1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I think the vram on my HD4850 is going.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by knightlag, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. knightlag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Occasionally I'll get vram artifacts in W7, this started when I replaced a random DLL a month or two ago so I had reinstalled windows back then; it cropped up again today at like 2AM.

    If I run the artifact scanner in ATI Tray Tools for an hour or two it still says "0 Artifacts". It seems to happen at random so I'm thinking I should chuck my PSU and card at a wall...any advice? Or am I on the right track?

    Should I go for a HD4870 or a HD5870 if I replace it? If I go with a HD5870, what kind of PSU would I need? I've been looking at Silverstone & Ultra PSUs. Also going to look at some Seasonics..
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    what PSU do you have?

    i dont know about silverstone and ultra PSU's, but seasonic has a good reputation
     
  3. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
    If you're going for a new one, then the PSUs for the 5870:

    [​IMG]

    More here: http://game.amd.com/us-en/crossfire_certified.aspx?cat=3
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    that list is for crossfire, btw.
     
  5. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Singapore
    So the Zalman ZM-600RS at 600W can support two HD5800's? :O
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    they're more power efficient than previous ATI cards, so why not.

    the certification really just means it has enough PCI-E plugs, and it wont blow up with two cards - personally i'd be suspect of that zalman 600W as well, but i bet if we research it we find its internals are made by a reliable company like channel well or seasonic.
     
  7. Jansku07 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    171 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeap. A corsair HX520 could power a HD5870CF even though it's rated 520W by Corsair. Quality and +12V-line(s) are what matter the most.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    being such a short list, i believe we can safely assume all the PSU's on the list have such quality.
     
  9. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
    So what? That's the same thing, if it can handle crossfire is more than enough for the 5870. Besides why should he use one that is on the limit, if he plans to buy another one later? :slap::D

    Anyway: http://ati.amd.com/products/certified/powersupplies.html#pstop
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    i was making sure people knew those were crossfire certified, and not needed for a single card.

    if someone only intends to run one card, there is no need to spend that much money (a corsair 520W would do the job nicely, for example)
     
  11. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    if it supports a 4870, it'll work on a 5870 - it just means they havent tested the older PSU's to certify them (they're old models, so it'd be a waste of time to certify them)


    hell, they say the 550W can do a 3870x2 - i'm sure that'd use more power than a 5870
     
  13. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
    Then AMD is getting money for recommend more powerful PSUs, since they recommend 700W+ PSUs only. :|

    Still BeQuiet and Zalman got 550W and 600W products recommended for Crossfire. :D
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    strange assumption.

    i highly doubt AMD has a storehouse where they keep one of every PSU - they certify what the PSU manufacturers send them.

    when the 5k series was launched, i bet corsair didnt bother sending in their older units again for testing - they sent their newest and latest models, since those are what will be on sale while the 5k series cards are on sale.
     
  15. knightlag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    -sorry for bumping this-

    Upgraded to a HD4870 & Corsair 650TX, GPU and PSU worked perfectly! Thanks for the replies.
    Now I have to replace my mobo & E4500. I killed them when reseating my HSF.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page