1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I5 3570k E1 and Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Vario, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    I can't get this thing stable over 4.2 ghz. I have been overclocking using the multiplier. I tried a core voltage as high as 1.250! and it still won't go over 4.2. Any ideas? It BSODS once I get to windows if its at 4.3ghz. Is there something I am overlooking? I am used to overclocking AMDs.
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    You may need more voltage. I need 1.3 volts in bios(1.28 volts in CPUZ) to get over 4.2ghz stable with my 2600k
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Mine needs 1.344 to run @ 4.5ghz
     
  4. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Okay so I am at 4.3ghz and 1.32v. Maybe a stinker of a chip. Temps are only 65 under prime 95.

    If 4.3ghz proves stable I'll go for 4.4. Is 1.4v the max for air cooled?


    edit: it crashed after 5 mins of prime.
     
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Using intel burn test, it says I am stable at 4.1ghz on standard setting. Voltage I set back to auto. Maybe I'll just leave it here. Temps got as high as 73 during burn test. Idle is around 30.

    Edit: also this is a microcenter 3570k, the stepping is 9 and the revision is E1 if that helps.

    Should I be disabling the turbo boost feature when I overclock?
     
  6. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I guess my 1.21V for 4,2ghz is lucky then? what temps under load do you got ? like prime 95

    I would recommand not more then 1.34V for daily 24/7 gaming under Aircooling, your CPU will die even faster with more V
     
  7. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Mine will do 4.2 ghz at 1.21 volts but the second I put it over that it BSODS. I don't know how stable it is at 4.2, but it seems 100% stable at 4.1 so I may just keep it there since its running at 60* C and no higher running p95 with my case fans on low setting, which seems excellent to me.


    I am getting idle 30 load in prime at 60. Burn test seems way more intensive.

    I am using a CM V8 with the blue led Thermaltake A1926 @ 2000 rpm instead of the stock fan. This helped about 5 degrees C.

    There are a lot of options for intel that I am not very knowledgeable like PLL.

    What frustrates me is the guys that get 4.5 ghz with stock vcore and post all over the net about it, getting me all hyped up about this chip!!!! ;) Atleast my 939 clawhammer overclocked from 1.6ghz to 3.0ghz with the worst binned stepping so I guess I used my luck up on that one :p.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  8. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Sorry i was unclear with my words The temp question was directed @ BarbaricSoul


    @amp281 Could you check With Cpu-z what Vcore is applied already on Auto settings and None OC. Maybe you just got a bad to OC Chip
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    It's better than mine does apparently, as I'll crash after several days at 4.2ghz*1.21volts. I need 1.25 in bios for 4.2ghz. Any farther, my voltage requirements start to rise pretty quick, as in 1.35 for 4.968ghz(48*103.5, highest stable OC I've gotten so far). But then again, my 2600k will only do a multi up to 48. Multi at 49 and it's instant crash.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    My end is 47 @ 1,34V mine starts to eat V as well after 4,2ghz And running quite hot around 78-80C underload ...only got my H80 to cool it :<
    I presume 4,2ghz is the magical gap between vcore=mhz increase
     
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    my 2600k system as it sits right now-


    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Well at least your Core temp reads out your Vcore wrong as well ^^ struggled with that for a while
    [​IMG]
     
  13. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    Yeah, that's what is known as VDrop. Had me wondering for a while until I asked about it. My EVGA 750 FTW board which I learned to OC with had a .38 volt VDrop.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    What do you mean? i set it to 1.21V in the bios as Manuel setting not offset. And Load-line calibration to very high my board is not drooping from 1.3661 to 1.21... it´s just Core temp reading it out wrong !
     
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Im jealous of you guys :(.
     
  16. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    don´t be! we are just lucky to got a bit better chip...
     
  17. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Yeah and these things are so fast anyway it doesn't really matter besides online bragging rights :laugh:.

    I've had 2 awesome overclockers (939 venice and 939 opteron), 1 average overclocker (phenom II 965be), and then this one. If I knew it was gonna be so limited I'd have not gotten the k edition :laugh:.

    edit: My superpi 1m is 8.954s @ 4.1ghz. Still pretty damn fast.
     
  18. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    8.876s@4.2ghz so not much of a big win :)
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    So your CPU get whatever voltage you set in the BIOs? I've never heard of a motherboard that has absolutely no VDrop. Wikipedia has a pretty good explaination of what VDrop really is-
    Whenever electricity passes though wires and circuits, a little bit of the electricity is basically absorbed by the material the wires and circuits are made of, therefor your CPU doesn't get the exact amount of electricity your motherboard is set to send to it.

    As for what coretemp reads, that's not what your CPU is using. That is what's known as your Voltage Range VID. From what I've read, Sandy Brdige CPUs have different VIDs. The individual CPU VID is set durning the factory testing of the CPU. Your 2600k is rated for up to 1.36 volts while mine is rated for up to 1.37 volts. Generally, the lower the VID, the better OC'ing results. The MAX VID for Sandy Bridge is between 1.38-1.39. Here's a pretty good forum post I found concerning Sandy Bridge VID-

    http://www.overclock.net/t/978822/the-truth-about-sandy-bridge-vid-voltage-range
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Leave core voltage at auto,set PPL voltage to 1.65,leave multi at auto and put turbo clock for all cores at 44.
     
  21. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    That is not what i am trying to say. What i am trying to say is that my board Vdrop is around 0.010-0.015V even with High Load-line calibration settings.
    1.225V in Bios results in 1.216V as you saw on the screenshot but it means that 4.2ghz is running with 1.215V Stable.

    edit: Actually let me check in bios one sec.
     
  22. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    Oh ok, I missunderstood you. That is pretty good VDrop you have. I'm actually set at 1.26 in MSI Control Center and showing 1.24 in CPUZ, so I have a .02 VDrop on my board.

    Also, I was wrong with what my 750 board got. It had .038 vdrop, not .38 vdrop.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Mhhhhh now i am aksing myself. It can´t have 0 drop... [​IMG]
     
  24. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    try running CPUZ and see what it says your running.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page