1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I just got my Corsair HX850W PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JackAttack, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I just got my Corsair HX850W PSU and tried to power it up to see the 140mm fan work. Hmmm...nothing. Fan won't power up. Granted, it is not hooked up to a mobo or anything, it's just sitting on the workbench. But the thing acts as if it's dead.
    Is this normal? I am guessing the fan sucks air into the unit, cools the internals and then exhausts the hot air out the back of the unit. Maybe the PSU "has" to be hooked up to a mobo to work?
    The fan is probably 12v and that's why it doesn't come on...

    By the way, I got my CM HAF 932 this morning - what a rig, it's an animal.
    Don't forget, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, I love the thing.
    UPS damaged the box during shipping, I was worried. But I inspected the case closely and all is perfect.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Location:
    London, UK
    how are you powering it up without a mobo?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,074 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,674
    Location:
    04578
    fans have molex connectors that would be my guess in terms of how he tried to power the fans
  4. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,241 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    The psu has to be plugged into a motherboard to recieve the "power good" signal, or it won't power up. You can short 2 of the mobo connector pins together to do the same thing, don't remember which.
    More than 25k PPD
  5. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I mean I just plugged the PSU into the 110v wall socket and turned it on.
    I expected to see the fan work, assuming it was a 110v fan.
    I have another real old 90 watt PSU that does indeed turn on its fan when powered by 110v., that's what threw me off.

    I just called Corsair Tech Support and the told me all is normal, it will not power up unless I hook it to a mobo.
    So no worries. I have a 7 YEAR warranty anyhow. Wow, that's nice to know, thats a long time.
    Glad I went with this PSU, thanks to the guys here at TPU for pointing me in the direction.
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    You can jump the power supply on by connecting two of the connections on the 24 pin connector. Google search will pull up some things, but should be black and green wire. That should turn on the fan.
  7. smee

    smee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    278 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    East Bay CA, inside a Rubiks Cube...
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Corsiar tech support site gives instructions for using a paper clip to jump start the psu. Check there first as those instructions are from the manufacture.
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,623 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah you need to jump it. Great PSU. The POS site wont load again now but over at XS is a thread by chew* about this unit with pics of it driving four 4870X2s + all kinds of other crap without breaking a sweat on the 12V rail.
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Location:
    London, UK
    i thought so ;) quality is usually not DOA :roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,155 (13.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    You don't need to jump anything. Hook it up to your system and power it on.
  12. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Wish I could but I have NO system to hook it up to yet. :laugh:

    This is a total new build. I'm waiting for more "extra" play money to flow into my pocket for a mobo, cpu and such.

    I'm in the planning stages right now.

    Thinking about the right mobo at the moment.
    I have a couple in mind...

    Gigabyte X58A-UD7 or Asus P6T

    Not sure yet which one I want. Whadda you guys think?

    Definately going with an Intel i7 cpu though.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    PSU is probably fin. Take the 24pin mobo connector, and stick a paper clip between any green wire and a black wire. The PSU will fire right up.
  14. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,785 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Haha, so the C130 finally landed in your zone eh? I'd go with the Gb one, but that's due to personal preference. I only like asus rog boards, otherwise, they look meh! ;)
  15. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yea, it landed all right...lol. And it IS big, no doubt, but not as big as I was expecting. It already love it and don't even have parts in it.
    So you like the GB one, eh. Well, I am seriously considering it.
    It will be a month or so before I spring for it though.
  16. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,785 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Well I hope your savings for your new build goes to plan! if I were you, I'd be biting my nails! I'm so impatient, especially with hardware!
    JackAttack says thanks.
  17. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,473 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    second that!!!!
  18. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    1-22-10 OK, I got the PSU powered up with an old mobo I had laying around...IT WORKS !!!
    Now some people may say I've got the PSU installed upside down.
    Thats the way I wanted it.
    It has a fan on the top of the unit (blow through design-air in on top, exhaust out the back)
    I want to suck COOL air into the unit, not warm air from inside the case.
    Plus mounting it this way gets the cable harness closer to the mobo tray, for a cleaner look.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  19. smee

    smee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    278 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    East Bay CA, inside a Rubiks Cube...
    I'll be picking up one of these PSU's to replace my possibly dying Antec 850W. :-]
  20. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I really want a Corsair PSU, but my OCZ has been good to me for over two years.

    But I will be going with a Corsair PSU after i get my i7 920 and some RAM. They look to good to pass up.
  21. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    No.. that's actually the way it's designed to be installed, hence the logo being the right way up ;)
    Enjoy it mate. It's one of the most efficient PSUs on the market :respect:
  22. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I wish my TX650W didn't randomly die on me, kinda pissed I have to pay expensive shipping to get it repaired though but I replaced it with a HX650W in the end, hopefully this won't break for at least a year.
  23. smee

    smee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    278 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    East Bay CA, inside a Rubiks Cube...
    Whoa, I had the same PSU randomly die as well....took the disc drive and the motherboard with it.. xD
    Corsair is down the street though, so I took it in and walked out with a new one. Running strong to this day!
  24. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Yeah, I have to ship mine to Almere in the Netherlands, will cost me €44 ($62) As solid as the PSU is, it aint light :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page