1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I want to change my i7 setup... should I do this? Maybe go AMD?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by n-ster, Aug 5, 2010.

?

What to do?

  1. Its only an "upgrade" itch, don't scratch and it will go away! Why mess with what works anyways?

    41.7%
  2. Do only the CPU upgrade for 25$

    8.3%
  3. Do the CPU+RAM upgrade for 59$-31$MIR

    8.3%
  4. Do the whole set of upgrades

    41.7%
  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    So I have had my 1st gaming computer since, like 1 month, and I already want to change some stuff o_O wtf is wrong with me?

    So I paid 450$USD (464$CAD) I believe, for the CPU + mobo + RAM (in specs)

    1.

    By selling my i7 c0/c1 and buying a brand new i7 930 from MC, I get a nice upgrade for 25$CAD
    told myself I could sell my i7 for 180~190$CAD + ship easily... and get myself a i7 930 for 207$ from Microcenter (214$CAD), a nice 25$ upgrade from used i7 co/c1 to new i7 930 no? GREAT! so I want to do that. Found a potential buyer even

    2.

    By selling my Crucial D9 value RAM and buying a brand new OCZ gold 1600 cl8 from MC, I get a nice upgrade for 13$CAD (44$-31$MIR)
    So my current crucial D9s I haven't tried much to OC them... but I could sell them at 127$ CAD + ship, get myself some OCZ gold 1600 cl8 from Microcenter for 165,60$-30$MIR (140$ CAD). I tell myself, that 13$ for an upgrade like that would be worth it, although I'd have to wait for 30$, my last OCZ MIR went swell despite the rep they have

    3.

    By selling my AsRock X58 Extreme + U3S6 combo and buying a brand new Gigabyte X58A-UD3R from MC, I get a nice upgrade for 30~45$CAD (50$~65$ - 20$MIR)
    Now, my AsRock x58 Extreme... While this board isn't a bad budget board, I feel its missing something... I also bought a U3S6 (2 USB3 and 2 SATA 6gbps) for the future... (cost me 35$ cad iirc).... I am guessing a 150~160$ CAD for just the mobo can be done, and 20~25$ for the card. I can get the X58A-UD3R from Microcenter at 227,70$USD-20$MIR (214$CAD). Told myself that having sata 6gbps and usb3 integrated in the mobo, having a new mobo, and having a supposedly better mobo for 30$ is worth it!


    Final Cost for all 3 items from MC is 600$USD - 50$MIR (618$ - 52$MIR = 566$CAD)
    Final revenue from selling parts 315$CAD (CPU+RAM) + 160$~185$ = 475$~500$CAD

    Total cost: 70~90$




    You guys think I should go for it? each one of them? I could just do cpu+mobo for example

    sorry if anythings not clear, I am in need of sleep lol:D
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I could also "downgrade" to 1055t for about 400~425$ CAD so basically make 50~100$ !!! Would that be a better route?
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    No use in downgrading unless you need the cash, thats the way I look at it (misses my i7 920 D0 :( )

    As for the "upgrades" I agree they are better than your current parts and as much as it is not really an upgrade it seems you are not quite content with your current i7 build so the money would be wisely spent, I often sidegrade too :D
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I am content, it does what I want it too, but the fact that it isn't new bugs me a little lol

    and I didn't get the parts I wanted... I always wanted a GB mobo and i7 920/930 D0 :p
    I like the fact that I am not loosing any money too

    isn't the 1055t a sidegrade? I game, photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, random video and music converting and editing, and the rest is not important :D
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    The 1055t might be a sidegrade as you do a lot of multithreaded work, though I would stick with the i7, though thats a personal thought.

    I did the same last year, grabbed a 920 C0 and 3gb 1333 crucial value ram, needless to say a few months later I had a D0 and 6gb 1600 ram :D it was a way to get on the i7 ladder so to speak :p
    n-ster says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Change the 920 C0 for a good tested 920 D0 that will do HIGH clocks.
    n-ster says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    You don't need to spend a lot on ram. Just be smart with your settings. Look at how well my 1200 mhz ram does compared to much faster speeds on the maxxmem thread. It's all about uncore ratio and B2B.

    As for the cpu, what kind of overclock have you gotten out of your CO? The minor improvement might not be justifiable. Hell some COs (not many) can out do the crappier DOs. It's real hit or miss with these batches.

    For the board, I'll say that sata 3 was a selling point for mine, and I do have a sata 3 hdd... but I run it on sata 2. Boot times suck with these barely integrated sata controllers and unless you have a sata 3 ssd there's no day to day benefit that justifies the extra 5 seconds of boot time. Your board is plenty good and you already have the expansion card.
    n-ster says thanks.
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I would switch out the motherboard for the GB. However, the D9's I sold you are better than the IC's in the OCZ's, despite the factory SPD. Those particular sticks will run over 1700 with a bit of tweaking. The chip is a gamble. Many of the the new 930's behave similar to a good CO or a decent DO. So, the board is an upgrade, memory is not, and you're rolling the dice by switching out the chip. My advice on the chip is as mentioned above. Find a good used, proven 920. That will be far less risky than a new 930. If you insist on switching out ram, don't get less than a set of good 1800's. Anything less is not an upgrade, and quite possibly a downgrade. Rated speeds mean nothing.

    AMD? Well, I switched my main rig over to a 1090T/CH IV for a brief period. It was nice, but it took me less than a month to decide to go back to an i7, for more reasons than I care to post.
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
    n-ster says thanks.
  9. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    I say keep your current rig and stop letting the upgrade bug bite.
    n-ster says thanks.
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I was not sure at all about the RAM, so I guess thats out :p The mobo I have to discuss with the buyer since we hadn't set a price on that yet, but I want to do it.

    The CPU? I think I'll gamble since few are the i7s that can't hit 4ghz on air with reasonable temps
  11. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Nothing wrong with your current setup, no need to upgrade at all.
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Remember, just because something isn't the latest and greatest doesn't mean it's obsolete has no purpose and should be sold or thrown in the trash.

    If it does what you need it to do and in an efficient matter, then there's no point in upgrading. Now as time goes on, and you start to see it crap out on the things you want it to do, that's when you do an overhaul on the system.

    Plus the i7's are great chips and are very powerful, i see them staying around for a very long time.:)
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    the thrill of researching new hardware, striking deals, awaiting mail men, opening boxes, installing new shiny hardware, benchmarking, screenshotting, picture snapping, trade forum positing and getting money back are much more exciting sometimes then a PC that doesn't cause problems and plays every game you want...
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2010
    n-ster says thanks.
  14. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    This. We have been bitten by the bug. Hard. One of the reasons why I've had 15 different GPUs in the last 2 months. And that's with a single PC.
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    new as in the parts were used before me, while they have been used by Paulieg, and I trust him, it still bugs me that it has been used and forso little I can get brand new better things
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I agree to an extent.

    It happens to everyone, we all get bitten by the ''bug''. But it really comes down to not wasting money, if you have load of cash burning in your pocket and you can afford to switch video cards every month, then have at it man. But you have to separate what you need and want, just because i want 4x GTX 480 and a 980x doesn't mean i need to waste money on it, if my current setup is already making me happy, then im not gonna spend my money on that.

    Edit: A good example would be me having 2x 470's yet im still running with a 19'' monitor, i just wanted moar power!!!1 lol
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
  17. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    All i am saying is that the Pc's arent the only bug that bites... it's the whole process that leads to getting it.. once its all up and running then you crave that excitement of F5'n UPS/USPS.com and calling the kids/wife/roommate to see if the package came... etc lil xmas for you and only you.
  18. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I agree with that 100%. A lot of the time that is the reason i get new hardware, it's because it's something new to play with. Just anticipating that i'm gonna get new hardware soon is something i enjoy very much.:)

    I'm just saying to remember not to spend hundreds of dollars on something that really isn't going to benefit you in the end.
    shevanel says thanks.
  19. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    the OCZ 1600 CL8 is the EXACT SAME ram as your crucial value ram. just try it it will do 1600 CL8-8-8-24-2T almost all 1600MHZ CL8 ram is micron KPT chips I would go for some gskill ripjaw 2000mhz ram

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page