1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I think my PSU Died...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by alexsubri, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Okay, so here we ago again :banghead: ..I have previously started a forum earlier this month about my computer flickering on and off. I thought it was my RAM and I did a MEMORY TEST and everything came back fine. So, I re-seated my RAM sticks and the problem went away. Low and behold my computer started flickering on and off again about a week later. So, I opened up my case and made sure everything was properly connected (which it was). After I am done checking, I go and turn my PSU switch on in the back and then I turned on my PC Power Switch in the front and now it just flickers my system lights and then turns off.

    I have noticed that when I turned it on it gives a red light (My PSU is Apevia Warlock and it changes color by pressing the button in the back), but I had my preset to color blue. So, I am thinking it has to be the PSU. So, that said, when I take out my 4-PIN Molex Power Connector. The power for the whole system goes on. But, when I reconnect it, the power won't turn on.

    My question is: Are these all clear signs of a dying PSU? I don't have the kit to test the rails individuality, but I am 90% sure that it's the PSU

    I just bought a CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 ($90 -Newegg special) so I am excited by that (probably will be at my house by next Friday) I have read that people who own the Apevia Warlock series, they usually last 1.5-2 years and after that they are paper weight. What sucks is, they only have 1 year limited warranty and I am happy that CORSAIR offers 5 year warranty.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  2. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Could you test with another PSU before the new one arrives?. could be three things:

    Indeed, the current PSU is bad.
    Your motherboard, CPU or some card might have a short circuit and triggers PSU SC protection.
    Very unlikely: your main supply is bad and the PSU protects itself
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    had the same thing happen with a crosshair II,the motherboard was bad. will your pc run without the molex connected?
  4. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Perhaps, but remember the red LCD light came on and then turned itself off. So, we have a 50-50 situation

    Correct. My Motherboard will turn on, my 2 GPUs are running max speeds, the LCD lights, my Neon Lights all turn on. But, when I connect the 4-Pin Molex, the power turns on and off. So I assume its the PSU. We won't be sure until it comes in later this week. I will keep this forum updated until I get my new PSU.

    Wish me luck guys!

    :toast:

    EDIT: ATHLON, did your Motherboard go on when your 4-Pin Molex wasn't connected? or did your Motherboard never turn on?
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  5. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163

    Yeah, because the PSU turns on but...

    Is failing, so shuts down :)...
    Detects a short circuit anywhere (most probably the CPU or CPU VRM because you said disconnecting the 4 pin connector that powers the CPU doesn't shut down) then it shuts down as safety feature.

    I am more leaned to the second option because if it turns on all the CCFLs, video cards fans and the LCD without the 4 pin plugged, then the PSU is working right (but PSUs can also fail when there is more load, in this case, the CPU)

    If you had a DMM you can test with the ohmeter if these is a short on the CPU power plug, inserting the positive lead on the +12V hole of the 4 pin connector, and the negative (ground) lead in the motherboard ground or black hole of the connector
    If it measures 0 ohm there is something bad there in the motherboard or CPU, if anything else, then is good.

    Good luck :)
  6. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    crossfire 5850 eats a lot of power... im not familiar with Apevia psu's so i dont know if its actually pushing anything near what it says it is (750w), but power supplys tend to lose power over the years.

    Did you try powering the system with out the 2nd gfx card?
  7. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    No ... :slap: , but one thing I did notice is that Apevia Warlock 750w 12v is 24A , Maybe it outlived its usefulness...don't know if that makes a difference, the new PSU I bought 12v's is 62A..One thing I want to add is, I was monitoring my Wattage with HW-Monitor (I know programs aren't always reliable) , but it said sometimes my 12V was going over 12V , sometimes it would idle at 11.90V's
  8. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    24A divide into 4 rails seems to be in the low side (mine, which is 450W, has two 12V rails rated at 22A) in some cases is better a single or double rail than 4 or more, it could lost power due the time and now it protects from overload from one of these rails. I would try removing "unnecessary" hardware and see if the computer starts with the 4 pin plugged.
    alexsubri says thanks.
  9. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I can't because everything I have connected is mandatory :) ...I think my PSU is outliving its usefulness. My CORSAIR TX is coming in a couple of days, I will post back then.

    However, if anybody else has more feedback its greatly welcomed!

    Thanks guys for the help! :toast:
  10. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Yeah then now I will suspect more the PSU given these specs, then lets wait to arrive the new one and pray it will work fine :)

    I forgotten, I would try to take the guts out of the case and put them on a table or floor, or double check the motherboard is well mounted, just in case it is shorting the case specially if the same would happen with the new PSU :)

    Cheers :)
    alexsubri says thanks.
  11. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199

    Good idea, will do..I would hate to have everything reconnected and then have the same problem, better to be safe than sorry!
  12. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Update: Well, it turns out it was my motherboard! EEEK, I just tested my new PSU, it works fine. So that means my Apevia Warlock is working too. However, I just purchased the new ASUS Sabertooth 990FX AM3+ motherboard, that should come in by Friday. Hopefully I will close this case by then.

    Thanks y'all!
    DannibusX says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page