1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I5 2500k

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Andrei23, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Right. But if you decrease vcore, it will not spike as high when it is under load. I like load spiking slightly more than going BSOD because vcore drops too low when the cpu is stressed.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  2. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    OK just entered 1.32 in manual cpu voltage. Set LLC to High, booted up and tried prime 95. It shot straight to 1.39v???? From your post Paulie should I try lowering my vcore then and see how that goes?
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Put it on medium, and set cpu voltage to 1.30v. If 1.30v is stable after testing, then try to bring it down a little more. I THINK my 2500K was able to do 4.5 on just 1.26v.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Scratch that :) When I had entered the manual CPU voltage I hadn't pressed enter which meant it didn't accept the value entered DOH!!:) I have now changed it to 1.32 and LLC to high and running prime currently it's showing min voltage 1.32, max 1.33.....let's see how it goes!! Thanks for your help guys, PS Sandy Bridge Effin rocks. Boot up times even without an SSD are so swift.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    What are your temps like in prime? You really shouldn't need that much vcore for 4.5 on that chip. If you prime ok for 15-20 minutes, lower the vcore one step, then test again. It's always good to get the vcore as low as possible and still be stable. It will keep your temps down. Better yet, run LinX for 20 cycles each time. It's fast, and if you pass 20, you are at least reasonably stable.
    random and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Yeh I just saw that as a good starting point and if it's successful i will try tweaking it from there. As regards temps, I'm using a Corsair A70 with a push/pull setup but the fans are going through the resistors so they are silent and running at slower speed (I hate a noisy PC) Temps on Prime at the minute are loading around 65c. Whats the max safe temp you guys are working around for your chips?

    EDIT - Still going strong on Prime, will try for a bit lower after a ciggie break.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    General rule of thumb is to stay out of the high 70's for stability testing. Supposedly, these chips have a 100c tjmax. and will throttle at 90c but they are 32nm chips, and I have to believe they are more sensitive to heat than Nehalem. If you are staying in the 60's you are doing fine. However, I gotta think if you can get under 1.30v, you'll find load temps in the mid to high 50's. My 2600k under a Venomous-X stays under 55c at 4.5 1.29v.
    random and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Hmm my chip is shooting up to 90+ degrees during linx at 4.8ghz 1.42 VCORE on my cooler .. that is with LLC at level 1.

    I can't even get a decent overclock without LLC on, so with LLC at level 1 or 2 it gives the proc more VCORE overall right?...

    The max I'm benching at the moment without LLC is 4.2ghz, that is where my wall is and I can get that stable using less than 1.3vcore with around 50+ degrees load. 4.3ghz won't even boot at the same voltages
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Looks like I am going for a higher overclock tonight then :) BTW, I had to downgrade my GTX 460 to a GTS 450 to help fund these new parts. I pulled 23,500 in 3D Mark 06 with my 1090T@4GHz and GTX 460 @920/1830/200. This chip at 4.5GHz has managed to get a 21,000 3DMark Score out of the GTS 450 :eek: Would love to see what it could have done with my superclocked 460:cry:

    That said every game I have tried so far is so smooth, actually smoother than before and GTA IV at max settings plays like a friggin dream :D
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    What you have to remember is the closer you get to the chips limit, the more vcore it will need every step of the way. The problem with Sandy Bridge is the enormous clock speed increments every time you push it further. So, if your board has a ton of vdroop, loadline is preventing it from dipping to low.

    That 1.42v is really high for these chips. I know you like that 4.8ghz, but you are so much safe at 4.6 and something like 1.374v...just my 2 cents.
    random says thanks.
  11. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Randomflip - i have internal PLL voltage disabled and also PLL voltage I have reduced down to 1.7250. That helped alot with temps and stability.

    EDIT - Prime is still running like a champ so I'm just going to try 4.6 at the same settings :)
    random says thanks.
  12. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686

    Thanks I could probably drop it by setting LLC to level 2 but im not sure what that'll do for the chip itself. This is kind of ridicolous though since I only need 1.315vcore for 4.5ghz to boot and bench
  13. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Here's a question. So I have my LLC set to Ultra High which means the voltage is still deviating a tiny little bit from what I set in the bios when loaded. Are there any negative effects other than added heat to setting my LLC at Extreme? Would it affect anything other than the volts passing through the CPU or any adverse affects to other parts such as the PSU?
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    There is no adverse affects from small spikes in voltage, however ultra high may give you to much, and heat the the chip for no good reason. Remember, you only want the voltage as high as it needs to be and no higher. I wouldn't set it beyond medium...if medium is basically eliminating vdroop. That is all LLC is designed to do.
    random and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    This is odd.. I get the 0x124 error randomly when I'm just doing things on the desktop although it seldom happens. Whats whack is that I can pass 25 LinX runs with 0 errors, could I be pushing my PSU too hard? I mean to be quite honest I don't think 750watts is enough for 2x 6970's, 5x HDDs, 6x 120mm fans, 1x 200mm fan and an i5 clocked at 4.5ghz plus 1x cathode light ..
  16. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Try F6a bios. I will give you CPU PLL option, enable it and you will probably get 4.9GHz with 1.300ish volts on CPU.
    LifeOnMars and random say thanks.
  17. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Thanks for that Zenith, I don't seem to have as good a chip as Paulie had but I'm trying to tweak the hell out of it for the very best voltage/temps combination:) After reading what you put I raised my CPU PLL to 1.78 which has now enable a 4.7GHz overclock, extreme LLC, which gives me an idle core voltage of 1.34v and loads at 1.38v. Max temps were 70c after an hr and a half and proved to be stable for that time. I have gamed for a bit today and no issues whatsoever.
  18. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Looks like this 2500k is a winner,
    5GHZ // 1.38Vcore // LLC L3 //PLL overvoltage enabled//
    temps maxed around 71C before I opened the case then they dropped off around 6C lol.

    [​IMG]
  19. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Very nice now print screens of your whole bios :)
  20. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Nice volts for 5GHz, mine wants a little bit more than 1.4V.
    3dsage says thanks.
  21. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Here you go..Going to start tweaking voltage thru offset mode, hopefully I will be able to lower volts somehow. Still have to fine tune settings (hopefully lower some).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Edit: figured out why bclk was wavering below 100, didnt disable Spread spectrum. Slipped my mind :p
    Lethalrise750 and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
  23. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago

    haha, i was wondering why you wanted to see them ..seeing you have a different mobo:laugh:
  24. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I'm just deciphering your settings now :) Does your LLC power up to what is needed or down?
  25. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    What I know about this board and my chip , is that llc L1 is a no no..llc L2 gives me Bsod's.. seems like L3 is the sweet spot.

    I believe it powers it downward..
    LifeOnMars says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page