got some goodies' nothing," then the pictures loaded 3 minutes later. :D
    Grats mate!
     
  6. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yeah M8,
    They finally arrived.:toast:
    I hope you will enjoy your new stuff.:D
     
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK guys, question:

    All connected, fans spin Aux. power connected to GPU in the form of a molex to the board and 6-pin connector. 8-pin CPU power in, 24-pin main power in. Turn power on, fans spin, restart, few more times, then stays on. But nothing on screen. Reset CMOS, did nothing. Any suggestions?
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You already have the default BIOS, it's fresh from the box, no use resetting it. Check your connections, change the monitor from the DVI port you're now using to the next DVI port on the card. Make sure the molex to board is connected. If you're using a molex to PCIe 6pin converter, make sure you populate both the molices.
     
  9. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Wow, good present!
     
  10. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Nope. All connections secure, still restarts and no picture. No power to keyboard either.
     
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Start the system holding down Del key or F12

    Sure no power to keyboard? Is that a USB kbrd or PS/2. Plug in a PS/2 kbrd, keep pressing the capslock for 30 secs. if you find the LED not to be blinking, make sure the PC-speaker (that tiny speaker that connects to the motherboard) is connected....listen to the beepcode (if any) and let me know
     
  12. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Don't have a speaker, PS/2 keyboard that get's no power (it does when I plug it in, then stops). I'll try again. But the screen problem?
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Did you swap the DVI port to the next port on the gfx card?
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Aah....the 8 pin connector to the CPU....did you connect that 1234-5678 or 5678-1234 ?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    It'll only fit the one way.
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    you can detach the 8pin connector to two 4pin ones.....DON't try it

    Unplug all your HDD's and DVD drives and start. See if your mem modules are held properly.

    Still fails, unplug the thing leave it alone, maybe there's something you can't solve. Call in a techie. Better safe than sorry.
     
  17. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Turn it on and hold the power button down for thirty seconds, see if that helps. Check the ram, pop it out and put it back in. I hope you get it going. Also check the bottom of the board on your case, nothing is shorting out down there is it? I seen a board recently with some solder hanging low.
     
  18. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Power button did nothing. Hlding it for 4 seconds turns it off, and if I use the one on the motherboard, it makes a sound like an alarm (found out it does have one). But toher than that, no beeps at all when I turn it on.
     
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Try starting it with your old 7100GS card
     
  20. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    that's probably it, start up with your old card then flash the bios.
     
  21. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    do you have a 8 pin or 4 pin on your psu

    if you have 4 then it should be connected to the top 4 on the 8 pin on the mobo
     
  22. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    8pin. Tried with 7100, same.
     
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I'm not sure if there's something wrong with the BIOS. His keyboard isn't responding.

    Start the system with the 7100GS, no luck....see a techie.
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,975 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    WAIT a minute....which CPU are you using again??

    Clicky!
     
  25. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    E2140. Don't have any other S775 CPU's, threw them away.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page