1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i have a anti virus software called security tool and cant get rid of it

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Achilles1600, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    I somehow got this security tool, from the net and it keeps poping up, and wont let me open system restore, nore disk cleanup, and it's realy anoying, doe's any one know how i can get rid of this, and also it wont let me open download's, that iv downloaded. :mad:
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Download Malwarebytes. Profit.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  3. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    i did, but it wont even let me install it. :(
  4. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I take the hard drive out and slave to another computer then run malwarebytes.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Boot into Safe Mode.
    Install MalwareBytes.
    Run a Quick Scan.
    Reboot into Normal Mode.
    It should now look normal with the infections gone.
    Run a Full Scan with MalwareBytes just to be sure.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    I cant even install malwarebyte's, and also is there anything els i can do.?
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Do what I said. It should let you install and run MalwareBytes in Safe Mode.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,595 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    +1

    My sister caught this one a few times...there is a removal tool out there somewhere for this...it's a pretty common one, Malwarebytes + Boot into Safe Mode has worked every time on PC's I've had to repair.
  9. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Malwarebytes really isn't the best anti-virus. It's anti-malware. I use it mostly for detection, but not so much for removal.

    If you want the big guns, get combofix.
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  10. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    +1 to safe mode. You can also try renaming the .exe to get it to install; this has worked quite a few times for me in the past.

    I haven't met a fake antivirus yet that Malwarebytes hasn't been able to destroy.
  11. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I have. Far too often.
  12. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    Ok, i have did a system restore, and it seem's to be gone A.K.A security tool, :nutkick: should i still run a scan, from malwarebyte's. ?
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  13. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    I didnt use malwarebyte's, well i did but it didnt work, so i just did a system restore in safe mode instead.
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    I always go for the nuclear option with malware: format the hard drive and install Windows from scratch (or use a known clean image). This is 100% guaranteed to work every time and leaves no nagging doubts.

    Of course, make sure your data is backed up first... ;)
  15. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Combofix is last resort use it when all else fails.
    Right click on the malware bytes install file, go to properties and run it in compatibility mode for XP or Windows 2000. Then rename the setup file to turd.exe or something that doesn't contain the letters "av" or "mbam" or "antivirus" etc. This should make it work ;)
    After it's installed, right click the malware bytes executable and run THAT in compatibility mode and change the name too.
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    That is good that MalwareBytes isn't the best anti-virus, because it isn't intended to be an anti-virus.:D

    It is designed to be a detection and removal tool to be run alone, it does not replace a real anti-virus program. However, it is most certainly used for removal and usually does and extremely good job at it. However, it isn't 100%. I'd say it removes about 80% of the stuff I encounter. I always try it first since it is less invasive than ComboFix, and hence there is less chance of totally borking the computer.

    ComboFix should always be used as a last resort, right before a full format. The reason is, even the creator admits, that ComboFix will totally brick about 1 out of 100 machines forcing a reformat. So it should only be used as a lost resort before a reformat, because if it doesn't work you reformat the machine anyway, and if it bricks the machine you reformat anyway.

    I have also, but ComboFix should not be used first due to the relatively high risk of killing the Windows install.

    Do a full scan in MalwareBytes, of course updating Malwarebytes first.

    A system restore just removed the registry entries that start up the virus exe, but the actual file is still there and it will often come back pretty quickly unless you remove the actual virus files. MalwareBytes should do this.
    TeXBill says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,288 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  18. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    +1 good advice
    +1 Do what newtekie1 says and you should have no problems with it..
  19. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    640 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Exactly what I usually do/recommend.
  20. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    The way I do it is I 99& of the time know where the .exe is located(its my job) security tool runs off of an exe located in the appdata folder. Simply rename it, close it out go back to the folder and delete it (You can't delete it unless you've closed it out). Most of the time you have "leftovers" in which case I run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and it takes care of registry keys if there are any.
  21. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    This is a rougue antivirus..MALWARE...not a virus. Why would you choose and Virus removal tool to remove Malware when there is a tool for that??

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page