1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I have a memory leak :(

Discussion in 'General Software' started by p8ragon, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. p8ragon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi everyone,

    I'm currently running Windows 8 Pro (64 bit). I have 8gb of ram...and for some weird reason every so often I boot into windows and I get something like the picture shown above. On several cases it's gone even higher (95-98% usage)

    This seems like a memory leak to me...but I have no clue how to fix it. Tried reinstalling windows, but the issue persists!

    Any suggestions? :confused:

    Btw my specs are

    i5 3570k @ 4.75ghz
    MSI GD-65 gaming Z77a
    8gb ddr 3 ram
    gtx 570 sli
    850 watt cougar PSU
    120gb Vertex IV system hd
    1tb caviar black
    2tb seagate 7200

    Attached Files:

  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,793 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,327
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Well Goggle Chrome being opened 16,000 times is probably your problem.
    p8ragon says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,570 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    ^^^ LOL

    who likes google chrome!

    if you didnt do that, virus/malware scan straight away!

    edit: just saw the new install bit.

    when a fresh install of win8 it always want to know your favourite browser, theres an update for it. maybe thats conflicting.
  4. EiSFX

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    566 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Google chrome has always done that for some reason it is open multipul times even tho you only have it actully open once
  5. p8ragon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I just tried closing chrome...memory usage is still really frigging high :( (7.1gb/8gb)


    Now it's @ 90% O.O

    Attached Files:

  6. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    538 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Actually that looks just like mine for win8 x64. 6GB+ of memory in use just sitting at the desktop.
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,793 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,327
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Check your start up programs. Looks like you have a shit ton of crap loading that doesn't need to load at boot up.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Superfetch.
    AsRock says thanks.
  9. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Check your startup stuff with msconfig or just install CCleaner it's nicer looking and has some other features.
    it's not a problem with Win8 I've run it and never seen it do that.
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,749 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Location:
    US
    Just what i was thinking, and there is not need to worry about that.
  11. p8ragon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for all the replies :toast:

    But my system actually slows down when I hit 97~98% usage.

    Should I disable it?
  12. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Well the first thing you are going to have to do is make sure that windows is actually recognizing all of your memory at every boot (I find that ~75% memory usage sometimes and ~100% memory usage other times to be a bit fishy), and then make sure that it actually is superfetch using the memory, which means you are going to have to look through all of the running processes, not just the ones that are running under your user account.
  13. p8ragon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi everyone,

    I just tried disabling superfetch, and have seen my memory usage drop 10% :toast:

    But I'm still running @ 85% usage (6.8gb)

    Do you think it would help if I went out and bought another 8 gb of ram?
  14. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,808 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Install windows 7 dude.
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    There has to be something you're running or have configured that is doing this. My Win8 laptop with a few Chrome tabs open is using 50% of 4GB memory (38% with browser closed) and my Win7 desktop with more stuff running but 16GB RAM is at 23% right now. Have you disabled your pagefile or something?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,749 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Location:
    US
    Under the performance tab does it show how much ram is cached\available\free ?.
  17. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    1. Don't disable superfetch, that's stupid
    2. Something is fucking with your computer, get a list of every single process that's running on the computer (again, not just the ones that are running under your account)
    3. Make sure that you aren't running any software RAID programs, and make sure that you aren't running any RAMdisk programs
    4. No, I think you can safely assume that if it's sucking this much dry then it'll have no problem raping another 8GB
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    any chance most of your memory is used for disk cache? which is good and normal.

    "free" memory does nothing for you. if it's used as disk cache it will improve disk performance and when the memory is needed, it will immediately be moved away from cache to applications

    [​IMG]
    this really means 3422 MB memory available for applications to use
    puma99dk| says thanks.
  19. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    938 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
  20. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,292 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    is there away to add more memory for this option? bcs i am running with 16gigs and i still got 4435 free :roll:

    [​IMG]
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    the disk cache will only store files that have been read during the current session. it will not preemptively start caching files on its own. so my guess is that you only accessed 9 gb of files during your session.

    windows may also leave a bit of memory free. since i posted the screenshot i used the system, havent rebooted, and free memory is now at 350 mb

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page