1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I got the thermal compound, but there is still a black screen.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Franklinwallbrown, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    My friends computer still has a black screen, for those of you who remember. For those of you who don't...

    My friend fried the video card in his computer, then he bought a new one. So, like an idiot he takes his CPU out of the socket and lays it down in the bottom of the computer case. To make a long story short: I bent the hairs on the CPU back & I FOUND a new video card & bought thermal compound. I put the video card in, put the CPU back in, put thermal compound on the CPU & put back on the HSF. Then turned on the computer & it went to a black screen. What is wrong? It won't even go to BIOS.
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    maybe ESD'd the cpu?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    ESDed?
     
  4. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    unlikly actully if it was sitting without power, i have had CPU's laying on carpet and they dont die, heck i brushed my hair with an Athlon 1400B and tested it today in a board i found and it booted fine. Reset your bios, if that doesnt help take it to a bare system. It is likly if the video card died that it took the AGP/PCIe slot with it.
     
  5. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    very possible, i had one that fried the northbridge when the agp card shorted out and popped some capacitors. if its heatsink is removable it wouldnt hurt to look at the northbridge for signs of discoloration.
     
  6. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    thats right where i would start
     
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah I forgot ESD is not very effective against components with no charge. My uncle washes processors in the sink :laugh:

    On this though, I had a fried AGP port and didn't get any display. Took it to my uncles, tried a PCI video card, worked fine. New mobo time back then...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I agree, I think that the card took out its slot(PCIe/AGP).

    But just incase I would tear the computer down all the way, clear the cmos, and build it up again. I think someone had already said this though :)
     
  9. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Okay, well, I have homework, so, I'll do it later; but I'll keep you posted when I do. Thanks guys.
     
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Please do:)
     
  11. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,533 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Have you tried a PCI video card?
     
  12. Water Drop New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Not far from NYC
    That's an innovative use of an old Socket A/462 CPU. I guess I shouldn't have gotten rid of my Duron 700Mhz...:laugh:
     
  13. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    MSI Reminds You...
    - Always insert the memory modules into the GREEN slots first, and
    it is strongly recommended not to insert the memory modules into
    the PURPLE slots while the GREEN slots are left empty.

    I had the RAM in a green & purple slot. Would that make it have a black screen?

    A regular PCI card or PCIx16? 2.0? The video card is a Geforce 7900 that goes in a PCIex16 & it is in the first slot.
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    There's no such thing as PCIx16...
    By PCI we mean PCI, not PCI-E.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I haven't tried a PCI video card. In fact I can't because I don't have one, so...
     
  16. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
  17. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    tough call for idiot of the year award between him for cutting it, but well i'll cut him slack because he was only following his friends advice so the friend who suggested to do it like he knew what he was talking about has to be the biggest moron in the world.
     
  18. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I think he cut it wrong! lol

    I am trying to find the NB. untitled.GIF
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2008
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Its the chip in the pic that says nvidia on it.
     
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  20. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Okay, I talked to my friend and he told me what happened with his computer. He said that his video card fan stopped working (and what does he do?) and he kept playing games. Until one day his computer started wigging out and then he said it stopped working (big surprise).

    I am on my Grandmother's computer and I haven't checked the NB for discoloration and I believe I have to have my 600w PSU in his computer to run the 7900, because there is a 6 pin connector on the back of the video card that I am pretty sure needs to have power running to it. So, I have to put my PSU in his computer to try again. He also told me (as well as the MB manual) that the RAM was in the green slots before he took them out (to give to a friend).

    That's what I was thinking (because of the NB_Fan1), but I wasn't for sure.

    I'm trying to figure out how to remove the fan on top of the NB. I am also trying to upload a pic from my phone to show you the fan, but I'm having some trouble.
    It is sort of like this one, just a little bit different.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2008
  21. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well you dont have to remove the fan from the heatsink, they come off together as one piece. if it is removable it will have two pins holding it down from the sides (like the one in your picture) or a spring bar (metal tension clip)

    if you dont see either of those then i would leave it alone because the heatsink is glued in place and it takes very special care to remove or you can damage the board trying to get it off. you can do other things to diagnose if the board is bad and you dont need to remove that heatsink unless it was a convienient thing to do.

    by the way those tiny fans usually have itsy bitsy tiny screws under the fan blades, you have to turn them to get to the screws.
     
  22. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Well, I got it off. What color is it supposed to be? It's green & looks pretty normal to me (yet, I've only seen but a few chips & this is my 1st NB, I believe). Here is a pic. [​IMG]
     
  23. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    you got to clean it up to see, it will have a smooth polished finish of uniform color.

    all the ones i have seen are look like a nickel in color

    also look carefully at the traces of the motherboard (the little hairlike lines running to it) look for dark patches, the color should not change any.
     
  24. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I tried to clean it, but alcohol won't work. So, I don't know what to do.
    The silver thing is the NB, hu? Well, it looks pretty normal too. I seems to be all one color to me. I would assume that a discoloration would be somewhat noticeable & I'm not noticing anything, so...
     
  25. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well you have to clean it now anyway, you cant "mix" different pastes and you wouldnt want to if you could.

    i know its gooey but just use lots of paper towels wiping towards the center till its clean then finish with alcohol. same for the heatsink.

    temporarily you can just lay it back on with a drop of paste added just to try and see if you get it posting before you do all that cleaning, hate to work that much only to toss the board after.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page