1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i need a program to test how much my +12v drops when playing a game

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Live OR Die, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    need a program to see if my +12v rail drops

    is 11.65 on a +12v rail to low
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2007
  2. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    dude..... asus probe...

    specific for asus mobos, will give you actual reading
     
  3. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    there should be a record option with the asus probe that will record your temps fans and voltages. i use it all the time when it is hot out to make sure nothing is getting too hot.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,169 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,439
    Asus probe is quite unreliable for accurate readings.

    Just get a voltmeter/digital multimeter dude, for $10-$20 you can have accurate readings, that dont rely on software.
     
  5. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    but a multimeter is NO GOOD is your card is running on an isolated rail if measuring from another... you would have to go to the back power connector pins on the card with the multimeter

    but that would sort ya out
     
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    thanks will download asus pc probe
     
  7. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    DMM is the best option... software is not really accurate
     
  8. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Buy a DMM. It will come handy many times afterwards...
    An isolated rail for the GFX card, you say?
    Then tell me how would Asus Probe measure it if it actually was an isolated rail for the GFX? ;)
     
  9. Jonnycat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    331 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    PNW
    You can get a multimeter cheap, like this one, and you can use it for a lot of other things, too.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,169 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,439

    Well yes... his question never mentioned the video card rail, so no need to go off the rails on that one.

    If he wants to measure the power to his video card, he does need to measure that cable in particular, but its also tricky as some card power comes from the mobo and you cant measure that voltage.
     
  11. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,106 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    Shouldn't need to measure that voltage as the mobo should have that locked down tight :)
     
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    my +12V rail is only 11.65 thats isn't right is it and its not the PSU would it be my MB
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,106 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    11.65 would probably be giving you stability issues.

    If you're reading this from the mobo, just pretend it doesn't exist because its no legitimate indication of anything other than your mobo has a "sensor".

    If thats AsusProbe, its reading the exact same sensor speed fan is reading.

    2 programs reading an innaccurate probe will yield the exact same result. An inaccurate reading.
     
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    im reading it from the bios and speed fan the same reading what would make it that low
     
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,106 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    PSU voltages droop that low when the PSU is incapapble of handling your system load.

    You look to have a 750w toughpower. I would STRONGLY suggest locating and using a digital multimeter to double check.


    Is there anyone on this forum NOT having problems with a TT Toughpower?

    I thought TT was shaping up, but I guess they're still a steamy heap when it comes to items that matter :shadedshu
     
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    iv have tried 3 new power PSU 2 750w and a 800 didn't help and 11.65v is in the bios when windows is running still show the same
     
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,106 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Means the sensor isn't accurate. Don't use it. period.
     
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    so i shouldn't use the mb
     
  19. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    nah, your psu is spot on mate, if you check it with a DMM, you'll see it's almost bang on 12v. They're good PSU's ;)

    Aparently my 12v rail is 10.03v on my P5K Deluxe :laugh:
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    thanks this program called PC Wizard 2007 from the people how made cpu z reads it as 13.05v well the hell is that reading it from?
     
  21. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    hopefully not the vcore :roll:
     
  22. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,106 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Whatever it can find.

    Its not even worth time trying to get them to work, wondering why they don't work, or even caring they exist, really.
     
  23. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    well pc wizrard 2007 is useing sensor ITE IT8718F and speed fan is useing this one IT8712F and EVEREST reads from the same one as pc wizrard 2007 so how dose that work out? and pc wizrard 2007 is the only one that looks right can some one test pc wizrard 2007 on there system and post back thanks
     
  24. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,106 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Different programs may translate the 'reading" recieved from these sensorys a little bit differently.

    Regardless it shouldn't matter as neither way are accurate.
     
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    thanks but if it is that low that maybe why i can't oc over 1360 fsb with out it crashing
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page