1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 2500k + Zalman CNPS10X Extreme temperature

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ChristTheGreat, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Hi Guys,

    I finally upgraded my Athlon x4 635, and moved to an Intel i5 2500k, P8P67 Evo, 2x 4gb Kingston hyperX Genesis PnP 1600mhz 1.5v.

    I've installed my CNPS10x on it with Zalman STG2 thermal paste. I installed it like this: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/152/zalmancnps10xextreme26.jpg/

    This is not my picture since last picture, the fan was on bottom. Fan is set a little bit higher than Low speed. Everything is in a CoolerMaster CM690 Advanced II, with a 120mm fan rear exhaust, 140mm in front intake, and 2x 140mm low speed 39cfm Fractal fan on the top.

    First, let me tell you at the begining, my bios said my CPU was at 44C. I flashed bios, and it went to 31C.

    So here is my question. I left everything on stock setting with turbo, CPU-Z telling me my vcore is 1.264v at full load, and I get a core reaching 57-59C (Prime 95).

    [​IMG]

    Temp are normal or not? Room temp is about 21-22C.

    Thanks for any help :)

    Christ
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    Temps look good for the cooler you are using. Going from AMD to Intel is a shock for some because Itell runs hot but can take the heat much better than AMD. When you start to get over 70c at load look for a better HSF. For short bench runs even 80c is safe. Enjoy the new rig.:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Thanks for your reply. Do you have an idea of what cooler could be much better? Noctua cooler? I want to overclock this CPU with a safe voltage, cause maybe he will run some BOINC overclocked, so I think safe voltage is 1.35v. I'll try to keep it under 70C ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    yea those temps aren't bad. I remember my pentium d being able to handle 174deg F (79c)

    i think that i5 can handle 99c (but what mike suggested is better)

    from what you've said about fan settings, it seems your cooler should handle it fine with an increase in fan speed if needed for overclocking.

    how are your top fans set up?
     
  5. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    They are exhaust fan.

    Well, I've just se CPU ratio to 40, vcore manual at 1.264, all rest is default. Running prime95 for about 2 hours now, highest core was at 65, but the average is 60-62C max core.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    1.3875v rings a bell but you'd better have the cooling to keep temps in the mid 80's or less.
    Go for 4.5-4.6ghz...
     
  7. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Those seem a bit high to me, then again I am rocking an H100 so >.>
     
  8. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Yeah that corsair H100 looks awesome ^_^

    Here are some news:

    -I did a prime95 at 4.4ghz, 1.264v that CPU-Z report, fully stable 12hrs.
    -Now going for 4.6ghz at same voltage.
    -When I start the computer, CPU-Z report me 1.3v, but after startup, CPU goes down to 1.6ghz and 1v. When runing back prime it's 1.264v ^_^

    Max core temp for now I saw = 65C.

    For now, looks like this CPU will be able to reach 5ghz xD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,445 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    First time in my life that I speak to a ChristTheGreat, but whatever, reaching 5GHz on air and stable depends of the quality of your chip.
    Mine runs at 1600 at 1,06 v and at 4400 at 1,35.
    In the past different software for sensor reading gave different readings... I check in BIOS or in Aida64.
    Mine with Noctuas goes up to 68ºC during stress test at 4400 Mhz.

    Haleluya!
     
  10. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    haha you made me laught erixx :D

    at 4400mhz, I was stable 1.264v if I look at CPU-Z

    in bios, it says 1.16v I think, I have offset at + 0.030v, and Turbo voltage at 0.004v.

    Now at 4.6ghz it's not stable, so I'll crank a bit the vcore, instead I'll keep 4400mhz for now since it's a nice clock for me xD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    You're not gonna hit 5ghz stable with that cooler if your chip can even get to 5ghz...
     
  12. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    I know :( that's why I,m looking maybe for a new cooler, but I want something with very low noise. maybe under 100$ lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Nh-d14 or h-100
     
  14. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sorry for the late reply, but my graduation is taking me lots of time.

    I have the same cooler as you. I'm stable 4.2GHz and temps on prime95 are ~ 58ºC with room temp being ~ 20ºC.
    I am not using the Zalman thermal paste tho, i use arctic silver 5.

    My chip looks a bit better, because i can get 4.2GHz at 1.216v and 4.4GHz at 1.246v (cpu-z reads less tho)
    Even at 4.4GHz the max core temp on prime95 is 63ºC, but i see you have too much voltage for stock settings, 1.26v? :| my board was default at 1.20 if i remember correctly.

    and btw, any updates on your stable OC? i wanna see what the 10X is capable of :D
     
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    If you are looking for an awesome air cooler I would suggest not to look further than Noctua NH-D14, Thermalright Silver Arrow or Prolimatech Megahalems these are beastly coolers that will surely you do well!
     
  16. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    NH-D14 ftw!! its silent and has great performance indeed :toast:
     
  17. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I love the Noctua coolers, but if you want nearly the performance, with a smaller footprint and a better price, go with a Venomous-X. It's really my "go to" cooler for Intel after playing with many of the high end coolers on the market.
    There is also the Swiftech Polaris, which is highly regarded by a reviewer (for another site) who resides here. The Swifty is actually on sale over at Sidewinders.

    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swpo120hesif.html
     
  18. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    I'm still at 4.4ghz with 1.264 (CPU-Z sometimes show 1.256), but I tried going to 4.6ghz and it wouldn't be stable for a lot of time, maybe 1hrs or 2, so I think I can get 4.5ghz with that voltage. but first I'll t ry to get the more stable vcore. I use the Zalman STG2, but I would prefer getting back some STG1 which I think was much better (my Athlon x4 635 @ 3.36ghz with 1.4v was amazing, Coretemp showed up max prime for 10hrs a temperature of 46-48 if I remember xD)

    Well, I'll try soon, maybe getting to 4.6-4.7ghz with max temp of 70C (I'll put the zalman at higher speed for the stability test) when I'll get less work from University :banghead:

    Okay thanks!

    I'll check for some review, thanks also :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    It is normal that a spike of ~ 0.02v may occur during load change in the CPU cores, but that's not an issue.

    About the thermal paste, keep in mind that AMD processors run much cooler than Intel ones, so i think it wont make much difference in temps, but you can try it :b

    When you can pass the barrier of 4.5GHz - 4.6GHz pls let me know! Because i think we must give it a bit more Core Current in the BIOS and/or a bit more PLL voltage. I didn't try this myself because i want my chip to run as cool as possible, but understanding how it works is interesting.
     
  20. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    406 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    eugene
    that temp is good for a zalman cooler. but i agree with oithers. you really should not try 5ghz on that cooler.

    i hope zalman improved its quality, my last heatsink was zalman9700 and it stinks.
     
  21. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    721 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Damn, had I seen that cooler first I probably would have bought it over the Corsair A70. I like the 8mm direct touch heat pipes and Swiftech's appear to have a much smaller gap between them than the Corsair.
     
  22. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Well, very strange this occur right now.

    I was on bios 17** I already been able to boot windows with 46x but wasn't stable at 1.256v.

    Now, I've flashed to bios 2001 (BIOS CPU temp went from 32 to 24 at idle..) and with 1.272v, can't even boot windows, it freeze at windows logo startup..

    When I get the board, temp was 42C, went to 32 with flash, and went now to 24... Damn Asus bios xD Anyway, anyone have an idea why now I can't get to 46x? :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,930 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    I want your cooler. If it's 26C with the room temp at 21 I could prob have my idle near 10C LOL
     
  24. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    lol xD it's 5C in your room? Playing in fridge?

    Finally, just enabled PLL overvolt in bios and I've been able to boot at 46x...

    room temp should be near 20-21C. 24C in bios, but core at idle are like 30-32C.

    While gaming, it's less hot than my X4 635...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    contrary to popular belief intels run hotter than AMDs. Intels can take heat better than AMDs as well.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page