1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I5 3570k E1 and Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Vario, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,166 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    That's beyond me. It's my understanding that no material is 100% conductive, meaning there should be some kind of VDrop. But right here in front of us is showing your board as showing no VDrop. I don't know. This definently isn't my line of specailty though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    like i said load-line calibration is at Ultra high...could mean the board is adding on it´s own 0.15V to Vcore on load.
     
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,166 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    possible
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    On normal it stays at 1.2V and drops a few times to 1.85V And of course.....crashes....

    so Ultra high adds 15mv
     
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    I am testing for 4.4ghz. It is stable in prime with 1.404v as shown in CPUZ. Should I only pay attention to the CPUZ core volt number rather than the bios number?

    Edit: and its crazy hot. 86*C max!

    Edit2: IBT runs it at 99*C, time to abort!!! I'll try gradually lowering the voltage and see if it remains stable, I kind of skipped a lot of voltages because I got tired of getting BSOD and having to reset my CMOS.

    Edit3: The BIOS was set for 1.350v but the CPUZ was reporting 1.404v, is that typical? I just tried lowering it to 1.345 volt, to see if it can lower the temps.

    Edit4: with BIOS set to 1.345, CPUZ shows 1.416v. Whats up with that?
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  6. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I hate my cpu already reaching over the 60s i my self try to keep below 72C°
     
  7. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Does your mainbaord has Load-line calibration? And if what did you set it to.

    My board on auto settings and auto oc applys 1.34V right of the bat for 4.2ghz so watch it don´t fry your cpu with testing!
     
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    I noticed that my voltage stays at 1.416 despite lowering it in the bios. Is this the offset voltage I have been reading about? Is there a way to disable?
     
  9. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    as you can see in my screenshot of my bios i can set it to Offset or manual.
    Offset just deceases or increases the standard voltages of your cpu.
    for example your cpu runs on auto with 1.2V and you set offset to 0.2V you will get 1,4V
     
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    I don't see any way to turn off the offset. I changed my vcore from auto to 1.35 and it greyed out the DVID +.0v. Is the DVID the offset?
     
  11. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Then you set it to manual mode every Brand is calling it different in their bios.
    Check your Load-line calibartion <---could also be named different

    quote from a review of your mainboard :
    With my Core i7-3770K, I was able to attain 4.7GHz at reasonable voltages on the GA-Z77X-UD3H; just like what I have done with other motherboards I have tested with it. To achieve this, I changed the PWM Phase Control to 'High Perf', Vcore Voltage Response to 'Fast', and Vcore Loadline Calibration to 'Extreme'. Next up, the CPU voltage was modified to 1.270V in the BIOS, with a minor adjustment of the Vtt, PLL, and IMC voltages to 1.060V, 1.085V, and 0.930V, respectively. Overall, I am quite pleased with this overclocking result, as the Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H delivered on everything as expected.

    source
     
  12. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Got it. You set it to Normal. It still says +.00v but once on normal it no longer adds voltage to the custom cpu core volt parameter.
     
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Just tried this. Voltage went to 1.356 load from 1.345 so these settings do add some kind of voltage addition. I guess I should try these settings but lower my core volt in the bios to get it back down to ~1.350. I am running IBT. Its very very hot. 91* C max but its stable at 4.4ghz. Now lets see if I can get the temps down by lowering voltage again.
     
  14. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Try first how far you get with 1.25-1.3V much saver range for Vcore for the cpu
     
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    OK will do. Maybe now that I have the voltage settings correct it will overclock farther with the default voltages.

    My super pi is 8.315 @ 4.4ghz, pretty good!
     
  16. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    once you found a stable setting post a core temp cpu-z screenshot under load for temps and Vcore
     
  17. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Will do. Thanks a lot ruff0r (and everyone else!), its not such a crappy chip after all, just confusing bios :laugh:
     
  18. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    [​IMG]

    How does this look?

    Prime 95 temps are 62-70* fluctuating.
    Intel Burn test temps are 75-82*C fluctuating.
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,166 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    I would be happy with that for now. Maybe try tuning the voltage down some more, but those settings and temps are totally acceptable and safe as long as your not going to run at full load for extended periods of time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Agree with big wolfy there...also *throws old E6850 at him* you can have him he has done good work
     
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Thanks Barbaricsoul, I tried lower core volt but this was the minimum to get it stable unless i am missing some other bios setting again. Its been prime stable 2 hours now, 60 to 70 c never higher than 70.
     
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    I've been reading about delidding and it sure sounds tempting... I just don't want to spend another $180. Maybe I'll try it in a few months when I have some more spending money (physical therapy is eating up my money quick).
     
  23. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    are you talking about Removing the IHS? if so ...yes and no.
    If you got bad temps spreading over your cores. for example core0#60C° ,core3# 75C°! then yes that would solve it and bring both cores down to nearly the same temps...
    FYI: i killed my first chip i tried that on but that was soldered and not like the 3570k with thermal paste which is pretty easy to do and could get you better temps
     
  24. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Yes, removing the stock heat spreader and installing a thin bead of thermal paste. Some people are getting 15*C to even 20*C cooler on air! Right now though its still running great. Prime 95, almost 4 hours in, about 68*C on average.
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,940 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,059
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Note that all of those results with those big gains are usually replacing TIM with Coollabratory Pro, and from what I've seen, most are using watercooling to get 20C difference. 10-15C is about average.

    me, I got about 10c with my 3570k on air, using MX4.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page