1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I want to make a 6 pin PCIe to 6 pin PCIe

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by AceAdey, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Hi guys,

    Someone who knows about electricity, please can someone offer some guidance for me? I want to make two PCIe cables. To go from modular PSU to Radeon 6870. Should be simple. 6 pin to 6 pin.

    I think they don't run parallel. There should be 3 yellow and 3 black (ground). I need to repeat this for the second 6 pin slot. I.e. a diagram displaying from pin to pin (or something similar).

    It's part of an ongoing test. My 6870 won't come to life! Nothing. After 100 reboots it worked.

    Kind regards,

    Adrian
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    What make is the modular PSU the cables are for?
  3. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    i've made a custom cable for my modular PSU that links up my opticals and fan controller and another custom made cable for all my HDDs. i didn't want to ruin the existing cables by splicing and soldering wires and sockets (plus can also sell it on later with all original cables intact).

    the first thing you should do is determine which pins on your PSU and your Radeon are which. you've quite rightly pointed out yellow (12V) and black (ground). if you're making it from scratch then you need to buy male and female housings (the black plastic bit), the actual pins themselves,the wires and some sort of crimping tool. the way i would do it, is carefully look at which pin is where, and the colour and make a rough diagram of the position of the pin on the housing. as you said, it's not that hard, just take care when putting the pins in the housing bit.

    one thing to bear in mind is the shape of the individual pin housing, some are square some are half-square with a rounded side.
  4. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Thanks

    I have everything. PSU is Silverstone Strider so has 6 pin PCIe on the top rail. The plugs are the same each side, no?

    No need to crimp or any of that. I can't draw the diagran. Does square to square then and so on, regardless of pin layout?
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    It seems very straight forward, but you've got to account for manufacturers wanting to make things work exclusive (I think that's the right word :p). I certainly wouldn't be surprised to find out that one manufacturer switches two of the wires on a PSU cable to make sure that no other brand's wires are compatible (kinda like what I've seen with Antec/Powercool).

    If you've got a multi-meter, make sure the wires are "normal" like this:
    [​IMG]

    Or whether they're switched or whatever, like this:
    [​IMG]

    Hope my amazing paintbrush skills convey my meaning properly :p

    At least once you know which way the wires are, you can crack on making it.
  6. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Great paintbrush skills. I have no multi-meter, unfortunately. Never used a multi-meter! lmao.

    Basically, you're confirming they may crossover in a random configuration. You'd expect it was generic.

    What I could do with is someone modded such a custom PC before, for a 2x6 pin GPU!
  7. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    These are the 12 cables. God knows what order - Silverstone Strider to Radeon 6870?! lmao.



    [​IMG]
  8. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Buy one. They are cheap and very useful. An enthusiast should always have one at hand, if anything, to at least know which cables are ok and things like that. Or in your case to know which cables go where.
  9. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Sounds plausible. How do they work, exactly? Surely the PC is off at the time! :roll:
  10. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    lucky! my pc is out of it's case right now.
    do you have the 6 pin plugs?
    hope this helps:
    [​IMG]
    ^gpu end
    [​IMG]
    ^psu end (incidentally for the 6 pin you just dont have the 2 grounds on one end)

    multimeters are cheap and so are the cables :D
  11. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Yeah 6 pin. But say, is the top-right black cable on the 8 pin, also the loose top-right-black on the 6+2? Scaminatrix's second diagram shows top-left to top-right. I got to make sure.
  12. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    yes it is,thats why i mentioned losing the 2 grounds on one end for 6 pin.sorry if i was unclear,got a banging headache.
    i do have a pair of 6 pin cables too but they are buried with my second gpu because i cant play games on this POS right now anyway..

    Apparently its 3 ground on top and 3 +12v on bottom,
    but it would be good practise to keep the cables in line,as it appears the 6 pin pci-e cable is good for 75w,
    so the cables could deliver different amounts of current to different parts of the gpu.
    the plugs are just split into 6 to reduce voltage drop.
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    It's well worth getting a multi-meter mate, I got an "electrician's toolkit" from Argos and it comes with a multi-meter and instructions ;)
    Best Father's Day present I've had so far!!
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/7015696.htm

    Just found this. It's a set of modular cables for Strider PSU's. Doesn't help us much, unless you wanted to take a risk trial and error style.
    [​IMG]

    The cheapest way would be to rip the sleeving off of a 6-pin cable that you already have and check that way.
  14. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Hmm can't cos I don't have them anymore, unfortunately
  15. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Just spotted this (review of the PSU):
    [​IMG]

    What's with the orange wires that are in the 2x6-pins on the left, but not on the 6-pins on the right?
    Do you know what they are?

    I've exhausted my expertise on this subject then (I don't have much :p) IMO the only options left are:
    1. Get a multi-meter.
    2. Do it by trial and error.



    EDIT:
    3. Buy one of the sets of modular cables from here, but that's the most expensive option.
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  16. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    I was not expecting to see that! They are 6 pin pcie ports, right?
  17. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    the ones with orange are sata/l4p/s4p,they are on my psu anyway.
    apparently the orange wire is 3.3v so this is not used on pci-e.
    i think the blue plugs are pci-e (the ones connected to the psu),what baffles me is why aren't the modular set of cables in your first pic the same?
  18. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    How didn't I spot that? :eek: Yea, they're SATA then.

    The ones in the first pic are just a set of cables you can buy if you have a smaller case, to avoid having to hide the longer cables.
    MightyMission says thanks.
  19. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    Scam and Mighty have conveyed much more than i did with words...using paintbrush no less!!! i think the conclusion here is that you DO need a multimeter to test which cable is which. the PCIe power connectors are standard fare. it's always the same cable configuration in any PSU that has 6-pin (2x3) and 8-pin (2x4), this is for when it enters the graphics card. on the PSU side however, the pin configuration is different (as has been said) due to manufacturers' proprietary design.
  20. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    That confirms my thinking. Anyone know it, for sure? :D

    If you do...:respect:
  21. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Let's see what Silverstonetek come up with And how long it takes 'em
  22. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    i can tell you from experience, as a fact, because i've had to make my own cables. i used the multimeter to find out which pin had which voltage on the PSU. i already knew what the cable arrangement was going into the graphics card.
  23. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
  24. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    890 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Don't know about your specific psu but when working get the black wires (ground) done first. This should help with not making an error with the other wires.

    SEE Pictures: Silverstone Short Cable Set For Silverstone Stride...


    USE ZOOM for looking at blue ends: Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    Zoom for pci express ends: Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    Can you download manual for your model? It should show pin out configuration.


    I like your avatar: "Last time I met her, I met her in red, all in red, all in red, she gave me damn good he*d, down the dark ally where nobody goes." Do you know the lyrics?
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  25. AceAdey

    AceAdey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    182 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Derby
    Hmm...the PSU is identical to this

    [​IMG]

    My question, are all the 4 PCIE 6/8 pin v3, v4, v5x2, etc identical power and layout? There are two v5's. I mean this kinda sounds like automobile. Brrrrrrum brum brum:laugh:


    Guys, I can't understand the pictures. Thinking I will look twice though. It has to be 8 to 6 then. Do you just shove the multimeter into the hole and it gives you a reading. Sounds dangerous:roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page