1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I think I was hit by a virus

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by ChewyBrownSuga, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    So yeah I was downloading a flash game off this site that I trusted... When the download finished the computer froze and when I tried to reboot I kept getting a Msg saying Bootmgr is missing

    What do I do?
  2. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Boot up with your Vista disc and use the repair tools available to rebuild the boot record. You can try using the console and fixboot+fixmbr and then after that you can use the GUI Recovery tools. You can also try System Restore. System Restore is my new favorite Windows feature.
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  3. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Ouch. Do you have a bootable flash drive or utility disk you can try to fix it from? Also if you suspect maybe a virus go into your bios and make sure it is seeing your HDD's. There are some new ones popping up again that like to mess with firmware and hardware settings.
    ChewyBrownSuga says thanks.
  4. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Thanks for the quick response but I don't have a install disc for this computer

    I do have a Windows 7 install disc but every time i try to use it I get a driver issue
  5. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I really think if you don't make one or get one then you don't have much choice...

    Edit: Did you try going straight into the repair console using the Win 7 disc?
  6. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Dang.... Is there anyway I can get this Windows 7 problem fixed then?
  7. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Got anyone you can borrow theirs?
  8. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Oh so this problem is about Win 7 not Vista? I was going by your system specs since you didn't specify.
  9. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    It may be possible to get a system disc sent to you from Microsoft. Hit up support, tell them what happened, and have your product key at hand.
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2010
  10. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    No sorry if I'm getting confusing

    The problem was with vista and how I couldn't boot because I might have been hit by a virus
    No I Can't get a vista install disk


    Since there is no way for me to fix this problem I just want to leave it..... I have a windows 7 install disk but every time I try to use it I get a driver issue
  11. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    This might be caused by having an external storage device or card reader plugged in.

    If the system has additional on-board hardware (Ethernet, sound, video, etc) that you can disable, do so, then try again.

    It could also be caused by the existing Vista partition/installation being there.

    It seems like MS has actually made their installation system worse over the years, as random issues cause errors that they don't appear to be related to. There's no reason you should be having REAL driver issues on a completely stable system, unless the Win 7 disc is damaged perhaps.
  12. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    wow for one that is the absolute longest "windows loading files" screen I have EVER seen. is your DVD drive IDE?? I had some problems with my old IDE dvd drive but not like this. have you tried doing it from a thumb drive?? Also is it a burned iso image disk?? if so maybe something happened in the burning process. my suggestion. dismantle all your disk's try it with ony your boot disk, one GPU the bare minimum you know but this is just odd.
  14. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    No its a sata drive and yes I have burned the install disc like 80 billion

    I have burned it at the slowest speed and did a file check on the disc


    I don't have a thumb drive big enough
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,332 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try changing your storage controller mode in the bios to IDE from ACHI or ACHI to IDE.
  16. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I don't know about your 30GB SSD but the other 30GB Raptor is pretty old...

    You may not have a virus at all?
    You HD may have fail or got bad clusters/sectors & it happen at the same time you d/l a flash game (which is usually pretty safe anyways)

    As for the video it's looks like you'll need a sata drivers which for some reason Win7 doesn't have it..

    On which drive is windows install?

    BTW:please hide the Dell logo next time you do a video...:D;)
  17. ZakkWylde

    ZakkWylde

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    256 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Im sure that your flash drive is large enough for some sort of linux distro, puppy linux for example (actually small enough to run in ram exclusively). Could you boot from the usb drive and fix things up through linux? I really dont have experience with linux but im sure someone on tpu could help you out.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page