1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need to buy something

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by u2konline, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I have money to burn agrrrrrr, so i have a few choices:

    A new PSU with sata connectors
    A PNY GT240 GDDR5
    A hand full of games, fear 2, etc
    replace my dual core with a i5 or E5300 or E5400
    i need to buy something, i am going crazy HAHAHHA
     
  2. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    First and foremost you need a new PSU, CPU, Mobo, and RAM. Then you can start thinking of a video card (something better than the 240) and games to go along with it.
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea you def need a new CPU for sure! i have a Pentium D 830 @ 4ghz on my HTPC and it plays 1080P great but its a huge bottleneck for my 9600GT
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    ^^ What DirectorC said. I'd start with the PSU and get the rest as you are able.
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    get the games and run them on your power rigs.
     
    u2konline says thanks.
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    LMAO
    Funny guy i see haha.
     
  7. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    ...

    *looks under the bed*

    Nope, no jokes there

    *opens up the closet*

    Hello? Any jokes in here? Nope

    *checks in the hamper*

    AAARGGHH!! *gets sucked into the hamper by the haha-monster*
     
    blkhogan says thanks.
  8. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    nah he's right. I remember all of your other troll threads... :shadedshu Running Crysis on what rig now?
     
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    The PSU is the foundation to your system, so you want to take care of that first. Though I KNOW you've heard that before in very similar threads.

    UK, you have been given more ignored advice than anyone, ever at TPU. There I said it. Now guys, please don't let this thread blow up. I'm short on patience this morning.
     
    95Viper, stinger608 and DirectorC say thanks.
  10. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I thought you had a quad core?
     
  11. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Wait a min. Paulieg, advice? I didn't ask for " that type of " Advice in this thread. I ask what should i buy, everyone is saying i need to buy a PSU, CPU, Mobo, and RAM?
    Um, you guys need to look at my system specs for both rigs:

    My dual core specs:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/DualCorePower

    My quad core specs:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/core2iv

    Look at the specs to the left . Pretty much all my games run either between 40-60 or 60 and up. I don't need to do any of the stuff that they are suggesting, my games run just fine. Now in the future i plan to replace this Dual core with a better Dual core, actually very soon. However, my games run just fine, and i never did ask for advice and i didn't want that type of advice in this thread, because that wasn't what i was asking. :laugh: Just goes back to what i said before in the past, you don't need the latest hardware to game well.

    On another note, Binge is the only person to have taken this thread seriously, so i am just going to buy some games and most likely a GT240 GDDR5 card and most likely a new PSU so i can use SATA on my dual core.

    See the links or link, yes i have one now :)
     
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm simply diffusing a situation in the making. Many of these similar threads of yours have gone to very bad places, your fault or not.

    Also, if you have new specs, you should add them to your system specs or everyone is going to assume that you are asking a ridiculous question, when it appears you are using a 300w generic power supply.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That whole system needs an overhaul. But as stated, start out with a good branded PSU and get a nice video card to go along with it for your gaming needs.

    But then again, you said that the majority of your games play at good frames per second with your current rig(surprisingly, unless were talkin old school games), so in that case pick up some more games and save your money to really build(or buy) a great rig.
     
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,485 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,170
    Location:
    Wyoming
    @ CDdude, As Paulie stated, I don't think his "system specs" are current.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,090 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It would be rather nice if you added them to your system specs rather than have us search through your youtube to find them. =\
     
  16. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    u2konline, I can't believe you'd sit there and laugh at me for my suggestions like I'm an asshole when you haven't updated your system specs to reflect your current configuration. I think very little of the space between your ears right now. Do us all a favor and go buy a Mac, then close this thread and ban yourself.
     
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    ahh, Didn't see that.
     
  18. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Judging from what i have see from his threads in the past, you shouldn't be surprised.

    But lets remember to stay ontopic. Or Paulieg will come back in full force.
     
  19. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Yeah I know what I said is a big INFRACT ME sign but honestly I feel like I was insulted first. Everyone knows u2konline is a trouble starter and I frankly think he needs to go. Seriously.

    As far as staying on topic, I now think he should buy the video card duh.
     
  20. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I see nothing about how much money you have to spend. What is your budget range "if your serious"? Are you set on Nvidia? Consider ATI?
     
  21. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    *Kant comes in*
    *Kant reads thread before any posts were made*
    *Kant leaves*
    *Kant comes back and sees a crapload of posts*
    *Kant makes a useless post (that will probably go ignored)*
    *Kant leaves*
     
    stinger608, 95Viper and blkhogan say thanks.
  22. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    EVERYONE WAIT A MIN AND HOLD UP

    #1 I fixed my system specs and added my secondary rig specs, so everything is clear now

    #2 Both of my rigs runs games and function just fine, well amazing. Now in the future, i do plan to replace my secondary rig with a better Dual core, or different one in general.

    #3 Lets not fight alright.

    #4 The main focus on this thread was just asking what should i buy out of the following that i have listed.

    #5 If you can't stay on topic, well don't bother replying, seriously. Don't blame me because you can't control yourself :laugh:
    .......................


    blkhogan: I support both ATI & Nvidia, and i plan on ending up with about 4 cards for both my rigs. I like buy video cards, i am kinda obsessed with them and besides its nice to have backups you know :)

    DirectorC: Thanks for trying to stay on topic, and yes i plan to buy the video card in the next hour or so, along with some games.
     
  23. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Are you looking for something around the price of the 240's?
    edit: I like collecting gfx also. I have 3 laying with in reach right now.
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    **ignores the rants**

    My vote goes for the games.
     
    u2konline says thanks.
  25. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I only shop at best buy. :rockout:
    The PNY GT240 is going to cost me 105 dollars. They have the Galaxy one which is slightly cheaper in stores, but it only has GDDR3, and well i want GDDR5. I never had a GDDR5 card before. I am thinking about buying a 5750, only if i replace my PSU. The XFX version i was thinking about buying also, but it won't fit in my case, i am guessing. So really at this moment all i have as a choice is the GT240, which is cool, because i was getting one anyways. I am going to best buy in a few mins, so i will check around a bit.
    :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page