1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] I need screen Dell Insipiron 640M

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Krazy Owl, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hi.

    I am going to school soon after many years and I don't have much money. I still have a Dell Inspiron 640M around here but with buzzing screen. I changed the inverter but I don't have much money for a screen and the ones on E-bay are not in my budget.

    The screen is 14.1" and can be in some other models. If a generous donator can sell me one really cheap it could help me more than ever.

    Thank you for reading.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2012
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    good luck :toast:
     
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Thank you and I know the chances are extremely low. Before it was me who builded up computers and gave it to poor people. Now I'm in this situation. hehehe
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    Ygpm
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    ygpm
     
  6. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    I have a random 1024x768 screen from an old dell laptop if you want that :3
     
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Thread updated to make it legal in the section. ;)
    Let us know if you find one, Krazy.

    What's the screen's resolution and finish (glossy, matte)?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  8. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
  9. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    What do you mean by "buzzing screen" sounds like power issue
     
  10. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    inverter is new.
     
  11. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Does it make an audible "buzzing" sound? Could be a bad cap...
     
  12. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    There's no cap in a LCD laptop screen man.
     
  13. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    There are several caps (and inductors hence LC resonant filter..) that filter the pwm output from the inverter control circuits of the CCFL.
     
  14. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    there is none on this model. Might be the tube itself. it's clearly the lower left corner. thx anyway.
     
  15. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Trying to help. If there is an audible "buzzing" sound it would be a power supply issue. There are capacitors as well as inductors in the power supply circuitry. A few years back Toshiba had a noise issue that was related to unglued cores in series inductors. Even a high-frequency PWM inductor can resonate in the audible band if the fundamental frequency is an even multiple of the resulting noise.
     
  16. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Screen as been unbolterd and all laptop is torn appart. Clearly from a place where there is NONE power going there. Even the screen has been splitted to make sure about what you tell me.
     
  17. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    "buzzing" noise is coming from the inverter board, or motherboard?
    also what is the LCD model #? I have an inspiron LCD just sitting.
     
  18. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Inverter is new i told it twice in this post. 2 post ago i said its from lower screen itself. Nevermind man. Have a good nigt.
     
  19. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    did you power up the CCFL with an external inverter (PC lighting) Could be the tube.
     
  20. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Found out it's the CCFL light itself that start to go out. Making the same buzing sound as a neon light burning slowly. i will try to order one in case it solve my problem.
     
  21. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    I have a dell insprion 1100, would that work?
     
  22. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I don't think so. the Dell 640M is widescreen and the 1100 is more square.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page