1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 2500k + Corsair A50 temps a bit too high

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Irish_PXzyan, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well lads.

    I got my new system up and running last night and I've been testing it a bit at the moment for a stable overclocl. It seems 4.4Ghz is stable!

    My idle temps are 40c. I'm a bit concerned about that? It does seem a little too high!

    What reason would there be for this to happen?
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Do you have a push/pull setup on the A50?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Room temp?

    What software did you use for temp?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    push/pull setup? I've no idea what that means!!

    Room temp is cold enough. I've got 3 layers of clothing on me!

    I used real temp and coretemp and the both of them say it's 40c.
    Using the AS Suite II from asus it shows 28c but that must be wrong.
  5. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    Push/pull setup: two fans, one pushing air to the heatsink, and the other on the opposite end of the heatsink pulling air off of it.
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  6. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Interesting! I only have the one fan.

    Which fan would be good for doing that?
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I think the A50 comes with the hardware to install a second 120MM fan.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    If not...plastic cable ties can be pretty good too, might look a little ugly though
  9. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I'll have to have a look for some of these! I noticed the A70 comes with two fans! I think the A50 can have another one slapped on!

    I figured out why I am getting high idle temps. Intel speed technology wasn't working when I changed the power plan from balanced to high performance.
    It's now idle at 25c. Thank god for that!
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    25'c is quite chilly actually. mine idles at 30-35'c
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,010
    An A50 wasn't good enough for my 2600k at over 4ghz(4ghz=68-70'c), although my 2600k is run at 100% load most the time. H60 with push/pull fans works for up to 4.4ghz and higher(depending on whether the AC is on or not).
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My A70 will get 29 deg idle and around 60 full load @ 4.3Ghz Stock voltage.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Quite interesting I must say. Mine seems to be quite cool! very impressed!
    Although playing BF it reached 88c! :eek:
  14. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    With mine I get ~60 full load on the hottest core @ 4.5 GHz and 1.28 - 1.3V, although I lapped my A70.
  15. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    631 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    I was up there as well Irish with my 2700k @ 5.0 and Hyperthreading on an H80. Had to drop to 4.8 and the vcore down a tad and now I hit 76c during BF3. Stupid summer and heat! :roll:

    I idle 24c-28c across all cores.

    Edit: Actually my mins on Realtemp are 22c-27c.
  16. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yea! I hate summers! feck sake like! summer and it's heat! Stay nice and cool grr!

    AH sure, it's still a safe temp I suppose!

    My mins are 23-26c Not too bad I suppose.
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Stay away from 88C. Idle doesn't matter so much. You might want to lower your voltage for the overclock.
  18. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    What voltage should I set it as? I have it on auto and it seems to stay around the 1.375 mark!
  19. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    You should switch to offset instead of manual for your CPU overclock voltage.

    That way you'll idle at stock voltage and only ramp up to 1.375 or whatever you need to be stable for your overclock under load only.
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You don't want to exceed 80*C, the CPU will handle it but you might start cutting the life of the CPU at temps that high, what voltage are you running at because it sounds like it is too high for the OC you're trying to accomplish. I have regular air cooling and my LGA2011 at 4.75ghz doesn't exceed 70*C full load on the hottest core. (This assumes it isn't the middle of summer where it is 100*F outside and the computer is in a room where the ambient temperature is about 68*F.

    Also as a side note, someone just turned a car on outside that sounds like a pod racer. :wtf:
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea I love the A70, the best air cooler I have ever used.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yea! I ran prime95 for a few moments and it shot up to 95c before I stopped it :O
    Core Temp said the VID was 1.380?!?!
    I went into the BIOS and changed it from auto to 0.200 which reads 3.65.
    But core temp shows 3.75 and up to 3.80 again on prime??

    Well then! someone likes there pod sound alike cars!
    It doesn't seem to have any effect manually setting it?

    I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong?
  23. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,010
    I still think your asking too much of the A50. You need a better heatsink to maintain a +4ghz OC.

    Granted, for me, I get worried when I started breaking the 70'c mark
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  24. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I've seen plenty of reviews and other users who can overclock to 4.5Ghz with 1.35 voltage and get below 70c in prime blend.
    I dunno why my voltage keeps shooting up too high!
    I need it as low as I can but it keeps going as high as it feels like!! unreal!
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,010
    With an A50? Ok, I don't have a 2500k, and I don't know exactly how much heat the 8 threads of the 2600 does compared to the 2500 with just 4 threads, but this is what the A50 did for my 2600k.

    [​IMG]

    And as you can see, that was just under 4ghz with less than 1.3 volts
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page