1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I have a e6700 but really want a q6600

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by trt740, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I can get one for 279.00 shipped but can't find a reason to buy a q6600. This e6700 is very very fast. I'm on the fence what would you do keep the e6700 and get a better video card or get the quad for an extra 50.00 dollars. (sell the e6700 for 235.00 buy the q6600 for 279.00)
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2007
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    extra what?
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Better video card :).

    Although, id wait for something like the 2900 PRO to be released (looks promising).
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I like the new 8600 gts 512mb from evga as a bang for the buck 1400x900 gamer card. I also like the MSI Diamond 2600xt 512 mb DDR4 card but I have a sli motherboard.
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i would get better video card. FYI: I have a 7900GS i will sell if you want.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    better vc...
  8. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,629 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Tennessee
    q6600 is much faster, but your 3dmark score is going to raise more because of your video card.
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    get a better gfx card man, the cpu you have there is fine...
  10. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    I dont think that games and software in generall can benefit alot by an Quad-Core CPU but im sure they will in the near future....However in the near future better CPUs will be out there.....
  11. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,860 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    get a new video card your cpu fine
  12. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    I'd hold off for a few more months and not get either - atm we've got quad cores that aren't true quad cores, and DX10 cards that aren't full DX10 cards.

    Everything will change in a few months
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have a x800pro 256 seems to play most games still fairly well at lower resolutions. The evga 8600 gts 512mb sems okay . I'm looking at this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130286
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150238
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127303

    I also like this card but really cannot aford it because of the price before the rebate
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150171
    . the 8600 gts 512mb seems good it would only cost me after the rebate and a 20.00 discount about 180.00 shipped.
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Thx for the responses so far I knew this answer was a video card. I just wanted to bounce it off you guys. I even game a friend similar advice but wanted to confirm what I told him aswell.
  15. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I want the Intel Q6600 but you know :p.

    I'll get it along with my new motherboard and GTX.
  16. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Well this e6700 will run at 10x1333 or 3.333ghz at 1.26v which to me is very good. At 1.525v it will do 4.0ghz. It runs cool and is equal or very close to a e6850.
  17. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    At 1525v he will have an idle temp of almost 60 degrees and a load of 75 degrees.....I know cause i tried it with my E6600.
  18. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have a scythe Infinity and at 1.525v my chip never goes over 55c under orthos prime.
  19. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Weird...I have the same in push and pull config and although at 3400MHz i get 47-48 degrees under load when i get to 3900MHz i get 59 idle and 72 under load. How did you manage to get 4000MHz and just 55 degrees under load ?
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Well the e6700 and e6600 are supposed to be slightly different. The e6700 is supposed to run slightly cooler to start with. Also I have a solid aluminum case with 5 120 mm fans ranging from 12c to 63 cf and a antech spot cooler plus, my motherboard has heatpipes all over it. Also it can depend on your power supply, and every chip runs differently some cooler and some hotter. I also have a higher multiplier than you do so my chip set voltage doesn't need to be raised as much to achieve a higher FSB as a e6600 would causing more heat.
  21. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    could be the 10x multiplier but 17 degrees ? As for the fans i have 5 4x8' & 1x12' fans blowing air in and 2x8' fans blowing air out so its quite cool.
  22. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Well when you add more voltage to your chipset, a chip that runs hotter to start with and that I have a x800pro and you have a 8800 gts heat pump .My x800 pro drawing less power (alot less) making my PSU cooler. I would say that would account for about 12 degrees. Plus my case is in a air conditioned basement so that helps aswell. Still I'm not sure what is causing the rest of the difference. Also my e6600 ran alot hotter than this chip. To get to 3.333 ghz I would need around 1.40v On this chip I need 1.26v. It also could be this is just a very rare chip because i'm now stable at 1.40v at 3.5ghz or 10x350 and I couldn't do that with my e6600. I would have taken a chipset voltage bump, this is at stock, and about 1.45v on the core. TAT temps are at 45c under max load.
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page