1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 2500k and Prime95

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lwgnlseven, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Hey guys I've got a question about my i5 2500k CPU and Prime95. I've had this cpu for 7 months but I've never used prime95 until tonight and was hoping you guys could let me know how things look. I'm not very good with CPU temps and all that jazz :p Anyway, its an i5 2500k 3.3ghz (3.7 ghz turbo) so it isn't overclocked. I have a cooler master hyper 212+ for a heatsink.

    [​IMG]

    Do things look alright? I googled the vcore and I saw that some people who overclock this CPU to 4.5 are using the same vcore as I am. Is my motherboard default settings giving my CPU chip too much vcore at my default speeds? Would my temps be considered too high? I guess anything under 60c is pretty good but running Prime95 is pushing mid to high 50s. Hopefully you guys don't mind giving me some input on how things are looking. I idle 28-33 if that matters. Thanks guys!
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, everything is fine. There's usually a good deal of headroom to overclock even on stock voltage. You can probably clock to 4.0 and undervolt it quite a ways.
     
    lwgnlseven says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Do I need to worry about undervolting at stock speeds? I mean I haven't touched anything, so the voltage is running at default values. I dont want to mess with it and ruin things, but at the same time, if its receiving too high of voltage, it could cut down on the lifespan correct? Maybe I'll just leave it alone.. ha
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Absolutely not. That's stock voltage. You can go much higher than 1.28v (for overclocking) and not damage your chip.

    Note: "much" higher is around 1.4v
     
    lwgnlseven says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Thank you for your help, I will stop worrying about the temperatures if everything is fine :) Thanks again.
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Trust me those temps are just fine :roll:


    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Please fill in your system specs as they are useful for any advice you will be given. Everything looks fine. While 1.280v might look high for default clocks it is what your mobo considers appropriate for your chip to run at turbo clocks. Around this value your maximum vcore will be even if you decide to raise the multiplier (overclock) up to a certain point. It is within specs. Just for fun and for starters you can set the multi for turbo at 40 on all cores and see what's happening keeping all settings on auto/default.
     
  8. nikko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Likely the motherboard has overclocked the CPU to 3700 1.3310 (1.28) all cores and therefore raised the voltage a bit (default is 3400 1.2810 VID (1.23V) regardless of turbo to 3700-1core voltage is still 1.2810 or less)

    The latest version including the new AVX instructions will result at least 100 watts load, so your number of 72 is kind of misleading as of how hot this CPU will get under prime95. Yet real life applications will be ~72 watts all cores..

    I would undervolt it to 1.10V (1.1410 VID) or whatever is stable +0.02V.

    Power consumption will raise by ^2 with voltage. (1.3*1.3)/(1.1*1.1) ~+40% ~+20W. Yet 20 watts is no big deal. It's your decision, 1.3 V at default is a bit extreme if you ask me.

    My 45nm cpu degraded barely noticeably at more than 1.23V. And I checked 3 fresh out of the box CPUs to verify for myself. No big deal, just didn't like it. So 32nm could be more sensitive or maybe not since 1.23 is default. I would not experiment with this. You should load the default bios settings and remove overclocks.
     
  9. barlowLAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    85 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    With my old I5 2500k, I had it at 4.5 with the same cooler and temps went no higher that 65c

    Looking good................. Crank it up!
     
  10. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I've got an i5 2500k 3.3ghz, gtx 680, 16gb ram, 850 watt psu.

    The i5 2500k is 3.3ghz by default and it automatically enters turbo mode (3.7ghz) during any 3D applications such as videos or games. I'm assuming everything is where it should be. If the vcore is a tad high for default clocks, at least if I want to OC in the future I could probably do so a bit without changing voltages. Where would a safe range be to OC to at 1.280 volt? I've read some people are at 4.4-4.5 using 1.280, maybe a safe place to start would be 4.0-4.2 and try?
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    There's no such thing is a safe range for just clockspeed. You raise the clockspeed as high as it will stably go (200 passes LinX and 8 hours OCCT CPU (not linpack) after that for me). I usually read results online... what chip got what clockspeed using what voltage, then I try it myself and tweak it later. If stable, raise the clockspeed or decrease the voltage, if not, lower the clockspeed or raise the voltage (up to a certain point, where I'm comfortable with the voltage used and the temps) and work it out for myself. Again, stay under 1.4v, but now that I think about it even 1.4 is probably a bit out there... stay under 1.35v and you should be good.

    If you want to overclock, set the multi to 44x first, that's 4.4GHz. If it's stable, it's up to you... raise the clockspeed if you want, try lowering the voltage if you want. If not stable, either lower the clockspeed or raise the voltage.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    And if by stable you mean not crashing correct? I'm assuming if the voltage is too low under XXX clockspeed, then the system will BSOD or something?
     
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    The most important thing in your specs, the motherboard was not specified. For default voltages or auto, I would suggest you begin with 40 multi on all cores turbo. You should be fine up to 42 or 44 depending on the motherboard and the chip without changing anything in BIOS except the multi.
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not only not crashing, but run stability tests, like the ones I mentioned in the post you quoted back there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Ah yes, forgot that one, its an asus p8z68 vpro/gen 3
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page