1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need to error-check an HDD

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Eva01Master, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. Eva01Master

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Caracas/Venezuela.
    I've got an HDD which I would like to check for errors, simple tools like Windows ScanDisk say it's error free, also SMART says the same, but this drive still is having issues, so I would like help on how to check it for errors.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,007 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,399
    windows command prompt

    chkdsk C: /f /r

    change C: to drive letter of drive you want tested, see what it says. if it fails to scan the whole drive, consider the drive dead.
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,342 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    IA, USA
    What kind of issues?
    Eva01Master and Aquinus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,872 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,667
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    +1
    Eva01Master says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    In your specs it shows a WD drive and a Seagate drive... use the tools from the manufacturer, if you are looking for something other than Windows disk checking.

    SeaTools for your Seagate drive

    Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for your WD drives

    Also, if the drive is acting oddly... what errors are you getting? Any blue screens?
    Check in the "Event Viewer" under the "Administrative tools" to see if any drivers, services, or other items are causing trouble.
    Check your cables to be sure they are secure. You may want to try changing the drives data cable.

    Run a AV/Malware scan for grins and giggles.

    Backup any data (files) you need to keep.

    Here is a third party scanning program for drives, that I like: HDDScan – free HDD diagnostic utility

    Quote from their web page:
    HDDScan – free HDD diagnostic utility
    / Ver. 3.3 /
    HDDScan is a freeware utility for hard drive diagnostics (RAID arrays, Flash USB and SSD drives are also supported). The program can test storage device for errors (Bad-blocks and bad sectors), show S.M.A.R.T. attributes and change some HDD parameters such as AAM, APM, etc.
    HDDScan can be useful for performing the regular "health test" for your drive and predicting its degradation, so you will be able to prevent data loss and backup your files before you will have to contact the data recovery service.
    Additionally, software can be used as the hard disk temperature monitor and reading/writing benchmark – performance graph is displayed for every test.
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  6. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,070 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    336
    Location:
    Louisiana

    You can also use Stablebit Scanner free for 30 days: http://www.stablebit.com/Scanner It has one of the most thorough assessment and SMART monitoring abilities around, and you can have it do a detailed scan of every block and sector on your HDD too.

    It was originally developed for WHS2011 and Server Essentials 2012, but has since expanded to W7 and W8.
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  7. Eva01Master

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Caracas/Venezuela.
    PC freezes without any prior notice, whether I'm browsing the web, playing a game or doing nothing, from time to time everything just freezes and I have no choice but to manually restart it.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,007 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,399
    sounds like HDD or RAM, to me.


    possibly PSU too, actually.
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    HDTune will do a error scan and show you the actual bad clocks if any.. You checked the sata cable for good connection or even tried another ?..
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,071 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    ram or PSU honestly
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  11. Eva01Master

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Caracas/Venezuela.
    Yes, I've disassembled the PC and tried a few different configurations, changing processors, motherboards and memories, in fact, the only common factors are the HDD which I suspect is failing and also the PSU, which Mussels brought up to my attention.
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,342 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The symptom you described usually results from a critical component (HDD is not critical) halting. Everything the OS needs to catch a HDD error should already be in the memory.

    When it locks up, have you tried pressing (not holding) the power button? If your computer is set up to shutdown when the power button is pressed and you hear the computer successfully shut down (fans go off), that points to the GPU locking up.

    Have you gone into the BIOS immediately after restarting the computer to check the CPU temperatures? If the CPU overheats, it can cause the computer to lock up the way you described.

    Have you ran a memory test like memtestx86+? Did it find any errors? If it hasn't ran for over 8 hours, I'd call it inconclusive.

    The PSU is the most likely culprit.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,511
    Location:
    Florida
    Does your HDD light stay solid when this happens? In rare cases I have seen drives read good via tests and smart and be good platter wise but have failing controllers. This usually shows up as lockups and HDD activity lights also probably clicking. From my experience. sometimes smart doesnt read it.
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  14. Eva01Master

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Caracas/Venezuela.
    Hello, I've tried to press the power button without holding it, to no avail, it does nothing. Also, I've checked the temperatures, they're OK, below 50 degrees, I'll run a memory test, but as I said, this happened even with different memories, which by the way, were brand new.
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    Loosen the memory timings and undo any over clocking and see if it goes away.

    When i used to run my 6 WD HDD's keeping them under 45c was a must..
    Eva01Master says thanks.
  16. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    I have had hard drives do the same exact thing to me and I used HDTune on a SLOW scan to present any bad sectors. Quick scan usually comes up with nothing. I then used HDD Regenerator to reallocate the bad sectors if possible. Just a thought
    Eva01Master and Solaris17 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page