1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I5 2500k

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Andrei23, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Very interested in the relevance of your turbo settings. Are you understanding the changes or is it based on someone elses settings? That's really the only difference from my settings from what I can see.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  2. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    I see no difference with it it overvolted, just tweaked it as a safety measure. I figure it will not do any harm, and could help with an extra cushion on stability when turbo kicks in.
  3. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Wait until you run LinX with the AVX extension (req SP1). I could do 5 GHz under 1.4v too in the low 70's but using AVX it shot up to over 85C after just a few passes.
  4. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Heard about it, still on SP0 though.

    Have you tried max multi on your chip yet?
  5. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Nope, in all honesty I backed it down to 4.5 GHz with auto voltage a few days ago after 4.6 GHz with a fixed 1.37v crashed while rendering in photoshop with some other stuff going. 4.5 is the highest it will boot with auto voltage and I do kinda like that is drops down when the CPU is throttled.
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I have dropped back down to 4.5 also after I had a bsod @4.7. I think my chip just likes too many volts, either that or I'm just not understanding the finer points to overclocking sandy bridge. Still, at 4.5ghz it's certainly no slouch and as the platform matures and a little more info comes out perhaps I will grasp those little tweaks which could enable a better overclock.
  7. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    3dsage, thank you for posting your settings... I was able to drop my VCore needed for 4.8 by a good 0.015v lol.
    3dsage says thanks.
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    My chip does need more than some but I finally have a stable 4.7GHz overclock.:toast: It needs 1.37v for that but thats fine and temps max out at 71c on the hottest core after a 2hr prime session. Considering I'm really only using my sytem for gaming that's not a problem and it just goes to show that reading up on the finer details for overclocking does help alot.

    (I would still like 3DSages chip though, 5GHz @1.38v...insane:laugh: ) Off now to install service pack 1 and get some AVX loving.
  9. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Props on the overclock, temps are ideal imo...
    4.7GHZ is Still a beast :rockout:

    BTW How much does your SB core temps differ? I have one core that is about 4-6C cooler than the other cores on load:confused:
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  10. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    About the same temp variation for me mate on the cores. Gaming wise though the temps are so low and thanks for the props :) Have you tried GTA IV on this chip yet.....it friggin flies :cool:
    3dsage says thanks.
  11. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Have tried GTA IV yet, but I have noticed temps are low while gaming..
    And I believe anything will fly with SB clocked past 4.5GHZ :p
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    They are. Whoever said that was just straight wrong. ;)



    Im not an AMD or Intel guy, but I can say that any SB hands any similar cored (#) AMD its head on a platter. Bulldozer anyone?
  13. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    True but I'm on a lowly GTS 450 at the moment. I cannot wait to pair this chip up with a smoking card and an SSD :pimp:
  14. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    :toast: We are on the same page, Im still using Xfire 4850's...
    ..C300 SSD and 6950 2GB soon hopefully:cool:
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  15. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Abso-furrmarking-lutely :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page