1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 3570k 5GhZ?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by linemeks, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. linemeks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thailand,Bangkok
    Hello guys :)
    Yesterday I Tried the OCing , using easytune 6 Auto tuning mode
    at 5GhZ testing , i am very confused and after awhile.. i got blue screen
    can i5 3570k OC to 5Ghz or more?
    im using Zalman cnps20lq here
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,643 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes it can go to 5.0GHZ if you have a good chip. Its not advised though, as temperatures go through the roof, and the amount of voltage required to be stable is pretty high. Don't use Auto Tuning tools,. they never work for high overclocks. Need to do it all manually in the bios. Frankly your cooling is not good enough to keep and ivy bridge chip cool at 5.0GHZ
  3. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    305 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    brĨko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    yup!! that cooler is just a bit beter then stock!! i use to have one!!
    but u can use that cpu 4.2ghz 24/7 for every day use no problemo!!and in later days if u want upgrade u upgrade gpu and buy beter cooler and oc pants out of that chip and ur good to go for some time more!!
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,643 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Also you don't sound too experienced with overclocking stuff, so best thing to do at that point is research how to do it, what all the settings mean in the bios. Then slowly bump the clocks up, test stability with prime95 then go from there.
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Is the CPU still alive? If you don't want to kill it go step by step, manually and get a better cooler. Good luck.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  6. linemeks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thailand,Bangkok
    Uh.. , Mine one is water cooler , i got got about 30-40c on 4.6Ghz oc :)
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,643 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Oh you have that rebranded corsair cooler. Anytime I think of zalman, i think of their overpriced air coolers.

    But don't do auto tuning mode. Do it all manual. All of those auto overclocking things are a joke. What motherboard and memory do you have? Clocking that chip to 5.0GHZ stable is going to have a lot to do with the motherboard.
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,718 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,662
    Your 3570k @4.6ghz is max 40*C under full load of stress test?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,643 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I HIGHLY doubt that. 50-60c seems more realistic for an ivy bridge chip, but if thats idle, thats pretty shitty.
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page