1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I have A Dell Poweredge.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by pinghq, Dec 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I am sitting on a Dell PowerEdge 1900. And am in need of a video card that will play new games. any one know of something that will go on this Motherboard. NO PCI-e

    OS: XP SP3 :p
    Motherboard : Dell PowerEdge 1900
    Motherboard Chip set: Intel Blackford 5000P
    System memory : 3328 MB (DDR2-667 Fully Buffered ECC DDR2 SDRAM)
    Cpu Type: 2x DualCore Intel Xeon 5160, 3000 MHz (9 x 333)

    more info:
    DMI Motherboard Manufacturer............ Dell Inc.
    DMI Motherboard Product.............. 0NF911
    DMI Motherboard Version ................... A01
    DMI Chassis Manufacturer.............. Dell Inc.
    DMI Chassis Serial Number .................... 8WNB9C1
     
  2. smiler3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Forget it that is a server machine and has no video upgradeability
     
  3. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    But I have gone this far...

    This lets me play and watch stuff. When i first Started using this Server Video was disabled and so was sound now its my day comp. So if anyone out there still believes in this Server please help me out.

    Display:
    Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 (Microsoft Corporation) (128 MB)
    3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
    Monitor Dell 2405FPW (Analog) [24" LCD] (T613358N2NGS)
     
  4. smiler3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Just a quick thought it does have a pci-e x8 slot so you might be able to use that
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  5. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    pci-e x8 is both pci and pci-e?
     
  6. smiler3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    No pci-e comes in x1, x2 ,x4 ,x8 ,x12 and x16 types.
    you have 2 choices, if your x8 slot has an open end it will physically accept a pci-e x16 card but work at x8 speed (still much faster than pci or agp) or get a x8 graphics card wich may be hard to find but i do believe theyre about.
    Check out this link it tells you all about your machine http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/pe1900/en/hom/html/install.htm
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  7. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [​IMG] So Big one under small black ones right?
     
  8. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [​IMG]

    Nvm looks like one of the small black ones are it but will a pci express card fit?
     
  9. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Cool i see I found a card with PCIe 1x too lol. Thanks alot. :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  10. smiler3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    You found a graphics card to fit in a x1 slot?
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  11. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Any good one know of good ones I can Buy?

    Not sure where to begin to find a decent one. :D?
     
  12. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  13. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  14. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    That would work but it's a workstation card which would give you crap performance.
    Please stop double posting, there's an edit button for a reason.
    The adapter should do the job if the case is large enough, you also need to bear in mind that the x8 slot will limit the bandwidth for the card.
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  15. smiler3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That card on tigerdirect should work but you need to make sure it has vga or dvi connections or you wont be able to connect your monitor and as for the x8 - x16 converter it most likely will work but will make the card slightly larger than standard.
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  16. smiler3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    pinghq says thanks.
  17. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    736 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    You could always cut out the end of one of those pcie slots to accept an 16x card. I did that in a Poweredge 2950 server that only had a 4x slot.... worked fine with the 9800GT I fit in there to fold 24/7.
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  18. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    178 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    so you know, that 2400 will just barely let you game...so if you get it, just be prepared to play at 800x600 or at most 1024x768

    the x8 slot should work just fine for x16 (at least i thought its physically the same slot) it would just run at x8

    then you could get a 4670 from ati and you would be good for some moderate gaming without spending too much
     
    pinghq says thanks.
  19. pinghq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sweet thx.
     
  20. davide New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hi all,
    you've been a kind of guide! i found a cheap dell poweredge 1900 and i tried to upgrade the graphic card... everybody say "dude, it's impossible" or "just an old low profile"... but i did it!

    i installed an ati radeon hd3470 512mb on a pci x4 (phisically x8) and a geforge gt 730 2gb on the pci x8 bay, i don't know why but win only starts in this configuration, the video signal is from the radeon.

    i installed the geforce drivers, win recognize the geforce output as second monitor, then i simply switched the primary/second monitor order. that's it!

    the only bad thing is that the radeon must be installed at all, or the result is the famous blank screen after bios check.

    Now i can play starcraft 2 hots with high graphic details with a noisy, old, 0€ paid server! and i don't even need a sound card because of the hdmi!

    i know this post is 5yo, but guys thank you anyway!

    davide
     
  21. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    774 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    507
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Welcome to TPU

    You should have started a new thread for this ! Rather than resurrecting and hijacking a 5 year old thread.

    Still

    Has your Dell got on board graphics as well as the
    ati radeon hd3470 512mb
    you also have a geforce gt 730 2gb

    first of all
    In order to help you we need to know the spec of this pc
    also
    ATI and Nvidia Mixed graphics dont play well with the drivers that's going to be a stability problem
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  22. davide New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thank you for reply!
    I don't need help, I simply post how I solved the problem for gpu upgrading on dell poweredge 1900... I do it just because it is impossible to find a solution on the web... If anyone else will do that and search on Google, will find this solution (trust me, there are guys who are looking for that).

    I have a dell poweredge 1900
    Factory mobo
    2x Intel Xeon 5050 3ghz
    8gb fully buffered Ecc ram 667
    It has got an integrated vga (16 or 32mb)...
    Not ready for rubbish yet!

    I turned it into a mid-performance regular desktop pc following the instructions I posted above.
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
  23. shmadul New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey could someone help me im getting the famous blank screen after bios check i tried to install a nvidia gt 720 in the pci e X 8 slot i have also tried the pci e x 4 slot and i have tried removing the drac 5 remote management card with no luck
    thanks
    Mason
     
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,048 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,738
    Location:
    Oregon
    Quit hijacking threads. Start a new one. Then in your first post list all your specs
     
    Aquinus and dorsetknob say thanks.
  25. shmadul New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i just need to know what im doing wrong
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page