1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i have some space on BOB server...

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by a111087, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    Well, as title says, I have like 50MB on our school BOB server and I want to do a simple website there.
    I did try to install local server on my PC at home (with something like EasyPHP). And I was able to set up SQL database and MiniBB forum. It took me a few hours too figure out how, but now all is working fine.
    The problem is that I don't know how to do the same thing on BOB server. They say that you can do pages with PHP, but when I try to use view page with PHP code in it, browser either ignores code or simply shows the source code of file - meaning PHP code isn't being executed.

    I'm lost. I don't know how to go about "installing" PHP and SQL on that server when all access I got is access to my files via FTP.
    You can take a look at my current home page http://bob.ivytech.edu/~adyagiler/thing.php
    if you will also take a look at that page's source code, you will see my attempt at PHP coding. I'm 100% know that this code is without errors, but you need "something else" to execute it... So, what am I missing? :confused:
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I have never used PHP before. A quick look at PHP syntax and it looks like you screwed up!

    Code:
    <? echo "checking PHP" ?>
    <?php
    echo "working";
    ?>
    
    
    Looks like you forgot to make the first tag <?php. So corrected it would be:

    Code:
    <?[COLOR="Red"]php [/COLOR]echo "checking PHP" ?>
    <?php
    echo "working";
    ?>
    
    
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    O whoops I just figured it out!

  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    ^ the problem is, it makes no difference... (still doesn't work)
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,270 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Not much you can do on your end if source code is being displayed, it indicates that php is either not installed or misconfigured. Ask yer admin.
  6. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    yeah, i asked them, but they are slow to respond, so i thought i would ask you guys

    Well, i will let you know if i have anything new

    \/ .php4 and 5 don't do anything either
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,270 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Bribes work wonders on admins :)

    Long shot, but I thought of a third choice if you wanted to try something while waiting: make test.php4, and test.php5 files, put in an echo or whatever, and see if either of them work.

    Normally just ".php" is used, though sometimes you'll find multi-version setups that make you specify.
  8. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    it took them over an hour to ask me if file had php extension
  9. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    ... The server is not rendering the php code. Even on index.php (which is his minibb board).

    The server does not support PHP at this time go ask the admins in person.
  10. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    I wish I could ask them in person. I'm taking classes online, so e-mail is the only way (they don't even give me a phone number, probably afraid that i will abuse it :roll:).
    By the way, while we are on topic of miniBB, i think the whole miniBB forum thing isn't going to work anyway, since mySQL isn't supported either (this time, it's officially not supported). But i found another very nice little chat, but it still requires PHP support, so i will not drop this case until i get it to work. This school project costs 250 point! :laugh: (... thats is a lot of points in that class)
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,983 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,091
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The server definitely isn't parsing the PHP code. Something is wrong server-side. If that server doesn't have PHP installed, best sticking to HTML.

    The standard for testing PHP is:
    Code:
    <?php echo phpinfo(); ?>
    It will tell you what version of PHP is installed (if any), what extensions are installed, etc.
    a111087 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    well, here is that i got from admin
    :shadedshu - is all i have to say

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page