1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i need a new gfx card WITH HDMI, but which one?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by minstreless, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i need a new gfx card, an upgrade from my current card: SAPPHIRE Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1GB Toxic Edition.

    it shouldn't be that much more expensive than the Toxic-card AND IT MUST HAVE HDMI!

    MY PC SPECS:
    - AMD PHENOM II X3 720 2.8GHZ
    - GIGABYTE MOTHERBOARD GA-MA790X-UD4 AMD790X
    - KINGSTON ValueR. DDR2 PC6400 4096MB
    - SAPPHIRE Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1GB Toxic Edition
    - THERMALTAKE 700W

    any suggestions? :)
     
  2. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    You mean, you wanna upgrade or will settle with the same series, just with one which has hdmi?
     
  3. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Same series (Radeon) would be nice, but it MUST have HDMI, and it would be preferable IF it'd be an upgrade from my current card.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    They make DVi to HDMI adapters and they usually come with the cards. The only logical upgrade I can see without breaking the bank is a HD 5850.
     
  5. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I do have an adapter.. but works that about as good as a direct connection to HDMI then..?
     
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Why MUST it have HDMI? For audio? If not then the adapter will do you fine.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    Yes, it works exactly the same audio and all. :)
     
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Oops; erocker-pwned.

    *Runs and hides in the corner*

    :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page