1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need some more single GPU powa! And no, not a 690.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by 1ceTr0n, Dec 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Allrighty, need some suggestions on how to go about this. Lately iv'e been seeing signs that my evga GTX 670 FTW is gonna have a hard time keeping what I feel are acceptable framerates on some of my current and future games, namely Metro 2033, Skyrim visual mods, Far Cry 3 *cough* Crysis 3 and whatever comes down the road. I run at 1920x1200 with no AA In my games but even with my adaptive Vysnic, my 670 FTW is having issues maintaining 60fps at times in my games and I figured I might as well sell it and get most of my money back and put a top of the line single GPU for some more breathing room.

    I've got a Corsair AX860 Platinum so power won't be an issue for whatever I choose. However, I simply cannot stomache the cost of GTX 690, so that is not an option. I also have no desire to try my luck with SLI for a few reasons:

    1. Way to many horror stories of people having configuration/stability issues in games, especially F2P games like MechWarrior online which STILL doesn't have a working SLi profile

    2. SLI is basically unusable nightmare from what i've heard while playing older games like BF1942, Sim City 4, Oblivion, Fallout 3 and Homeworld that I still wanna be able to play without dealing with graphics card issues.

    3. I don't wanna spend the money on a second card

    4. I run a mATX board which will result in hot running SLI GPU's and I need my PCI-E slot for my sound card



    I'm also kinda tired of the noise and poor cooling of the reference cooler "blower" design of the 600 series, especially since I got my new HAF XB case, so I wanna get a faster GPU with a non reference fan cooler. I've tried tweaking the precision X fan profile left and right, but I just can't get the temps and the low noise that I want with it.


    That being said, i'm looking into options like the EVGA Signature 2 680 and maybe even going Asus with their freaking huge and badass looking DirectCU II cards. Either way, something with some more GPU ooompfh and quieter/cooling. So whats peoples take on either of this, especially experience wise.


    EVGA Superclocked, Signature 2 02G-P4-2687-KR GeF...

    [​IMG]


    ASUS GTX680-DC2T-2GD5 GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit ...

    [​IMG]
     
  2. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    You should be easily maxing everything, especially with no AA. There might be another part in your system to blame ?
     
  3. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,643 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Technically a 690 is only single card, not single GPU, but they're way too expensive for what you get anyway.

    Anyways, if you're stuck on wanting a 680, I'll bow out on suggestions, because you're seriously limiting yourself to a card that is nowhere near best bang for buck in a single GPU setup.
     
  4. gilbert_sarip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    in my opinion i would get the ASUS GTX 680 DCII or a MSI 680 Power edition
     
  5. Ralfies

    Ralfies

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    95 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Norman, Oklahoma
    I'm very surprised that your 670 isn't cutting it at 1920x1200 with no AA. What are the rest of your specs? Is your 670 overclocked?

    In all honesty a 680 won't be that much faster than your 670. If you really want a more powerful/futureproof card you might need to look into an oc'd 7970. Maybe one of the ridiculous custom models like the Vapor-X or Toxic. Otherwise you need to wait for 700/8000 series or consider SLI.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Right so a 670 isn't cutting it according to your opinion, you don't want multi-GPU so what can you do?

    For a start stop being such a bloody snob, you have a high end GPU infact it's the 2nd best GPU from your chosen manufacturer, if you have money to burn and don't mind spending $500+ for a 5-10% performance increase then by all means get a 680.

    The fact you know you have a high end GPU but you have decided to create this thread anyway speaks volumes, you're not a noob because you have mentioned your framerate being the reason you have created this thread leading me to believe you either must be seeking attention or you are just a moron with more sense than money who would spend $500 for such an incremental performance increase.

    If a GTX 670 isn't good enough then the chances are a GTX680/HD 7970 won't be either as you can reach those kind of performance levels with a 670 and overclocking, yes you will be able to overclock a 680/7970 aqs well but the performance will remain within 10% of what you already have at considerable expense.

    As an FYI there is no game my 7950 cannot max at acceptable framerates, even metro 2033 acheives 40FPS minimum, if you are saying you can tell the difference between 40 and 50FPS in metro 2033 and this is actually affecting your gameplay then you should get in touch with nasa who would be interested in your skills of noticing such a difference in framerate.

    I guess I'm just saying your post stinks of attention seeking and you obviously know what you are talking about since you know about multi-gpu configs and have ruled this out, so I think you are trolling. Sorry.
     
    EarthDog, Hellfire, Raw and 1 other person say thanks.
  7. TriggerWolf

    TriggerWolf

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    146 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    I second on the opinion that a 680 will not get you much better results than a 670. I saved myself a nice chunk of cash in getting a 670, because honestly, from the reviews I saw comparing the two, the extra 2~10% performance increase in the 680 was far from worth the 30% extra in the price.
     
  8. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    136 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Looking at his post history i think he has a i5 2500k @ 4.6 so shouldn't have a CPU bottleneck.

    Are you measuring or monitoring your FPS what does it drop to? maybe adaptive v sync is causing dips in your FPS.

    Are you on the latest drivers?
     
  9. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    Agree with those who've said that the GTX680 would only provide a minor increase in framerate but at a relatively higher cost. Simply not worth it, only real option is to go dual GPU, but since OP's dead set against it, tell me, what else is there to do? Sure, go with the GTX680 if OP wants to, but paying so much more for a minor increase in performance is plainly........badly thought out. My 2nd rig which initially had a single GTX670 for S3D gaming, I found that due to enabling S3D, framerate did suffer somewhat (using a passive Zalman ZM-M240W TriMon S3D monitor which hit performance by up to 20%). So, to ensure that I get the best S3D possible with my setup, I ponied up for a 2nd GTX670 and there's no game I can't max out with that setup.
     
  10. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Allrighty, well if nothing else I added a rather nice flame baiter troll into my ignore list from this thread.

    I'm gonna be looking into the Asus DirectCU II very closely as peoples overclocks on those sucks have been impressive. Sans upgrading my i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz, or getting a faster SSD then my Intel 520, I dunno what else could be holding my system back. Tried both beta and WHQL 31.70 drivers, I notice the framerate dips correspond while watching my GPU gadget show in my GPU core usage isn't maxed out when these framerate drops happen, seems to occur alot in MechWarrior Online and Borderlands 2
     
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,537 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    What are your acceptable frame rates? Honestly, we have similar performing systems except I got about 10-15% more gpu power with my 7970 and your slightly higher clocked 2500k, but still similar enough in peformance. If anything I am cpu bottlenecked not gpu bottlenecked in the games I play. Are you trying to play in 3d or at 120 hz? Honestly, I thought this was a troll thread at first but you seem serious enough.

    What is your frame rate threshhold? For most games 40fps is good for me. Some games, very few, I actually need 60 fps.

    Anyways.... a 680 is only 10% faster than your 670 by wizz's graphs. That really is not a whole lot. Maybe if your lucky 10 fps. It would be much much better to suffer through till next gen which is just a couple months away. I don't think a 680 overclocked to the max would even be enough for you.

    Your ssd is not holding you back at all. How low are you frame rate drops? Like to the 20's?

    Welcome to tpu by the way. You have kinda mentioned your rig but it is helpful for us to know your full specs. Then show of just below your username <----. You can fill those out in User CP ->System specs. User CP is the second option in the blue bar up top.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. EiSFX

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    570 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Personally i think buying anything is going to be a waste of money since you already have a really nice card that shouldn't be having any problems in ANY game you play and the FPS dips you notice I bet you like 100% that you only notice these dips cuz your constantly watching a performance monitor. If you weren't watching anything and just playing the game and paying attention to the game you wouldn't even notice any Dips in FPS. And really any FPS dips from like 35/40 to 60 FPS isn't even noticeable by the naked eye and shouldn't be anything to worry about. And with the cooler/noise issue you can easily save some money and just buy an aftermarket cooler and install it on to your card which will be alot quieter and will cool the card better.

    As of right now the price you pay for any card that is faster then the card you have right now isen't worth it since the performance gain you will get will be next to nothing compaired to the price you have to shell out just for that 5 to 10% speed increase.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  13. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Framerate drops and what is percieved to be "acceptable" differs from everyone is the real issue. What I may find annoying or unacceptable framerate drops others may not notice and or care about. And knock it off with the assumption i'm trolling, as we all know the main problem with assuming anything
     
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,537 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    I said "at first" I thought you were trolling. I also asked what your acceptable frame rates are, in different wording and more questions too.

    What is your acceptable frame rates?
    How low are your frame drops?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    your 670 should already be easily maxing out any thing out there,metro runs on crap on almost any system,only way to get acceptable frames maxxed out is with a multi gpu setup,you will gain 4-5 frames max from making this upgrade.
     
  16. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,643 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    It's hard to go by other's OC reports, for a few reasons. 1. Many don't say how extensively they've tested for stability. 2. Some bought first batch runs that may have higher binning, less leakage. 3. They may be talking about games that are totally different from some of the current ones, some of which have been spotty on optimization and known to cause problems with OC settings.

    I had my eye on an ASUS GPU when I was checking out the 660 Tis, but I found a review that made me worry about them a bit. It showed the ASUS OCing higher than the other 660 Ti cards in the test, but it didn't actually produce the best frame rate when the OCed cards were compared. In another similar review, that same ASUS model was shown to exhibit a wide fluctuation in frame rates.

    So there's a lot more to it than looking for the card that can achieve the highest clock speeds. It's all about end results in game and overall stability across several games.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  17. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125

    Just what i thought exactly, i have the same EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB and *cough* Far Cry 3 with no AA runs well beyond a dream, in fact I dint have to turn AA off to get 60Fps plus anyway don't have the game any more as its crap not my type of game.

    To be on topic your card should be fine.
     
  18. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    No current gen card will bring you a considerable improvement. So either go SLI or wait for the new cards.
     
    Capitan Harlock says thanks.
  19. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    What drivers are you using?,when is the last time you installed a fresh windows?
     
  20. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    stinks of attention seeking

    :QUOTE=NdMk2o1o;2809672]Right so a 670 isn't cutting it according to your opinion, you don't want multi-GPU so what can you do?

    For a start stop being such a bloody snob, you have a high end GPU infact it's the 2nd best GPU from your chosen manufacturer, if you have money to burn and don't mind spending $500+ for a 5-10% performance increase then by all means get a 680.

    The fact you know you have a high end GPU but you have decided to create this thread anyway speaks volumes, you're not a noob because you have mentioned your framerate being the reason you have created this thread leading me to believe you either must be seeking attention or you are just a moron with more sense than money who would spend $500 for such an incremental performance increase.

    If a GTX 670 isn't good enough then the chances are a GTX680/HD 7970 won't be either as you can reach those kind of performance levels with a 670 and overclocking, yes you will be able to overclock a 680/7970 aqs well but the performance will remain within 10% of what you already have at considerable expense.

    As an FYI there is no game my 7950 cannot max at acceptable framerates, even metro 2033 acheives 40FPS minimum, if you are saying you can tell the difference between 40 and 50FPS in metro 2033 and this is actually affecting your gameplay then you should get in touch with nasa who would be interested in your skills of noticing such a difference in framerate.

    I guess I'm just saying your post stinks of attention seeking and you obviously know what you are talking about since you know about multi-gpu configs and have ruled this out, so I think you are trolling. Sorry.[/QUOTE]

    What he said ...exactly.
    :ohwell: :laugh: :nutkick: :roll: :ohwell:

    :rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  21. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Add me to that list
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  22. Tonim89

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Juiz de Fora - MG / Brazil
    If you score 30 fps with your GTX 670, be prepared to get a HUGE 10% gain!!!!

    YOU WILL GET SOMETHING AROUND 3 FPS!!!!!! THAT'S AMAZING!!!!!!!
     
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,432 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,564
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Metro 2033 will run like shit on any system. I have 2 cards and heavily overclocked everything, and i STILL drop below 60fps on 1080p with everything maxed out. If you're not running AA and plain old 1200p gaming, then there is something WRONG with the system, not a mere "unacceptable gpu performance"
     
    toilet pepper says thanks.
  24. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    Metro 2033, like FC3, has some weird framerate spike issue I think. I see so many over at guru3d complaining about bad performance in FC3. Metro 2033 is either badly optimized, or is really quite demanding. I can play it maxed out, other than PhysX which is disabled, @1200P, and FR can dip badly. though, in all honesty, gameplay isn't badly affected as I see a mild judder or microstutter and it's smooth again. Here's my benchmark run, note I have pretty good average FR but the min FR can be pretty bad.
    [​IMG]
     
  25. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Spot on... :toast:
     
    Novulux says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page