1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I Have Question For You...

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by GAMERIG, Dec 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GAMERIG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi,

    I got 2XGTS 250 for SLI. :D Now My question is: I can install on MSI mainboard SLI with eXtreme Power Plus 460W Regular, it will be fine?

    I need your feedback asap, thanks in advance..
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,904
    No. Not enough PCI-E connectors, not enough Amps on the 12v rail and not enough watts.
  3. GAMERIG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, i ask you why i have not enough watts? I have extra PCIe adpater from evga gpu box .. I did read manual, there did not say anything power supply unit as requirement.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,904
    On Nvidia's website it states one card needs a 450W PSU. The wattage isn't really the important thing here though, that PSU doesn't provide enough amperage to run two cards. Look for a PSU that has a sufficient amount of PCI-E connectors and at least 20 amps per card on the 12v rail. So something with about 40 amps total.
    GAMERIG says thanks.
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    GAMERIG says thanks.
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Erocker is 100% correct here. If you try running this with your power supply, you will kill it and no telling whether you'll take other components with it. DON'T mess with less than adequate power supplies, and ALWAYS stick with quality brands.
    GAMERIG says thanks.
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    +1 on this but if you can get more (20+) on 12v rail the better
  8. GAMERIG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    erco, Yes Now I understanding this clearly. Thank you for specified detail clarification, i really really appreciated it.. :toast:

    John, AWESOME! thank you for recommend me tht PSU. I believe that Fry has Corsair power supplies for PC. but how about Cooler Master Silent 700w? Next week, I will get one from frys which is location near where i live. ;)

    Paul, thank for save me from tons of headache... :toast:

    Yeah, how can i get more 20+ on 12v?


    thanks for replied my post, quickly.. ;)
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    The corsair tx650 has 50amps for the 12v rail. The tx750 which I have, has 60amps. Trust me, it is sufficient!
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
  11. GAMERIG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I am lazy to go frys tonight. however I will pick it up at frys next week. I check frys site and I have very diffcult to decision which is best psu:

    TX750- $119.99
    TX650- $109.99

    I can afford those..

    Mm, Should I go with TX750w?

    I need your help!

    Thanks in advance..
  12. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    No reason not to go with the TX750W if it's only $10 more. Get it and it will serve you well for years to come.
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I love my tx750, it's a beast! It should run 2 gtx285s no problem. Possibly even 2 gtx295s! Edit: it supports 4 8 pin video connectors, you can plug anything in!
  14. GAMERIG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Joe, Ha, thats true... thank for responses me back quick..

    I already decide to go with the TX750W. I can't wait to install my sweet 2X GTS 250 SLI on my rig, when getta the TX750W before xmas. ;)
  15. GAMERIG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Moderator, please this is lock up asap, because i already solved with my decision. smile thank you very much!
    erocker says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page