1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I think its drivers?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by drade, Mar 27, 2006.

  1. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    When I start up my pc it says multi media card, wich is my video card, so i insert my original cd, no go, so its been doing this for a week, looking for the hardware to be installed for it, could it be that i need drivers? Also bf2 asks for drivers I am a very far person when it comes to these things.


    I currently have a MSI-nx6600gt.
  2. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    (Re)install the latest Nvidia drivers. You can download them off nvidia.com
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    yes indeed and what is wrong with the disk? if it doesnt auto boot open it up by right clicking on the drive and hitting explore then just double click on the exe....or when windows ask's for drivers just make sure your disk is in and tell it to search their.
  4. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Ok lol im very sorry not good at english :laugh:, Now when I start up my pc it asks me to insert a disk for "multi media controller" so I insert the orignal disk it comes with, and it says it is not the right disk, not sure if im suppose to update the drivers or what, I have had this card for maybe 3 mounths, and I have no clue what to do, maybe this error of my bf2 will tell you something? Also, when I hit cancel, it says "this device might not work properly" then that whole message and the scissor icon just vanishes, and it seems to be fine, but something is up but idk.:confused: :confused:

    when I hit on bf2 update nvidia drivers it says this:

    There is not enough space on drive C:/ to extract this package

    Please free up to 30.60 mb and click retry.:shadedshu
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    your hard drive is full. how big is it? if you take your mouse and hover over the drice it will tell you how big it is and how much space is left.
  6. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    Your hard disk is full. Delete some of your files, and try to update your drivers again.

    Edit: Beat me to it.
  7. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    It isnt though total size:186GB free space: 144GB
  8. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    looking for motherboard drivers, perhaps?
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
  10. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Well solaris i think i installed the right one, i restarted my pc after the installation and it didnt ask me that question about my multi media card, and it even has the nvidia icon which i havent had on my toolbar for weeks. But the bf2 driver is still saying the message it said before, but since its not asking me about the installation wizard on my graphics card every time i sign in my account on windows, i think the driver is all set since its not asking me that, and that it is showing my icon, but the bf2 problem still remains.
  11. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    Try reinstalling BF2.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    drade i was going to say the same thing Poge beat me to it.

    member tell us how it goes!

    kiinda reminds me of that time i was installing a radeon 7500 onto a server it was a fast server and i wanted a cheap gaming rig ooooo boy that was a pain in the ass but now it can play morrowind :D
  13. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    make sure u run a scandisk on your C drive.. there could be errors and it be miss reporting the free space.. also empty your recyle bin..

    trog
  14. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
  15. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Still no go you guys, Know when I start up my pc, I see this program that is my driver program i downloaded before i restarted, and i hit run, then it says "error please send this to micro soft or hit exit" just like when your web browser fails on you, and on that same little message i see some card(green looks like mine), then my icon pops up after that error.

    I tryed reinstalling bf2 and the same error message came up! I dont know what it is rong drivers or what?


    I have a MSI-nx6600gt, its gddr3 of 128 mb of ram, its a multi media card, it has dvi the blue connecter and video out.


    Could it be that I downloaded the rong driver, cause its saying after I hit run on the program that would usaully start it up that there is an error, I will provide a screenie.
  16. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Right when my pc is started up this is what I get as far as a picture goes,

    [​IMG]

    After I hit run I get this

    [​IMG]


    Which ties me in even after re installing bf2 this issue.

    Those error messages come up every reboot.
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2006
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    well Here its impling that is malware

    but Here
    and probably in your case it seems like auto throttling for msi's nvidia cards...ill tell you what you should prob do is


    1.uninstall all nvidia drivers
    2. use driver cleaning program(s) to make sure it worked
    3.do a disk clean
    4.scan for sw20.exe and delete all refrances
    5.empty recycle bin
    6.restart computer
    7.after boot hit cancel on ever thing
    8.uninstall BF2
    9.go Here and select "Graphic Driver" > "Geforce and TNT2" > "Windows XP/2000
    10. install the drivers
    11. reboot
    12.make sure you dont get any random messages at boot
    13. install BF2
    14. open BF2 and make sure it isnt giving you the same problem.

    15. in worst case ask a lovely person with a 6600gt on this site to give you the right exe to install your card.
  18. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Well when I uninstalled the drivers, it uninstalled my entire card, so I reinstalled the drivers it came with, everything works great icon is even there, I installed all the drivers with cd and everything seems to be going as normal, other then this problem.


    Untill I tryed instaling that driver, an error message came up,when I hit install, it says "There is no disk in the drive. Please insert a disk into driver (CANCEL)(TRY AGAIN)(COUNTUINE) http://tinypic.com/view/?pic=se5atg So then I hit try again a million times and comes up with this message.

    [​IMG]
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida

    wait so can you help me with this if you got the drivers installed why is it giving random install errors if youve already installed it and it works :confused:
  20. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Well solaris I used my drivers disk that came with my nx6600gt, because the driver that poge gave before me gave me errors so i uninstalled that, now installed this cd came with my graphics card, but when I go to my BF2 setup install latest drivers, that same exact message comes up about the disk space.



    Do I need to update my drivers if i reinstalled it all, because my pc didnt pick up my 6600gt so I had to install all the drivers, now I got the icon and everything, but bf2 bf2 bf2.......


    Also Do I need to install all the utlilites that came with the card, if so I havent..
  21. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
  22. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Also I just installed a driver from Live update 3 (a program that it came with the MSI video card driver. And I installed the most recent driver it went through, But uhm... When I start up my pc I get that dumb little screen that asks the question, no disk in driver, so i hit cancel and it brings that program up..


    Stuffs happening :/
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    drade do you have 2 hard drives?
  24. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    No I only have one, But ive been trying to figure out what the problem is?:shadedshu
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    and bf2 is giving you this error?
    i want you to do something for me right click on your drive go to properties go to the "tools" tab under error checking click check now it should now ask you if you want to fix etc etc click both boxes......now it should give you an error like "i cant check now cause im gay would you like me to do it at restart?" click yes.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page