1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i need your help guys my cpu and my vcore1 is hot!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by raafat zedany, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. raafat zedany

    raafat zedany New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my specs is

    AMD FX 9370 @ stock speed!

    motherboard : Asus sabertooth 990FX R2.0

    Cpu cooler : corsair h100i @stock fans

    case coolermaster haf 922 ( 2 x fans 200mm + 2 x120mm ) cpu cooler fans in the top 120mm x2 )

    gpu asus r9 280x 3GB v2

    psu seasonic gold series x760

    idle -- cpu =46 c --- vcore 1 =56 c ---vcore2 =52 c

    this is when i play BF4 (20-30 minutes playing)

    [​IMG]



    prime95 test (only in 5min !)

    [​IMG]

    why ??
     
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I would get a 2nd opinion on those temps. I have a Sabertooth as well and in my case at least my CPU temp according to AI Suite is 10 degrees lower than it actually is.
     
  3. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    606 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
  4. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    i would probably try and see what occt says temps are running a short ~10 min test (large data set. auto threads)
    dont know what safe core temps are on that chip but google can probably tell you.
    occt will let you know what your voltages are too in case thats the issue.
     
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    I get similar results with AI Suite and my ASUS P9X79 Deluxe board

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well for my Sabertooth at least AI Suite says my CPU is currently idling at 24C(ambient is 25C currently) and AIDA64 says 33 which I think is a much more accurate. I'm sure Real Temp would concur with AIDA.
     
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Rochester area
    its a FX 9370 thats a 220W cpu a h100i can't handle that
    temp sensor is accurate he needs a beefier cooler
     
  8. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    673 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Golly, looks like something you get when you shove 220w into something so small, and put a load on it.
     
  9. raafat zedany

    raafat zedany New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OMG ?? REALLY the h100i cant handle that ????
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Rochester area
    its a 220W cpu no it can't you need like a 240MM
    the h100i is crap you need like a NZXT kracken x60
    if I was you I would just send the board and cpu back and buy a i5 for what you need to spend on cooling/power comsumption it would be cheaper
     
  11. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,152 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Location:
    Texas
    The CPU should not be getting hot with an H100i, it is plenty for cooling a 9590 let alone a 9370. There is some actual issue with either the cooler itself or you need to re-apply thermal paste and check for good contact. I know people who have put it on a Hyper212 and can keep it within the limits. You might want to check the H100i built in software and bump up the fan speeds a bit to see if that helps.
     
    Pehla says thanks.
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Rochester area
    no it isn't check the benchmark's on the 100i it hits a wall at about 200W TDP
    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/corsair_h100i_review,11.html
    http://www.pureoverclock.com/Review-detail/corsair-h100i/7/
    you aren't gonna keep a 220W cpu below 70c with a h100i you need a 240MM rad and a beefier pump
    ESPECIALLY if you live in a warm hot cliement
     
  13. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    something is wrong with that H100 or something is wrong with the way you installed it.

    Try gently shaking the case while its running you may have an air bubble trapped somewhere in the loop.
     
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Rochester area
    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/corsair_h100i_review,11.html
    a air bubble isn't gonna cause a ~20c spike in temps are right where they should fall with a FX chip and given the Op`s hot cliement I think hes from the middle east so its probl pushing well 80F ambient(assuming he has AC) he can try remounting it I highly doubt its gonna help enough to keep temps under 70c
    the quickest fix would be to under clock the cpu down to 4.0Ghz max @ 1.4v or so
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2014
  15. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,152 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Location:
    Texas
    3770k is not an FX 9370 or 9590, those have been held back by atrocious TIM's and cannot be compared in this instance.

    Second, we have not even seen what the fan speed is on it because depending it could just be set to low because there are different modes that cooler runs in. But there is no way an H100i whether or not you like it is going to have this much trouble at least at medium or higher fan speed settings cooling the 9370 when you can overclock an 8350 on it very easily to 4.5-4.7 without hitting the limits. I've seen H80i's do it as well just fine so the H100i is got enough power to cool it as well...

    @raafat zedany Turn your fan speeds up on the H100i and see what happens from there first because you could be running in quiet mode.
     
    THE_EGG says thanks.
  16. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    GhostRyder says thanks.
  17. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    854 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Use AMD overdrive to check the thermal margin on the cores and make sure you aren't getting the cpu too hot.

    http://download.amd.com/Desktop/aod_setup_4.3.1.exe

    Also, what is the core voltage under load?
     
  18. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    606 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    If I'm not mistaking the h100i has a 240 mm rad.
     
    THE_EGG and GhostRyder say thanks.
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,619 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I should have said double thick either way the h100i isn't gonna be enough
     
  20. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    as far as i can tell a h100i is about as good as a good brand heat sink and fan. but it will have trouble to cool down the liquid inside it if its running for a long time. This is mainly why i dont like closed loop systems. even with a custom loop you really do need a reservoir separate to the radiator, so the water gets a little bit of extra time to cool before hitting the radiator to go around again. obviously the bigger the reservoir then the water in the resivuoir can stay cooler for longer.
    this is the main drawback for water cooling to me. (the sheer amount of liquid you need to keep your system cool)
    This is also the reason why i wont ever use a closed loop. a good heat sink with push pull will either perform as well or better compared to closed loops especially if you are talking about prolonged periods of stressful use.
     
  21. raafat zedany

    raafat zedany New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when i tried the two fans @ 2300 RPM
     
  22. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,152 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Location:
    Texas
    The stock fans on an H100i go up to 2700RPM, you might want to adjust the fan profile to performance mode or manually bump the speed up. That should reduce your temps to be just fine.
     
  23. raafat zedany

    raafat zedany New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    when its in idle mode the thermal margin is ( 35-45 c)
    this is in 1minute xD
    [​IMG]
     
  24. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Have you installed the software for the H100i ?
    Are the fans set to 100%
     
  25. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    540 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    35-45 margin at idle would imply the water block is on correctly..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page