1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I think my brand new MSI GTX 480 is faulty

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Rado D, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Hi I know this will sound like a totally stupid question,but its the last thing I'll do before sending my card to RMA.I've already requested it anyways,just want to make sure..
    OK,so yesterday I've received my brand new shiny MSI GTX 480..guess what..yeah,there must be always something wrong,right?..my issue is,that the card doesnt give any signal to the monitor from DVI port marked 1,but works fine with DVI port marked 2....so here is my mentioned stupid question - by any chance,does it matter from which DVI port do you hook up your monitor?I mean specifically on GTX 480?..yeah I know,logically even if it would matter,it would be port 1 as master..
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2010
  2. Nickzy

    Nickzy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denmark
    No, i does not matter which of the DVI ports that you connect you're monitor from.

    However.
    Have you made sure that you've hooked up that 8+6Pin into the card properly?

    -
    Nickzy
     
  3. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    London
    If you get that "no signal" message on the screen (I can't remember exactly how it was) you better RMA the card.
     
  4. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    it should work from either DVI port. if it doesnt, i'd say that is faulty.
     
  5. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    894 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Yeah, RMA it. Its faulty 100%, or at least that DVI port is. If it works on #2, it means the card works, but the #1 DVI port is faulty. Anyways, RMA it.
     
  6. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Thanks for reassuring me folks..Isnt it frustrating?Well I was certainly frustrated a lot this morning and before I went to work,I was so pissed off that I've sent an email to the retailer that instead of changing the card I just want a refund and peace..LOL
    I dont know why its with me,but (I wont name the retailer) despite a lot of good feedback from other customers,every time I order something expensive from them,it comes with problems..so I just stick to my GTX 470 for now..But read this story,when I ordered my little baby GTX 470...Well I wanted to order a HD 5850 really in that time,cos here in UK it would cost about £250,while a cheapest GTX 470 around £350,,So I've picked a nice Asus HD 5850 and upon placing the order on the retailers website,the stock indicated 10+..so I paid and paid extra for next day,before 12am delivery...Imagine my excitement..I jumped out of bed about 8 am next morning,cos I couldnt sleep I was so waiting for my new baby..prepared everything,you know drivers utilities and so on :D
    And I was waiting and waiting and waiting..9am..11am..noon..about 1pm I was allready pissed off my girlfriend was pissed off that Im not going out and wasted my morning..so with furry I've picked up the phone and was ready to kill trough it..You know how long it takes until you get to talk to someone on the helpline.that just elevated my anger.so when I've finally moved in the queue and was connected with the operator after giving him my order info,guess what he told me....Yeah,bingo,item out of stock!!...son of a ....!!I told myself thats enough!!After I asked him kindly(LOL) that why the hell nobody sent me even one bloody email that this is to happen which would save me from a lot of anger and wasted time and lot of other things..I was asked to pick a different card,but they wont be able to refund the cost of the delivery...what???am I hearing right while I've just wasted another fiver on my mobile phone credit???Dude you got the guts Im telling you...I've ordered something you had in stock,but you actually had not,paid extra £15 for quick delivery.wasted half of my day and nerves and you are telling me that you cant refund the delivery cost for something I even did not get????son of a ....!!!Now listen to me carefully dude,you will sort out for me a full refund otherwise I'll kill you over the phone you hear me???...no I did not really say that :D but in the end I managed to get the full refund...Now will you call me a fussy customer after such a shitty experience???
     
  7. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    894 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Man that sucks. All i can say is, change the retailer. And tell the shitty one why you changed to the other company.
     
  8. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Oh You can bet I will Heky
     
  9. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    why not?
     
  10. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    But lets get back to some serious things,friends...while testing the faulty GTX 480 I had an interesting experience,in the form of not really good results (specifically Mafia 2) in benchmarks..I know that lot of people report that Mafia is a bit choppy ATM,even on the latest drivers(NVIDIA),I had the same results on both cards - GTX 470 and GTX 480 - Rank D,which is bad....now if you check my system specs,what do you think the problem could be in?Obviously I've tried more combinations of the NVIDIA settings,but the rating was still the same on both cards..We may think that after all,its not just the DVI port 1 that is faulty on my GTX 480?Who know what else they f****d up on the production line the day it was "born"...In Unigine Heaven 2.0 the GTX 480 performed well,but I only run it well overclocked..I've tried the card at default settings in Just Cause 2,but I was totally not happy..So do you think there could be something set up wrong in my system?No way my Core i920 currently @ 4GHz,with 6GB of High performance tri-channel RAM and all on a 300GB Velociraptor could be a bottleneck..or??
     
  11. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Shall I?
     
  12. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    London
    Yeah name the retailer; who is it? Scan, Overclockers, Ebuyer, Aria, Ginger6,
     
  13. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    The 2nd
     
  14. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    London
    I have to say that when I bought my GTX480 I had a similar experience; I ordered an Asus, the website showed +10 stock and when entering my details it was out of stock; however they did call me and emailed me and offered me a Palit (the only one left so they said, this was back in April, after the launch) for the same price (funnily enough the Palit was a bit more expensive) it took five days because of a Bank Holiday weekend but I thought it was great customer service. The retailer: Ginger6.
     
    Rado D says thanks.
  15. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    894 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    You know what i would do. Send the GTX480 back and demand a refund. Sell the GTX470, and wait and see what the new ATI 6 series brings to the table.
     
  16. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    London
    I haven't had any problems with Overclockers myself but heard some stories; I got my monitor from them.
     
  17. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    I've got an Asus P6T Deluxe MOBO and as you know it does not have on the board Graphic accelerator,so I need my GTX470 to be there.But just as ATI is working on something new,so is NVDIA and I will be honest with you,If they can at least half - solve the heat issues they currently have on the 470 and 480,I will pick NVIDIA..Had ATI before,ATM I choose green..
     
  18. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Hey is your GTX 480 performing well?
     
  19. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    The UK web retailer with the most fantastic customer service and smooth action is NOVATECH..Most sadly recently they can really keep up with the prices...Cheapest GTX480 at overclockers is about £350,at novatech its nearly £390..with weak selection
     
  20. lism New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    How can a DVI port be faulty?

    Anyone considered that there are 2 types of DVI signals which some TFT screens cannot handle?
     
  21. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    one simple example is bad contacts of the port to the PCB
    I've personally never heard of such a thing,Im not that good.
     
  22. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    London
  23. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Can you run the Mafia 2 benchmark for us to compare?
    ...and well done
    so How he heck is possible that I was getting rank D in Mafia 2 (GTX480)....and my GTX470 is overclocked to the values of the GTX 480 and Im getting D with it too...
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  24. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    894 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Oh really, can you name that 2 types of signal? You cant, becouse there are not 2 types of signal. Some are dual-link and some are not. But these are not 2 different types.
     
  25. lism New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    DVI-A, DVI-B, DVI-C,

    Believe it or not but i had to connect my Acer 20Inch TFT using a analog cable / DVI > D-Sub converter to get some image in Dos, and enable DVI up in Windows. So yes there's a difference in types of signals even tho the connector is the same.

    I dont think these cards go out untested on the DVI port.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page