1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I want to check if my RAM OC is stable

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Kantastic, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    I'm running my kit @ 1600 6/7/5/18/88/1T right now, so to test for stability should I use memtest86 or Prime95? I know for a fact my OC is stable, 6 hours of Prime95 without a hitch.
     
  2. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes you will want to run memtest86 to test the stability of your memory as Prime95 only test the stability of your CPU.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Awesome, thanks.

    Quick question: Would it be better to run like 8 instances of memtest to increase the test speed?
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,954 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    No. Only run 1 instance. Memtest allocates a range of memory addresses to check.
     
    Woody112 and Kantastic say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    If I try and run 1 instance I get this 2047MB limit message, so I'm forced to run 2047/2047/allunusedRAM.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,928 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,471
    get the ISO, I dont recommend the Windows version.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,954 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I believe that 2048MB is the single program memory limit for Windows. Can you burn the DOS mode Memtest ISO to a disc (with an ISO burner) and try that to see if you can see all the RAM? Let me try that first so I don't make you waste any CDs. :)
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,928 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,471
    the ISO sees all ram in the rig, I have tested up to 8GB of ram.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  9. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    So running 3 instances of memtest at once isn't as thorough as doing in DOS mode? I'll have to burn the CD tomorrow and check that out, but logically speaking would running 3 instances test all the memory from Windows?
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,928 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,471
    because you are in windows there is ram that is unaccessable, via dos it can test all of it at one with very little if any reserve. Not positive, just an opinion.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,954 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Anyone want to help me figure out why the ISO boots, I select one of the options and it just hangs? ISO is v3.5, and I tried 2 CDs. The CD works fine in the Socket A system that I happen to have assembled, but it boots in both CD burners (1 IDE + 1 SATA) but freezes after "loading Memtest xxxxx". :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,294 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Just download the Ultimate Boot CD http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/ it has memtest ondisk
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page