1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need a new monitor...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by FordGT90Concept, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Ye ol' 17" CRT died about a month ago. I already bought a StarTech SV431DDUSB KVM with DVI-D and VGA support (digital monitors look best with a digital signal and PS/2 is going away anyway :(). Some time this month, I am going to be replacing monitor...

    Requirements:
    1. Must be great for gaming and software development.
    2. Cabinet no wider than 26" and must be black.
    3. If it has an ATSC tuner, remote, or speakers, they won't be used.
    4. Approximately $300 USD budget, prefer ordering it from Amazon or Newegg unless some other retailer has a great deal.
    5. Must be able to auto-switch between DVI-D and VGA sources in order to work with my new KVM.
    6. The longer the manufacturer warranty, the better.
    7. Must be able to tilt; swivel and height adjustments aren't necessary.
    8. I will not use any built in USB or HDMI capabilities.
    9. If it doesn't include a male-male VGA cable, I'll have to factor in the purchase price of a 6' VGA cable. I already have good quality DVI-D male-male cables.

    I was looking at the Samsung T240 but I'm wary of all the mediocre/poor reviews it got.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,717 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Preferred/min resolution?
     
  3. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,879 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Wow, that looks like a nice monitor. e-IPS panel, eh?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  7. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  8. audiotranceable

    audiotranceable New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    351 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Westminster, B.C
    that sucks your crt died. I guess when you get your LCD you will see some input lag. Good luck anyway
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Any advantage/disadvantage of that over the Samsung T240 (except price)?


    Blah, the ATSC tuner version is cheaper than the standard monitor. Why must they torment me? The only reservations I have about T240HD over T240 is that a) I'll never use the ATSC tuner/speakers and b) it would be more inclined to autoselect the wrong source with my complex KVM. I think, in my situation, simpiler will pay for itself.


    Very few manufacturers (if any) still make CRTs. I really don't have a choice unless I go refurb. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I think Samsung's are overrated. They are nice, but ASUS monitor's are just as good. Unless you're big into photography or video editing, or are simply a monitor nut, the ASUS monitor would do just fine. Read what the buyers report, also check out reviews. It's no worse/better than the Samsung, but the price is certainly nice.

    If you are big on refresh rates, look into 120Hz LCD's.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824116402&Tpk=120hz lcd
    http://www.samsung.com/us/news/newsRead.do?news_seq=11954&page=1

    You will be limited to 1680x1050 though. If I had the money, I'd get a 24" Apple Cinema display. If you've never seen one in action, don't dare leave a negative comment about them. They are wonderful displays. :) . If your big into quality, don't forget about Dell's UltraSharp series. Those are very nice too.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,717 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    The irony is the Dell 2405FPW was the same panel as the apple. I don't know about the 2408FPW, but I'm staring at one right now.

    Funny thing is I miss my Samsung T260HD thats at home - I'm in love with that monitor, despite the fact it's a TN panel with a response time that's not as good as this Dell.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The T260 has possibility--it's not that much more expensive than the T240 but again, HD is cheaper than non-HD. How well does that T260HD auto-detect a source? If you plug in a DVI and VGA cable to the monitor, does it automatically switch to the one that is plugged in if you unplug the other?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,454 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,263
    i just got the new samsung 2494HM 24 inch model and it is way better than that 240 model out there and a few bucks cheaper. you may wanna check it out in person though.

    note: this is a 1080p panel so not 1920x1200
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  14. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    You bet me to it, I have this monitor and LOVE IT!!! :rockout:

    My favs are samsung or asus, never had a problem either one. Only replace them due monitor size ;) Went from LCD 17" Samsung to Westington LCD TV27" to Asus LCD 24" 1080p. 24" is alot easier on the eyes :p
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    What changed besides the resolution? Anything noteworthy?


    Can you try what I said here:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1619957&postcount=12

    If the Asus can quickly switch between VGA and D-Sub without putting up any fuss, it looks like the better route to go...


    One advanatage of the T240/T260 over the Asus is that the Samsung displays have an "Auto Source" button to make it search for a new source. Obviously, if the Asus autmoatically detects a source great, there's no reason for it. I can't find anything that says whether or not the 2494HM has that button.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,454 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,263
    the 2494hm indeed has the source button which auto checks. as far as what else is different, it is really up to your personal screen preference. the 1080p has a better pixel pitch because of the slightly smaller res but that is normal since all lcd manufacturers use the same tech in the models of the same size.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Could you try DVI-D + VGA on that monitor to see if it automatically detects which source actually has a signal? That's really my biggest concern because I probably use my KVM 10 times on the average day and having to push an extra button on the monitor everytime I switch will be annoying.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,165
    I have a 2493HM and it will detect the correct port that has a signal if Auto-source is on.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    So, to clarify: if the monitor is set to auto, and it is currently getting a signal via analog, if you were to unplug the analog cable leaving the DVI cable in, it will automatically switch over? Likewise, if you were to unplug the DVI cable and plug the VGA cable in, it will switch back to analog? That's effectively what the KVM will be doing.

    The other question would be what resolutions do games usually support? 1920x1080 or 1920x1200?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN

    Yes the ASUS monitor has the auto source, by default it's on. You can change this setting in the menu.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,732 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    IA, USA
    But the question is, will it correctly auto-source on KVM switch--any of them?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    On the KVM I use you have to press the monitor switch as well. Of course you could put up with an analogue signal from both pcs or buy a DVI KVM switch !
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,454 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,263
    unfortunately i think the only way you will know for sure is to try it out :ohwell:
     
  24. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I can't stand TN displays because of viewing angles and color distortion (vertical or horizontal). The Dell eIPS has nearly 180 degrees, while all TN claim only 160-170 and that is after the manufacturers changed the rules how that angle is measured. With large sizes (above 20") the small viewing angle will mess up the color fidelity in the edges of the screen. Furthermore, it will change colors even more when you change the distance to the monitor, or rotate in portrait. My best example would be to go to Fry's or BB and look at the rows of monitors on an angle- all gray. Watch the video closely in the link I posted- you will see how the color stays the same while the monitor is being rotated, regardless of the angle. Good luck getting that from TN.
    Check this out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dell_monitors
    Unfortunately E248WFP is 6-bit TN.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,165
    I will double check the auto-source, but yes I do believe it will atomatically select where there is a signal.

    All games today pretty much support 1920x1080 (16:9) and 1920x1200 (16:10). I really haven't run into anything that doesn't.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page