1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I order a PII x4 925...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Goodman, May 2, 2010.

  1. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    To replace my AII x2 240 clock at 3.8 GHz & i wonder if i may spend my money for nothing?

    According to this article a fast clock dual is better then a lower clock quad (in games)
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/cpu-scaling-in-games-with-quad-core-processors/11

    I know it's dated form 2008 but i am pretty sure not much if any have changed by now in the multicore softwares or games?

    Would i see any difference between this new quad core vs my dual core if i OC the quad core to 3.6 GHz?
    I use my PC for games movies & i also edit some video from time to time

    Another thing that is bothering me is the cache size my AII got 2x 1024 of L2 cache (2Mb)
    the PII got only 512Kb per core x4=2Mb cache + the 6Mb of share L3 cache

    If they can make dual core with more cache they should do the same on quad core , i am sure it would be faster in speed & get much closer to I7 performance from Intel...?

    I would like to see a quad core PII FX-BE... 4x1024 + 8Mb of L3 cache & unlock multi that probably equal or beat the I7 in super PI 1Mb or other benchs...?
    Well maybe not but i am sure it will close the gap even more...
     
  2. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    No..
    the L3 alone makes it worth it plus you can OC the 925
    I had a 240 at 3.5 and my PII 555 is way faster at 3.2ghz than the 240 was at 3.5ghz
     
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    the difference between a similar clocked Athlon II series with NO L3 and a Phenom II with L3 is around 20% the L3 cache on average adds that much more so the 925 at around 3.4 will be faster then your Athlon II in most situation and far faster when multi threaded enviroments

    theres a review here on tpu of the athlon II x4 vs phenom II and at the same speeds phenom II = 20-30% faster
     
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    +1
    And as said the 925 will also oc too thats not a bad oc you have on the 240 btw, if you have no problem running at that bus speed you should be able to hit a similar oc with the 925 hopefully ;)
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    925 should hit 3.5 to 3.6 with a good nb overclock he should see a very nice improvement overall
     
  6. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I hope so (getting the same OC as my AII 240) with the 925 or at least 3.6 Ghz min...

    Anyhow i run my AII 240 @3.8 Ghz 24/7 with 1.5v & my Ram @906 Mhz but i can do 4 Ghz stable with 1.6v but i don't like the temps & i don't like going over 1.5v on air cooling

    Anyways thanks! for all your reply's , i sure hope i'll see a difference as i am going to get this CPU by the end of the week , i'll let you guys knows how it goes
     
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Athlon_II_X4_620/10.html

    there it is thats the athlon II x4 review same cpu just 2 more cores anyway notice the difference between Phenom II quad vs Athlon II big difference

    at the SAME clock speed of 2.6ghz the PII is 20-30% faster now overclocking that means that difference remains the same..... so 3.6 vs 3.6 its still gonna be 20-30% different and it may even grow further due to L3 helping it may allow the PII to show a higher sustained gain from the overclock compared to the athlon II
     
    Goodman says thanks.
  8. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Well looks like i made the right decision going for the PII , i almost went for the AII x4 since it was cheaper by $40.xx but i decided to go for the real thing & order the PII with the L3 cache

    Thx! for the link :toast:
     
  9. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Got my PII 925 ... what can i said?... WOW!! , much faster then my "old" AII 240 @3.8GHz :)

    I just run default 3Dmark06 as a quick test...

    AII 240 @3.8GHz
    13462
    CPU: 2990

    PII 925 @2.8GHz (Stock)
    13898
    CPU: 4041

    Never thought a quadcore could make such a difference , i can't wait to see how far i can overclock it...:cool:

    Is 1.5v safe for 24/7 on my PII 925?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    If you got quality airflow or H2O...I like to keep at 1.45v or less my self..they don't seem to go any faster after that..
    I'm gonna check my scores to see where they are in comparison...I have a AII 435 that unlocks to a PhenomII x4 at 2.9ghz
    wow that's right on I got a Cpu score of 4118 and an overall score of 14551
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
    Goodman says thanks.
  11. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Well so far i try 3GHz at stock voltage & i am hitting 50-51c using Prime95...:eek:

    I need better cooling i will buy a better one at a computer store tomorrow with at less 4 heat pipes...:laugh:

    BTW: Your AII 435 once unlock to a quad won't have the L3 cache , right?
    so it can't compare with mine since i got a quadcore with the L3 cache

    EDIT: Did you run with your 5750 at stock speed?
    Mine was not overclock i had everything at stock ,cpu , ram , graphic..

    EDIT 2: You are on DDR3 , i am on DDR2 so that's maybe why you got a bit more then i did?
     
  12. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    The first run was at stock
    This run I had my 5750 at 800/1250
    And yeah it completely unlocks including the L3
    I think the difference was the memory
    which is really a shame that DDR3 at 1333 only makes like a 2% difference over DDR2

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Goodman says thanks.
  13. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I got 15503 with my card at 800/1250 & my PII @3.213GHz
    looks like i'll have the same score of you if i OC my PII to 3.3GHz...

    If i can make time today I'll try to see how far i can take this PII but i really think i'll wait for a better cooling or a run at 3.2-3.2GHz with my card at 925/1250...:D
     

    Attached Files:

    • x4OC.jpg
      x4OC.jpg
      File size:
      155.8 KB
      Views:
      88
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
    jmcslob says thanks.
  14. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    That's awesome Thank you for that..
    I like knowing the comparison..

    I know you are happy with that chip.. I found games play great right around 2.8ghz-3.0ghz (for PII)
    But they seem to play better on lessor chips at faster clock speeds...(not better than PII just better for them)


    OH yeah correction My first run GFX was at 750/1150 I forgot I have 750/1150 set as my user default profile that would probably be the small difference
     
  15. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Yeah! , thanks! to you too...

    You are right , i like my PII i didn't though it would be that good compare to my dual core , i guess windows & softwares improve quite a bit overtime for multi-core cpu's...
     
  16. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I ran 3Dmark06 at 3.332GHz stock voltage with my 5750 at 800/1250 & my score is very close to yours 15681
    looks like DDR3 doesn't do much more in 3Dmarks06 at least...

    Saying this my DDR2-800 is running stable at 952MHz 1.9v (so far) not bad for cheap Kingston value Ram...:)

    Just bought a 24" Samsung LCD a couple a weeks ago & now my PII man!... i am loving my PC all over again...:D
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page